We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Donegal
1 review
“would stay again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2008

I stayed for my 21st birthday as a present from my friends. at first the hotel seemed to be nice, but when i went for something to eat it all went wrong. The waitress ignored us for such a long time then when she eventually took our order she forgot to order one of the main meals so when they came out my friend had to order another meal as the salmon i think it was was not available any more as they had ran out and she had to wait around 15mins for her meal. then when we were finished we had noone come to us to clear our plates, we had intended to get desserts but gave up. apart from that the hotel was very nice and the reception staff and the rooms made the hotel worth staying in.

  • Liked — The reception staff
  • Disliked — the restaurant staff
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldined5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    308
    196
    102
    66
See reviews for
199
664
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed at Castle Dargan after a recommendation by a friend and we were not dissapointed. We stayed for just one weekend but we will be back!! This was a pampering trip for my Girlfriend and we had booked a couple of treatments in their Spa (im told they were superb:))
The hotel has a bar and restaurant overloooking the golf course and we ate in the Hall Door on one night, again very nice.
We both found that the staff couldnt do enough for us, very friendly and attentive throughout our stay.
Thanks to all

  • Liked — The staff, location
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ford_prefect_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

Firstly, not to do too much injustice to Castle Dargan, if you are a golfer then this is probably a good place to visit, if like me you are not then this hotel is an absolute no-no. Castle and Wellness conjure up images that are unfortunately not there on arrival. It looks like a holiday inn. My limited golfing knowledge would lead me to say that the course looks beautiful and there looks like there are excellent facilities......if youre a golfer. No pool, no gym, the bar had all the atmosphere of a wake, no grounds to speak of even for a walk around, unless you walk the golf course, the first floor room we were given had a fold down bed. Why? Why on earth would you need this in a hotel room. It was also the most uncomfortable bed I have ever been in in my life. TV didnt work (now im looking for poor points) and the uncontrollable temperature in the room was unbearable. Having read other reviews, I can only assume that they are all from Golfers. On the day we arrived, 90% of the car park had Dublin cars parked there, no doubt on a jolly over to Sligo which im sure is great craic.....if you're a golfer. "Castle" Dargan should maybe rethink its name and perhaps be a little more honest in what it is. "Wellness" means expensive spa treatments and not your usual lazing about in the pool or sauna, but if you want a pool you can go into Sligo (14k away) and do all that stuff there says the information book in your room. On a positive note, the food and the staff, who were all very honest when asked what was there to do, are all to be given 5 stars. No complaints on that score whatsoever but do not be fooled by the name of this establishment. Ballygawley Golf Club with rooms would be more accurate. My wife and I were here for 2 nights but left after 1. Not the place for a couples getaway by any stretch of the imagination unless of course........well you know the rest.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Facilities
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFKAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

When I arrived I thought I had died and gone to heaven! The rooms were absolutely beautiful with every luxury available. Once my head hit the pillow and I sunk into the bed I did not think I even moved. The bathroom was a dream come true. I traveled with a party of 6 and we all agreed that we should have booked our rooms for at least a week. We enjoyed an absolutely delicious dinner in their dining room, which had a spectacular view of the golf course and some of the old ruins. The staff was extremely helpful with all of our requests. I look forward to staying longer the next time I return to Ireland.

  • Liked — Absolute luxury
  • Disliked — I did not book it for one week
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Shalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

All the hotel employees were well educated, kind, and very helpful. The hotel itself is so beautiful, clean, well-designed, and quite. The price for the room was very reasonable for the services we have received. The hotel restaurant was also wonderful and excellent. It was one of the best hotels my family and I have ever stayed. My family and I will stay this hotel again when we visit Ireland next time. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2008

We spent a lovely night at the Castle Dargan Hotel at the end of July 2008 while visiting with relatives in Sligo. There were 21 of us in our group of family/friends, and we stayed in each of the various types of rooms/suites at the hotel. Everyone in our group loved their respective accommodations. I booked the rooms directly with the hotel, via exchange of emails initially, then a follow up phone call. The rates were terrific, probably because we stayed mid-week. The rates included breakfast, which was very good. Some of the group took the advice of the reservations person and booked golf tee time in advance, and they enjoyed it very much. The hotel grounds are beautiful, as is the spa. Unfortunately, we did not heed the advice to book spa treatments in advance, and they were booked when we arrived. As an alternative, some of our group took the opportunity to go to the nearby seaweed baths in Strandhill and loved that experience.
The staff at the Castle Dargan hotel, the restaurant and the bar were all very helpful and friendly. We were sorry we only had the one night to spend here!

  • Liked — Luxurious rooms and beautiful views
  • Disliked — nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbiethemisfitelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2008

Stayed here for a weekend break with my boyfriend. It's not really a castle but rather a modern hotel with remains of a castle (somewhere) on the grounds. The rooms are really nice, quite modern and stylish. We were situated on the ground floor and I could hear people walking past etc and didn't feel 100% private in the room. Had booked a treatment at the SPA and this was really impressive. There is a great "relax" room you can go to and help yourself to herbal teas. I fell asleep there, it was great. The treatment itself (massage) was good, very relaxing.

The hotel is a bit out from Sligo, so you have to get a taxi in if you want to go out for dinner. it's not too far though. The staff in the hotel were nice. Thought the place was a bit expensive for what it was (190 euro per night). It's probably more suited to golfers as there is apparently a good golf course there.

However, it was a nice place and I would recommend it, but if I was going back to Sligo would probably try to stay in the town.

  • Liked — Spa
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykat1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
8.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing