We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
132 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

What a find! A wonderful place to stay when visiting Sherborne. The Kings Arms ticks every box I can think of - the food was exceptional - really wonderful - way (way) beyond pub grub. The room was really well appointed and the bed very comfortable. The staff were so friendly and welcoming. I really feel that 'this is the one' - perfect for us in every way. Every little detail has been carefully, tastefully and lovingly thought of. This really is an exceptional place to stay.

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room, there is a very quiet room at the back of the hotel which I liked. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    40
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
43
90
1
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I happen to have had the pleasure of dining at the Kings Arms twice in a week and felt I had to say what a great place this is. Wonderful building with excellent facilities, superb staff and lovely food especially the puddings! We enjoyed it so much that we have decided to book it as a halfway meeting place for lunch with friends from the westcountry. It is so easy to get to as well being just 10 minutes from the A303.
My husband says it has the best gents loos he has seen for a long time; apparently gents loos are notoriously smelly. The ladies powder room is pretty nice too. You must try this pub/hotel -you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Kings Arms last Saturday, from the moment you walked in your were made to feel welcome, we were shown to our room which was great, decorated to a high standard with a good size lovely bathroom with rain shower, fluffy towels and also what seems to be a rarity now days lovely cotton bathrobes.

We immediately decided that we would like to eat there, this was no trouble we were allocated a table for the evening and we could eat when we liked despite the it being extremely busy, nothing was too much trouble. The wine list was well thought out and the menu was great, the clientele ranged from casual dining for families with small children in the bar early evening, to the more formal diners in the restaurant later on.

My husband had steak, chips with peppercorn sauce, the steak was cooked rare exactly what he requested and this was a relief as he is probably the most fussy meat eater I know, the chips were perfect and the sauce sublime so he is endlessly requesting that I replicate this at home I had duck which was also delicious.

Breakfast is served until 10 am however we were late as we had to pick up our son, again this was not a problem in the least, even though they had 80 covers for lunch.

This is an extremely well run hotel and outstanding staff who are not only highly efficient but friendly, the only reason I marked it down was the bed was a little hard but that just personal preference.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My friends and I stayed for one night last weekend and found the rooms beautifully decorated and the bathroom was stunning! Food was great also and staff were incredibly helpful. My only little niggle was there was not enough milk with the tea/coffee selection in the room so we had to go down and ask the kitchen for more. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 325familytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benjicott2
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have stayed in the King's Arms a few times now - we got married in September in North Cadbury Court, so used the hotel as our base when we were planning. Some of our wedding guests also stayed there. The rooms are very pleasant, large and spotlessly clean. The bathrooms are very nice!! The pub/restaurant itself is also great - the food is excellent - both breakfast and dinner. They've got a good wine selection and also a few good local ales and ciders. It is smart, but comfortable and homely. Would highly recommend! Ben and Emma Cottam

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjicott2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had the pleasure of booking our wedding reception at the Kings Arms, and what can we say, the experience was memorable, the staff were all very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Wendy the events organiser was superb, Mike and his team were very attentive, and the hospitality from the owners, Tony and Sarah was second to none. The price, and quality of the food you cant better, and would recommend to anyone looking to hold a function or just go there for a meal...try it its first class.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pirelli99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The Kings Arms is about five miles from Sherborne a pretty village with a good food pub. Not far from the A303 which is a good place to stop for food. The menu is good and the pub is light and airy. The staff were pleasant and the service good. The kitchen turns out excellent food and the sweets are very good.
What more can you ask from a country pub.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nigel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
3.6 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
599 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#2 of 2 in Wincanton
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
674 reviews
12.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
876 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#1 of 1 in Corton Denham
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Property: The Kings Arms
Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Horethorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms, with its original facade, stylishly chic interior, picturesque garden and beautiful bedrooms is the ideal venue for both social and business alike. Situated in the pretty village of Charlton Horethorne, near Sherborne close to the Somerset and Dorset border, this 5 star Inn has been totally renovated and restored by its owners, Sarah and Tony Lethbridge, and now offers a chic Dorset Country Pub and Hotel with 10 luxury en-suite bedrooms, a modern restaurant, bar and terrace area and staff ready to offer you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing