We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Better”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Went here hoping for a special 31st anniversary dinner after reading so many good reviews. Arrived 7.40 for table booked for 8pm and directed to wait in 'snug' with drinks before being seated. We waited politely until 8.15 before my wife asked if our table was ready. The staff looked confused why we'd sked and immediately directed us into the dining room which was not at all full. It was confusing as we felt neglected and thought they were stalling for 40 minutes while our table became free? Our order was taken by a pleasant young lady who seemed to be a little unsure of herself and when asked she assured me that the duck was crispy but it wasn't. We weren't asked our potato choice and I had to go and check. Our starter was tasty but small for the price. My main was tasty despite the slightly soggy duck. My wife felt that her steak was small for a Rib Eye and it tasted quite average. Overall, we felt that the food was a mixed bag, the service was disappointing and despite mentioning that it was our anniversary (no we weren't looking for a free drink) this wasn't even acknowledged by the person I assume was the manager or owner although they never introduced themselves so I'm not sure. For a meal that cost £100 we expected better; perhaps we caught them on an off night but we only get one 31st anniversary.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Carl_Sandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of The Kings Arms. We have responded to you personally via mail and we hope that you will consider visiting us at a later date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 242 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We eat regularly at the Kings Arms and have always enjoyed excellent food and a very warm friendly welcome with impeccable service. For this reason I decided to hold my 40th Birthday celebrations here. I had 40 guests so was given exclusive use of the restaurant area (there is also a bar area which serves food) All arrangements were competently organised by Wendy the functions manager taking most of the stress away from myself.
The three course meal was up to their usual excellent standard as was the service. My guests made a point of commenting not only on the superb food but also on the friendly relaxed atmosphere. Many said they would be returning to eat here themselves. We capped this off by staying the night in one of their lovely rooms and a very welcome breakfast the following morning.
Overall I would highly recommend The Kings Arms whether it’s just for a lunch time or evening meal or as a function venue. Tony and his wife Sarah, who is the chef, will be there ready to give you a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenHDorsetEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A family friend held her 40th birthday party here and it was excellent, the food was amazing, restaurant flavours but country pub portions!!....and it just kept coming and coming. Good selection of drinks and great service, coped well with the number of people in the party, all the food was served at the right time. We had a lovely private space with a great atmosphere, we didn't stay overnight but I would if I come again, if their breakfast is anything like their dinner, it will be amazing!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CattyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed at the hotel to celebrate a friends 60th, what a great time we had. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left. The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were lovely, the food delicious and the whole atmosphere was great.
I cannot find one fault with this great establishment. 5**

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A group of 8 of us stayed here after attending a memorial service in Sherborne Abbey. We wanted to be away from the madding crowds and one of our number had found this Hotel on Trip Advisor! It proved to be an excellent choice in every sense of the word. The welcome from Tony and Wendy was warm and friendly and the ambience was cosy and vibrant. We all had pre dinner drinks in the bar area and then moved into the reastaurant and had an excellent meal washed down with our favorite Rioja Reserva in Magnums which we have never seen before in a Restaurant!!
Unfortunately we managed do drink his total stock of this excellent wine.
Our room was nice and quiet situated at the rear of the Hotel with a modern ensuite shower room and a comfortable king sized bed.
The A la Carte breakfast was excellent with your choice of eggs etc freshly cooked and served with a smile. Well worth a stay if you are in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the road and consequently very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

As part of a group of 6 couples, we recently enjoyed a 3 night break at the Kings Arms.

It was snowing when we arrived but the warm welcome we received upon arrival more than compensated for the weather. This was continue throughout the duration of our stay. The service and consideration of ALL of the staff we encountered was second to none.

Set on a junction of minor and “majorish” road, from the outside the Kings Arms gives the impression of a well kept turn of the century school house. As you walk through the door you enter the bar area with a log burning stove to one side separating the bar from a cosy little lounge area (easy chairs and settee) whilst on the other side of the bar there is a dining area with a half a dozen or so tables (there is a much larger very modern and stylish looking dining room to the rear). Throughout the pub there are very interesting sculptures, castings and paintings which add to the character of the place.

On the down side when some of our party were shown their rooms there was a problem with the heating not working. The owners immediately attempted to address the issue and when internal adjustments were clearly not working, called in a plumber. Throughout they were very apologetic and the problem was soon fixed (although by this time we were in the bar enjoying one of three real ales on tap – Doombar, Swordfish and Butcombe). Suitably refreshed we returned to our room, Room 2. This is situated over the front entrance. With a large window and a smaller one, the room was light and airy. It was in a Frenchy style and offered a very comfortable double bed, LCD TV, and free wifi. The bathroom was in wet room format with a very good rainforest shower. After the cold start we unfortunately left the thermostats for the two radiators in the room on high and as a consequence sweltered on our first night. The noise from the road outside was noticeable throughout the night but certainly was not an issue for us.

All meals at the Kings were to a high standard. This was my first encounter with jospered food (according to Jancis Robinson this burns top-quality charcoal and in layman's terms is the hottest indoor barbecue available). “Barbecued pork” and “barbecued chicken” does not do justice to the two jospered dishes I tried. Breakfast too was good quality with plenty of cereals, fresh fruit and the full English.

Whilst we stayed at the Kings Arms we visited the Fleet Air Arm and enjoyed a walk through one of the prototype Concordes. We also enjoyed a stroll around Clarks Village in Street and nearby Sherborne.

Summarising our stay at the Kings Arms. Excellent accommodation, food, service, staff! Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at front seemed lighter than those at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Two_Fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble, friendly staff who were professional and helpful. The supper was very delicious. Bar and restaurant area had great atmosphere, with the open fire roaring. Our room was clean, elegant and comfortable and the shower in the en suite was amazing. We had a really lovely little break.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
3 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
704 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holbrook Manor
Holbrook Manor
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#1 of 1 in Corton Denham
358 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Horethorne
Price Range: $126 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms, with its original facade, stylishly chic interior, picturesque garden and beautiful bedrooms is the ideal venue for both social and business alike. Situated in the pretty village of Charlton Horethorne, near Sherborne close to the Somerset and Dorset border, this 5 star Inn has been totally renovated and restored by its owners, Sarah and Tony Lethbridge, and now offers a chic Dorset Country Pub and Hotel with 10 luxury en-suite bedrooms, a modern restaurant, bar and terrace area and staff ready to offer you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing