We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Native Dominican food, best option in the road between Santo Domingo and Santiago” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tipico Bonao

Tipico Bonao
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Bonao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Desde 1962, 52 Anos de servicio. Una Verdadera Tradicion Dominicana!
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
398 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Native Dominican food, best option in the road between Santo Domingo and Santiago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Native Dominican food, best option in the road between Santo Domingo and Santiago.

Located in the highway in the city of Bonao, between Santo Domingo and Santiago.

Nice and clean, good service. Overprice due to is a very touristic place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Licey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    56
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Plata, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
143 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very Relaible and Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very good Dominican food and sandwiches. You really can’t go wrong here, nothing fancy but very comfortable roadside restaurant. Best selection of natural juices. Have stopped there for 22 years, even if just for a coffee and use of spotless bathrooms. Service is good and friendly, a very well run establishment.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RECH310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good place for local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a pleasant restuarant. Service is good and its a clean wide place. Had a nice appetizer and the main course was good. It was quiet a lot as both of us did not finish our plates. They have local food which is great. The place is not far from the autopista so you can also go here to lunch. Bonao is though a cool place to relax

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Curtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The number one restaurant for native Dominican dishes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I was driving down from Puerto Plata after the yearly Caribbean Cigar Night, (which was a true success) & as I normally do, I stopped for Lunch at the Tipico Bonao at KM 90 for one of my favorite local dishes, stewed crab Dominican Style, " Cangrejo guisado" with flattened plantain, "Tostones". When I entered the extremely clean, fresh, open air thatched roof dining room, there was a gentlemen by himself waiting for his food & he very nicely greeted me. I returned the courtesy & asked him if I could join him, as I was also alone.
He accepted & we started speaking about food, wine & cigars when I finally asked what did he do for a living as I was impressed by his gastronomic knowledge & he surprised me by stating" I am Oscar Batista the owner of the Tipico Bonaos!
This restaurant was established in 1962 by Oscars Grand-father & they are both a family & Dominican tradition.
The Dominican Republic has presently over 300 native, regional dishes & Oscar offers 80+ of the absolute best.
He now runs the 2 Tipico Boanos one at KM 82 on the North to South side of the highway on the access road & the other South to North at KM 90, plus a relatively new restaurant in Santo Domingo the, "Ciao".That will be a motive for a future review.
Dishes I highly recommend:

Appetizers & main dishes
Spicy goat from Azua
The stewed crab from Nagua
Garlic shrimp from Sanchez
Steamed rice, Chinese vegetables, shrimp & Soy sauce"Chofan" from Bonao
Sea Bass in coconut milk from Samana
Dominican stew, " Sancocho", with 5 different meats & vegetables from all over the DR, but this is the Cibao version with, smoked pork chops, tasty cassava & DR pumpkin, " auyama".
Corn Meal , " Chen-chen" from San Juan de la Maguana, ( When available).
Beefsteak with caramelized onions, Santo Domingo style
With rice & beans, fried or caramelized plantains, steamed veggies, etc..

Desserts:

Flan caramel from Santiago
Chocolate cake from San Francisco de Macoris
Sweet milk & coconut paste from Bani
Dominican Cheese cake from Washington Heights, NY

They also have a reasonable wine list, plus offer a full bar & premium, handcrafted cigars, soon to include "Puros de Hostos".

When travelling from Santo Domingo to Santiago or Puerto Plata, it is a must stop & even to go for an authentic native Dominican meal, its less than an hour from the Capital city & well worth the price quality ratio.

¡Salud & Cheers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GAdH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puerto rico
Level Contributor
134 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“good eats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

i have been going to this rest for the last 12 years since the first time i visited the DR and it has been a must ever since the food is great the place is clean the service exelent. there is another tipico bonao about 6 miles up the road but the one we visit is in the town of bonao can miss it if you are in the area. try the "cabrito guisao with verde frito"(goat stud and fryed plantain) the best in the country.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank papo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tipico Bonao also viewed

Bonao, Monsenor Nouel Province
Bonao, Monsenor Nouel Province
 
Bonao, Monsenor Nouel Province
Bonao, Monsenor Nouel Province
 
Bonao, Monsenor Nouel Province
Bonao, Monsenor Nouel Province
 

Been to Tipico Bonao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing