We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay”
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Kings Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Whole hotel very well decorated - very good ambiance and lots of artwork on the walls (all for sale).
Room well furnished -shower room excellent (no bath).
Food very good - both in the restaurant and at breakfast.
Staff excellent - very helpful and friendly.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for The Kings Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 229 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed in the Kings arms for one night,wonderful little hotel in the countryside the room was so comfortable and bright and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful,breakfast was very tasty freshly cooked english breakfast, freshly squeezed orange juice,the only thing was there was no fruit only prunes! but it would not put me off staying here again.Will return for two nights next time! The Town of Sherbourne is only 4 miles away Beautiful place to wander around.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aileen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

My fiancee and I spent two nights at the Kings Arms. The hotel ideally located as literally 3 mins walk to the church, where we were attending a friends wedding.

The rooms were modern, clean and well decorated with a very modern bathroom and rain shower. (we stayed in room 7)

food was delicious and the breakfast excellent.

Staff were very friendly, polite and eager to please. Impressed that we were asked how we were finding our stay etc.

Highly recommend for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We have friends who live in the area and have visited several times and each time we have had dinner at the Kings Arms. In general the food is adequate, if a little pricey. The staff are always very attentive but my main gripe is the fact that you hardly ever see the same face twice! My friends visit the place regularly and have also commented on this. I find this very surprising for a small country pub. As a consequence of the high staff turnover, I feel the atmosphere can be a bit stiff and not at all relaxing. It's such as shame because it has the potential to be so much nicer.........a little advice for the owner/s.......nurture your staff, treat them well and it will pay dividends!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank obadiahbobleknob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Went for a meal here with friends and were very disappointed. Looks wonderful outside, but inside it is an ill-conceived blend of historic building and cheap modern build. The staff are friendly enough, but the menu prices are very high and the quality of food is extremely average. The place was busy, but we couldn’t help walking away feeling ripped off. Avoid – there are much better places in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob-34567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Good rooms, quiet, despite being on a main road.
Good breakfast, provided you don't mind your full English being served in bowl, in some misguided and laughable attempt at culinary sophistication.
However, despite promising, when we booked, that the bar would be open late, we arrived back at the Kings Arms at 11.30 on a Saturday night, to find the whole place locked up and in darkness.
They didn't care that they had reneged on their promise. That summed up the management in general - offhand.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyLittleTownBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2010

Enjoyed yet another excellent meal at the Kings Arms last Sunday 24/10/2010. Service: Very Friendly and fast ( a large amount of customers too) Food 5* Price very good. Cannot fault the Kings Arms in anyway

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brutontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlton Horethorne
3.0 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
689 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
230 reviews
10.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
359 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Queens Arms
The Queens Arms
#1 of 1 in Corton Denham
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: North Street, Charlton Horethorne DT9 4NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Charlton Horethorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Charlton Horethorne
Price Range: $185 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kings Arms 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms, with its original facade, stylishly chic interior, picturesque garden and beautiful bedrooms is the ideal venue for both social and business alike. Situated in the pretty village of Charlton Horethorne, near Sherborne close to the Somerset and Dorset border, this 5 star Inn has been totally renovated and restored by its owners, Sarah and Tony Lethbridge, and now offers a chic Dorset Country Pub and Hotel with 10 luxury en-suite bedrooms, a modern restaurant, bar and terrace area and staff ready to offer you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Arms Hotel Charlton Horethorne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing