We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Luxury Barn in a Great Landscape”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Monyash, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nick H
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Luxury Barn in a Great Landscape”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent four relaxing and highly enjoyable days at Spingle Barn. It completely lived up to expectations, luxurious and well appointed, up-to-date technology and beautiful bathrooms in every bedroom. All four bedrooms are excellent, two on the ground floor, two upstairs. We highly recommend this property. The owners made a very generous gesture, providing us with a quite unexpected welcome pack! We won't spoil the surprise! The only downside is having to vacate at 9.30am not, as expected, at 10am. The Bulls Head has a good to very good modern restaurant, although the rest of the pub was a bit dingy. We found a great Indian restaurant in Bakewell called Raja's and the food was outstanding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Having to vacate just a little too early at 9.30am. But it is a minor dislike!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexER
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing week away with family”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for a week in April 2013, with my extended family (4 family 'units') 3 small children and our Labrador were included! The Barn is beautiful and finished to high standard. We had the pleasure of the master bedroom as we had the largest family unit (myself and my husband, and our 4 and 2 year old) and the master bedroom was perfect for us as we had an ensuite bath, and a couch for early morning TV! (although the bed was massive and the kids were in with us every morning!) The living area is roomy but cosy at the same time, and we sat at the fire every evening after enjoying a feast together at the dining table. The Barn is a short walk from a local pub which is very friendly and serves ok 'pub grub' There is also a fab play park attached to the beer garden. We drove to Bakewell (approx. 15 mins drive) several days as it had lots of beautiful shops /cafes / pubs and we used the coop for groceries. We also drove to Dovedale to go on a family walk which was beautiful and highly recommended. The heights of Abraham and cable car ride is recommended too.

The weather was pretty awful when we visiting so we didn't get much use of the garden unfortunately. The owners were very helpful and made us a chocolate cake and left us wine/milk/eggs for arriving.

Thoroughly enjoyable and would recommended to large groups of friends/families. I have no negative comments, but one of the group had a crawling baby and they found the stone floors/stairs unnerving but there were enough of us around to keep a close eye on the little one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High spec of property
Liked least: Cooker was hard to work (high spec which i am not used to!!)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legsov
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just go”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Having holidayed in this country during the Christmas / New year period for the last 10 years, I can honestly say that this spectacular barn conversion is without doubt the very best my family has stayed in. Extremely friendly & helpful owners, immaculately clean, and superbly equipped. We do not hesitate to recommend and we will most definitely return. Huge thanks to Garry & Andrea, the barn is a credit to you and your obvious hard work. The Robinsons wish you every success for the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
60Bill
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
Reviewed December 18, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We received the stay an Spingle Barn as a Brithday gift with a family group of 8 people age range 6 week to 84.
The facilities were absolutely first class and we had a relaxing pre christmas stay, the general feeling from the family was that we should do the same again next year.
The owners had added to the christmas spirit providing tasteful Christmas decorations both inside and out the only complaint is they didn't provide a light dusting of snow to complete the magic.
The welcome pack was to a very high and personal standard with home baked bread and to the joy of one little girl an excellent chocolate cake among other basic additions.
This place is a little gem which is a credit to the owners and i would highly reccommend you stat there. One little note the pictures on the website don't really do the place justice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the living area
Liked least: small windows
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewed December 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dorinda G
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect barn = perfect holiday”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

The 6 of us holiday together for a week every October. This was the first time in Derbyshire and we will definitely be returning. Spingle Barn was exceptional. When we arrived the log burner was roaring and the heating was on making the barn warm and very cosy. Everywhere was clean, the furniture and furnishings were beautiful, the kitchen extremely well-equipped and the welcome pack included a home-baked cake and home-made bread. Our every wish had been catered for. All of our criteria was met, indeed exceeded, by Spingle Barn - and that is not an easy task! We ate at the local pub, which was excellent and the staff were all very friendly. In short, we cannot recommend Spingle Barn enough. We will be returning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! Location, quality, comfort.
Liked least: Having to leave at the end of our holiday.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Reviewed November 2, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing