We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous B&B”

Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monyash
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn
Ranked #1 of 2 Monyash B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Second time I have stayed here. Welcome is warm and friendly, rooms comfortable and well -equipped and the breakfast is the best ever. Lots of lovely touches - gingerbread to die for, Louise lending me her walking boots because I forgot mine, and fresh milk for tea.
Superb walking from the door.
Will be back.
Sarah & David

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 51 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

After 4 weeks travelling around the UK, and visiting many B&B's along the way, this was a stand out.
From the warm welcome to the finest of details, chocolates in the room, fresh cooked shortbread and immaculate bedroom and ensuite, all top class.
Louise and Stephen are incredibly nice people.
The breakfast was without a doubt the best we have had since holidaying in the UK.
Everything was fantastic!
If your staying in the Peak District it is a gem of a place to explore from, and one I highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbosarnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a delight to find such a haven of peace and comfort. Louise and Stephen are incredibly nice people and their attention to detail to ensure guests get the best of everything is a credit to them both. We usually manage to find some problem with our TA reviews but we can honestly say everything was top notch. We will return. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It would be difficult to rate this B&B too highly. Very friendly and obliging proprietors, extremely comfortable accommodation with great facilities and a well-above average breakfast. Sheldon House is highly recommended. If you're staying in the Monyash area try it.

Pauline & Phil - Derby

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here several times and always had a great time. Wonderful walks from here no matter what the weather.
Stephen and Louise consistently warm and welcoming and provide just the right touches to instantly put you in the right mood for a chance to switch off and recharge the batteries.
Plenty of local pubs and restaurants within a short drive and the local pub is a good bet.
Recommended to friends who also enjoyed.

Room Tip: All good and well equipped
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knwldgmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have been here a number of times and have always had a perfect stay with Stephen and Louise . The rooms are well equipped and very comfy and the breakfasts are delicious.

Sheldon House is highly recommended. we will be visting again many more times.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Englishman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at Sheldon Cottage for a week in September 2012, our second visit. The quality of the accommodation and the first class hospitality has already being described and well deserves all the accolades. A great spot for walking in Lathkill, Dovedale and the Limestone Way. Monyash is a very pretty village which can get quite busy with walkers but Sheldon Cottage is just tucked away on the edge of the village and is quiet and peaceful. Only a few minutes walk to the Bull's Head Inn wher there is great pub grub reasonably priced. OK I will mention the welcoming ginger cake!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jefferson138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monyash
3.6 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
171 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arbor Low
Arbor Low
#2 of 2 in Monyash
28 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bull I' Th' Thorn
Bull I' Th' Thorn
#1 of 1 in Hurdlow
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn

Address: Chapel Street, Monyash DE45 1JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Monyash
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monyash
Price Range: $81 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheldon House, Cottage & Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheldon House Bed and Breakfast in the wonderful White Peak District of Derbyshire, non-smoking accommodation in an 18th Century listed house2 double bedrooms with en-suite shower/WC. Full English Breakfast with homemade bread, jams and marmalade, served in the oak furnished Dining Room. Homemade cakes or biscuits, fresh flowers and fruit provided in your room. All produce is from local suppliers and mainly organic. Vegetarians and special dietary requirements catered for - prior notice required. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing