We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our 4th trip to Castle Dargan”
Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We love our trips to Sligo and surrounding area including our stay at Castle Dargan Hotel. the hotel is tucked away in beautiful and peaceful surroundings.
Our room is always very clean, spacious and oh so comfortable! The bed/linens are cosy and luxurious. The staff are friendly and eager to please. Great trails to walk near the hotel and as well as superb golf! Rosses Point and Strandhill are both just along the way...gorgeous!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ameriscotsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,274 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed for a two night break and was slightly apprehensive after reading some of the reviews but I can honestly say that it was one of the best short breaks we have ever had.

*The staff were so friendly and welcoming right from the start. I had contacted the hotel prior to our stay and spoke to Claire who was just so helpful.

* The room was excellent and had a great view over the golf course. The beds were of a high standard and sooooo comfortable.

*We ate in the bar on both nights and could not fault the food and the portions were very generous.

* The Spa area was magnificent and I had some treatments with Grainne which were fantastic.

* Breakfasts were good especially loved the availability of various breads instead of just toast.

*We stayed on a Monday and Tuesday nights and yes it was quiet but that is exactly what we wanted and needed in order to recharge our batteries.

* Would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evieNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBreslin, Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2010

Dear evieNorthernIreland

Thank you for taking your time and writing about your recent stay at Castle Dargan Hotel. I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay . I have taken the liberty of passing your compliments on to our Team, adding my own thanks.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future, again.

Kind Regards,
Francis Breslin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I have stayed in castle dargan on several occasions and I have never been disappointed. People here have complained that its quiet, well exactly. I dont want noisy. If you want a relaxing break with very good food and great service I would thoroughly recommend it. I havent stayed in the walled garden just the main hotel and its always been great. We have also used the spa which was very nice and the staff are exceptionally polite but also welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelygirlDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBreslin, Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2010

Dear lovelygirlDerry,

Thank you very much for the nice feedback regarding your stays at Castle Dargan Hotel I am always pleased to read that guests have enjoyed their stay in our hotel and our services and facilities fully met your expectations. Your positive comments have been shared with our Team members.

Kind Regards

Francis Breslin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

This Hotel just has it all from start to finish. From the moment we checked in till the moment we checked out we could not fault anything. The rooms were very nice and clean and had a nice view. We ate in the restaurant one night . The food was lovely. The two male waiters that were working could not do enough for us and were very profestional. All in all a great place to stay and will most certainly return

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whsya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBreslin, Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2010

Dear whsya,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Castle Dargan, your comments have been passed on to our Team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Castle Dargan

Kind Regards
Francis Breslin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Walled garden suite : Walled yes ,garden no ,suite no.

Atmosphereless hotel with cheap decor and cheaper furniture.

Garden suites are a block of apartments.

Food is forgettable .

We didn't have the courage to try their wellness centre.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank pvjirealnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed for two nights with our children aged 5 and 7. On arrival we were told that we were booked into one of the Walled Garden Suites, which is separate from the hotel's main building. Although very spacious (one double rm, one twin rm, large bathroom, large kitchen/dining/sitting room area), it was very cold, clinical, bare, and not at all comfortable. Hardly the 'luxurious' accommodation promised on their website. Our voices just echoed around the place, the furnishing were minimal, there was one small tv in the sitting room area, with a very uncomfortable, hard red leather sofa. Also, there was no WiFi available, which was a problem for us, as we needed to be able to check emails etc.

The staff were helpful enough when we asked to be moved to a room in the main building, though we had to wait a further 1.5 hrs for it to be ready. Dinner was included in our package, though the menu was very limited, and the food was just about ok, certainly I didn't enjoy the vegetarian option I choose. We asked for pasta with a carbonara or similar creamy sauce for the kids, but they were given pasta with tomato sauce, which they don't like and didn't eat. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and
helpful enough however.

There was a wedding on each night we stayed, so there was a few people around which helped give the place a bit of an atmosphere, but overall I thought the hotel was very cold and unwelcoming, it reminded me of a departure lounge in an airport!

Our room was comfortable enough though, and we didn't hear any noise at all from the wedding (there was a wedding on the Thurs, Fri and Sat nights). They're a bit economical with the toiletries - just one shampoo and one bath gel for the four of us - just a little thing I know, but it didn't help. Also, they seemed to be having problems with the key card system, we had to go to reception a few times to get a new key, as they just wouldn't work. In the end I found it quicker just to find a member of housekeeping to let us into the room.

This hotel would probably suit people who were on a golfing break, as the golf course is excellent by all accounts. The function room for the wedding looked really lovely too, so I can see why it's popular for weddings.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FBreslin, Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2010

Dear AnnieLC ,

Thank you for taking your time and writing about your recent stay Castle Dargan.Our passion and goal is to meet or exceed the expectations of every Castle Dargan Guest and it is unfortunate when that doesn’t happen.
We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you in the future, again

Kind Regards

Francis Breslin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife and I went to the hotel for our anniversary to enjoy a few days away. We were looking for a restful break, we got that alright the hotel was like a ghost town, nobody in the bar at night. The bar was cold and clinical looking and lack atmosphere. We returned to the hotel on the second night to find that our room was not cleaned properly, the bathroom was not cleaned thoroughly and the tea cups and a glass were not even moved not to talk about been cleaned or replaced. The floor had not been hovered for our entire stay.

We requested a non smoking room, which we got but on the second night the smoke from the room next door started to enter our bathroom via the air vents. When these issues were raised with a manager he was not in slightest bothered and He never apologised.

A horrible experience overall !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy186646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,124 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,713 reviews
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#6 of 8 in Sligo
526 reviews
8.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
9.1 mi away
Yeats Country Hotel, Spa and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range: $97 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing