We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Chocolate Box Cottage !”
other travelers have booked this property
Kingfisher cottage with family garden, patio, decking & variety of chairs, tables, loungers, BBQ etc
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kingfisher cottage with family garden, patio, decking & variety of chairs, tables, loungers, BBQ etc
Large lounge with woodburner, widescreen tv, Sky+, wifi, underfloor heating etc. Large 'farmhouse' kitchen, table/chairs seat 8, American F/F, double oven, ceramic hob, dishwasher
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Kingfisher cottage with family garden, patio, decking & variety of chairs, tables, loungers, BBQ etc
Large lounge with woodburner, widescreen tv, Sky+, wifi, underfloor heating etc.
Large 'farmhouse' kitchen, table/chairs seat 8, American F/F, double oven, ceramic hob, dishwasher
Family garden and patio with variety of chairs, tables, loungers, BBQ etc,
Kingfisher on decking by stream!
Large lounge with woodburner, widescreen tv, Sky+, wifi, underfloor heating etc
Large lounge with woodburner (free logs), widescreen tv, Sky+, wifi, underfloor heating etc.
Large lounge/dining room with woodburner, widescreen TV, Sky+ inc Movies & Sport, underfloor heating
Large lounge/dining room with woodburner, widescreen TV, Sky+ inc Movies & Sport, underfloor heating
Large 'farmhouse' kitchen, table/chairs seat 8, American F/F, double oven, ceramic hob, dishwasher
Large 'farmhouse' kitchen, table/chairs seat 8, American F/F, double oven, ceramic hob, dishwasher
Large 'farmhouse' kitchen, table/chairs seat 8, American F/F, double oven, ceramic hob, dishwasher
Family garden and patio with variety of chairs, tables, loungers, BBQ etc,
Patio leads to decking for alfresco dining with variety of chairs, tables & loungers
Large 'farmhouse' kitchen, table/chairs seat 8, American F/F, double oven, ceramic hob, dishwasher
Utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer, sink etc
Utility room with washing machine, tumble dryer, sink etc
Downstairs cloakroom with toilet & basin
oak stairs
Bedroom 1 with kingsize double bed, en-suite, tv
Bedroom 1 with kingsize double bed, en-suite, tv
Bedroom 1 with kingsize double bed, en-suite, tv
En-suite to Bedroom 1 with shower, toilet, basin
En-suite to Bedroom 1 with shower, toilet, basin
Bedroom 2 with kingsize double bed, en-suite + single futon
Bedroom 2 with kingsize double bed, en-suite + single futon
Bedroom 2 with kingsize double bed, en-suite + single futon
Bedroom 2 with kingsize double bed, en-suite + single futon
En-suite to Bedroom 2 with shower, toilet, basin
En-suite to Bedroom 2 with shower, toilet, basin
En-suite to Bedroom 2 with shower, toilet, basin
Bedroom 3 with twin single beds (can be zip linked)
Bedroom 3 with twin single beds (can be zip linked)
Bedroom 3 with twin single beds (can be zip linked)
Bedroom 4 with single bed
Bedroom 4 with single bed
Family bathroom with P-shaped bath with shower over, toilet, basin
Family bathroom with P-shaped bath with shower over, toilet, basin
Landing
Landing
Off road parking for 3 cars (4 cars may be possible).
Shady area with bluebells, wildflowers and chiminea
Loungers for a relaxing stay
Ground floor plan
First floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Charlton Horethorne, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BNMBarnie
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Chocolate Box Cottage !”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful thatched cottage, full of charm and character, in a lovely Somerset hamlet. Cottage exceeded our expections and was very well equipped, clean, cosy & comfortable - like home from home! Loved the little spiral staircase leading to the main bedroom. We had beautiful weather and were able to relax and enjoy the lovely garden and have breakfast outside each morning. Owners left us some fresh eggs on arrival which was a lovely touch.

Would have no hesitation in recommending the holiday cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Full of character
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strawberr...
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas break”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed with my sisters family for the Christmas week and we had the most wonderful time. The owners had warned us the cottage was small, but having grown up in a small Somerset cottage, it was actually bigger than we were expecting. The house is full of period features, the spiral staircase into the master bedroom was my favourite.
the cottage is very sympathetically modernised, I was a bit concerned we might get chilly, but the underfloor heating was very luxurious and the Central heating more than enough, we only lit the wood burner just because it's nice to have a fire at Christmas. the kitchen was very well stocked with plenty enough crockery and all the kitchen gadgets you might need and we did a lot of cooking as it was Christmas week. The massive oven was great and our favourite was the American fridge with ice dispenser.
The owners were lovely and very helpful. A memorable family Christmas in a lovely location.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kieran C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed December 3, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property is exactly as described and in fantastic condition. It was much much warmer and cosier than I expected. Very well equipped kitchen. Would definitely recommend for anyone visiting the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very warm.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brian468
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful Retreat in English Countryside”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I stayed at Chapel Cottage during the Autumn Half Term break. We had organised for a starter supply of groceries to be delivered for our arrival but got delayed on the way so were delighted that the owner was on hand to receive the consignment before we got there - a good omen.
The cottage itself lives up to the descriptions/pictures on the net - lovely old building tastefully restored and complete with all modern conveniences including underfloor heating on the ground floor, good wi-fi, wood burning stove, large range cooker and excellent kitchen equipment. It is located on a dead end road so we had no hesitation in letting our labrador roam freely outside in the garden an occasionally into the road....
During our stay we enjoyed good meals at several local hostelries, visited Sherbourne castle, Longleat, Stourhead and Lyme Regis which filled our time most enjoyably. We'd thoroughly recommend this cottage to anyone wanting to stay in a delightful rural retreat whilst enjoying all the modern creature comforts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DM4PM
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a PLACE!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was the best place we have been to in the last 20 years since we started self catering.
Very well equipped, very helpful owners and a beautiful location.
It was a very restful holiday and we saw a kingfisher down by the stream in the garden.
We will be going back next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the garden and home
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewed January 16, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and log fire.
Liked least: The third bedroom is a little small but fine for children.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Darren M
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb cottage, perfect for our christmas.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We booked our christmas break at chapel cottage early last year and communication with Tim and Alison has been excellent, nothing was a problem. The cottage is absolutely idilic for a warm and cosy christmas break, great log burner with an endless supply of logs, fantastically equipped kitchen for cooking the perfect roast dinner. The only thing that was missing was the snow for that extra christmassy feel. We would throughly recommend this cottage if you just want to get away from things and relax which is what we did. All surrounding local pubs were excellent with great food too. This cottage must be stunning in the summer!
A big thank you to Tim and Alison.

Perfect!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log burner
Liked least: Packing up and Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing