We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back”

Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monyash
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn
Ranked #1 of 2 Monyash B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Will be back”
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Great place, great location, great food, great people - I will definately be going back

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank GB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Sheldon House Bed & Breakfast was recommended by friends and it is definitely one of the better recommendations I have received.

The location is ideal; relaxing and quiet, but near the local attractions and amenities if you fancy being a bit more active.

The rooms are very comfortable and the food was excellent - I came back a few pounds heavier despite the long country walks! Stephen and Louise go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one - that personal touch is such a rarity these days. I will definitely go back again.

Thanks Stephen & Louise for making it such a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDreadedRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Set within a beautiful village this charming B&B has everything that you'll need and more. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was amazing and the local pub served great British pub food. You'll need to walk all the long rolling hills (literally on your door-step) to wear it off. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Stuart and Joyce from East Sussex. Stayed in one of the cottages. Super views and excellent for walking. Lots of room and facilities first class.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2009

My girlfriend and I wanted to have weekend away and luckily found this place. The village is lovely and the owners make you feel very much at home. Accommodation and facilities are well kept and clean. The surrounding area is full of lots of walks and the local town of Bakewell is only a short drive.

I would highly recommend this B&B and its great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I come from Vienna and I was travelling over for a wedding. I was recommended Sheldon House by a friend of mine from Sheffield and I have to say it was a wonderful experience. The owners are lovely, the atmosphere is a delight - home produced bread, eggs and cake available - and i could have stayed for 3 weeks. It was like being part of the family.

The area is beautiful with walking in so many landscapes. There was even a boot room for me to leave all my messy things in when I got back and a HUGE selection of DVD's for me to watch free of charge when i got back.

I had a brilliant wedding and a fantastic few days to relax after too thanks to Mr & Mrs Fanshawe.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetefromVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Sheldon House Bed & Breakfast came highly recommended to me by friends who go every year. I have to agree with them, it is an absolute GEM!

Nestled in the rolling Derbyshire countryside, close to all the attractions in Derbyshire (Bakewell, Chatsworth House etc.) the House is ideally located, quiet, comfortable and everything that we wanted from a relaxing country break away from it all.

The rooms are very comfortably furnished, the cooked breakfasts were AMAZING - the bacon was my favourite - and the hosts bent over backwards to make our stay as comfortable as possible. My wife and I will definitely be going back and may stay in one of the self-catering cottages for longer next time.

Thanks Stephen & Louise for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitesurfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monyash
3.6 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#4 of 39 in Buxton
133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arbor Low
Arbor Low
#2 of 2 in Monyash
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn

Property: Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn
Address: Chapel Street, Monyash DE45 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Monyash
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monyash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheldon House Bed and Breakfast in the wonderful White Peak District of Derbyshire, non-smoking accommodation in an 18th Century listed house2 double bedrooms with en-suite shower/WC. Full English Breakfast with homemade bread, jams and marmalade, served in the oak furnished Dining Room. Homemade cakes or biscuits, fresh flowers and fruit provided in your room. All produce is from local suppliers and mainly organic. Vegetarians and special dietary requirements catered for - prior notice required. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing