We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cuisine”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I highly recommend the Kings Arms. We only visited for lunch, but the food was absolutely excellent. Good service, good beer, good wine, imaginative London Bistro standard cuisine at Dorset Pub prices.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 239 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2013

From outside and immediately on entry, this is a pleasant, welcoming public house with a good range of beers, a small, comfortable snug and plenty of tables for bar meals. Step through the bar and suddenly you are in a no-expense-spared, small, modern hotel.
Our room was a good size with a large, comfortable bed and an excellent, en-suite wet-room. Both were spotlessly clean as was the whole hotel. Our room was quiet, but on a good summer's evening there may be some noise from outside tables until the pub shuts. Apparently, the hotel is four years old, but it still looks brand new. We noticed the stall cleaning things when they were not busy serving; always a good sign, but all too infrequently seen. Everyone was most helpful and polite; nothing was too much trouble.
We ate in the restaurant the first evening and enjoyed a very good meal. The menu is probably modern British and we thought some of the dishes suffered from being just a touch too fussy, but we were able to find two or three starters and mains to our liking. I had a very tasty mushroom starer and my wife and I both had the venison which was very good. The dessert was the only disappointment. We selected the apple and pear crumble, but the crumble was more like a muesli and overpowered the fruit, rather than complementing it. Prices seemed fairly average for the quality of the food. Breakfast was a small juice, fruit and cereal buffet followed by freshly cooked, full English, scrambled egg or kippers; all of which were good. (If you do not like your bacon crisp you need to say so.)
We had a very good time at the Kings Arms and would return if we are that way again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Voyager042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stopped here for the night booked on late rooms. The room was lovely . Comfortable , spotless and well prepared. The evening meal was superb in fact one of the best meals I have eaten for some while. The service was excellent . Cannot fault it,,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I were travelling from kent to St Ives and had a baby with us so needed to split the journey in half and the Kings Arms was located perfectly for this. Fortunately a few other pubs/hotels that had come up on the google search I did were fully booked which eventually led me to here via Laterooms.com. I called the hotel directly and was greeted by the friendliest and most helpful member of staff I have ever encountered (I think her name was Wendy? She left for her holidays the day we arrived). Wendy was so polite, friendly and helpful and re-assured us that they were baby/child friendly and we were not to worry. She also reserved us a table in the bar to eat (she did offer the restaurant at first but we prefer the bar) and she made sure the table had room for the push chair.
When we arrived she showed us to our room which was very nice and beautifully decorated with a lovely view out to the front of the building.
The evening meal was brilliant and they have a wood burning smoker/cooker in the kitchen and we had the lamb and venison which were wood Smokey and gorgeous!

All in all it was a perfect stay with really nice staff and locals and i would love to stay there again one day! One small gripe would be the breakfast which was minimal and served in a bowl but the yogurt and fruit was nicely done.

Well done Kings Arms and please don't change!

One last note, there is a lovely delicatessen next door which does the best scotch eggs ever :)

Ross, Emma and Fynn

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DARTH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with this little find!!! See your food being made before you eat it, very friendly and pleasant staff and a really nice atmosphere all round!! The food was excellent when it came and was a certainly worth the (small) wait. Would definitely return!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank DanielleR1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After travelling throughout the UK for over forty years I have found that one indicator of a good hotel is the breakfast it offers and the Kings Arms does not disappoint, freshly made with local produce just a great way to start the day. The rooms are good size and furnished with panache. Our bathroom had a walk-in shower which functioned perfectly, and complimented by high quality toiletries.
We did not have the opportunity to dine in the attractively furnished restaurant, which on our next stay we certainly will, as any hotel that offers a breakfast of that quality and focuses on getting the detail right will surely provide a meal to remember.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Popped into the Kings Arms on the way back from Sherbourne. Very well refurbished with local art, and high quality furniture and well designed ambience. Although we did not eat on this occasion , the restaurant looked very well finished, and you pass the kitchens on the way to the restaurant via glass windows and it is always a good sign when you can see your food being prepared. Overall I will certainly take the opportunity to eat here in the future

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank uktraveller1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
701 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holbrook Manor
Holbrook Manor
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#1 of 1 in Corton Denham
349 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Horethorne
Price Range: $126 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms, with its original facade, stylishly chic interior, picturesque garden and beautiful bedrooms is the ideal venue for both social and business alike. Situated in the pretty village of Charlton Horethorne, near Sherborne close to the Somerset and Dorset border, this 5 star Inn has been totally renovated and restored by its owners, Sarah and Tony Lethbridge, and now offers a chic Dorset Country Pub and Hotel with 10 luxury en-suite bedrooms, a modern restaurant, bar and terrace area and staff ready to offer you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing