We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Ihave to say from the minute we arrived we where treated amazing great food the best staff very helpful i got engaged on my stay and they couldn't if been more helpful! I'm promise to come back and stay again

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Mark C,
It is with great pleasure to hear that you choose Castle Dargan to get engaged. We are so happy you had a wonderful time enjoying our beautiful made food and our warm and professional team. Our Award Winning Wedding Co-ordinator Kim Monaghan would be more than happy to answer any questions you may have In the near future. From all the team at Castle Dargan we wish you congratulations and look forward to welcoming you back. Please contact me directly whenever you plan on staying with us again.
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    308
    196
    102
    66
See reviews for
199
664
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremorris, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We got engaged last October and decided to check out Castle Dargan for our wedding. We had never been to the hotel until the day we met Kim (Wedding co-ordinator). After seeing the place and speaking with Kim, we knew it was where we wanted to have our wedding, although we had never stayed in the hotel we just got such a good vibe from the place.

A group of us stayed on Saturday 18th January as we got a good deal and also because we wanted to "check the place out". I am so glad we did! We have absolutely no reservations about having our wedding here. Wedding prep can be a stressful time but now we know we have nothing to worry about as regards our chosen wedding venue which is great.

From the moment we walked through the door, the staff treated us brilliantly. They were all extremely professional and they definitely go the extra mile for each and every one of their clients. The girls on reception were great and I must mention Chrissie (she's great fun). Linda in the bar deserves a very special mention too. We visited Castle Dargan a few weeks previous to check out a wedding band and she remembered myself and my fiance and even remembered the type of wine I liked to drink!! (A seriously great bar person and a fantastic asset to the hotel). Overall, the staff in the whole hotel were fantastic, the food was gorgeous and we all felt at home.

What was even better was that they treated everyone of their clients the same (it wasn't just because we booked our wedding there).

We are really looking forward to March 2015 :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMCL2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear TMCL2015,
Congratulations on your engagement and we are thrilled to read we will be hosting your Wedding at Castle Dargan Resort. It is a pleasure to hear that any Wedding prep stress you may have had has been alleviated through our professional and courteous staff. Our Wedding Co-ordinator Kim Monaghan is delighted to hear your feedback and thanks you for choosing the Castle Dargan Resort for your special day. Please be assured I will pass on your very kind comments to all our team. We wish you the very best for your Wedding day and look forward to seeing you in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to write up this review, it is very much appreciated.
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just back from a wonderful, relaxing weekend in this hotel. Staff were so friendly, food was delicious, room was really spacious. Weather was appalling, but still managed to get out to lovely beach for a walk. loads to see and do in the area. Be sure to bool into the spa in advance as it is very popular! If you want a break from all the hustle and bustle ,this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scubabadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Scubabadger,
We are very pleased you experienced a wonderful and relaxing weekend break with us at our 4star Resort. It was our pleasure to ensure you forgot about the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Our professional and friendly staff thank you for your kind words and please be assured I will pass on your comments to all our team at Castle Dargan Resort. We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Guest Relations
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel very friendly staff could not do enough for you
Room great clean and comfortable, bar food , breakfast and main dining room all excellent ,15minute drive into Sligo town nice walks in grounds ,golf course on grounds

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank astvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear astvar,
Thank you for your feedback on the Castle Dargan Resort, it is very appreciated by our team. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us including our popular friendly staff. Our highly efficient housekeeping team are pleased you enjoyed one of our deluxe rooms and our kitchen team are very thankful of your kind words. The views of our Darren Clarke designed golf course are indeed very nice which is one of the key points of the resort. We would love to see you again in the future when our team will ensure you experience the same four star service once again.
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Well what can I say... Just literally in the door from my best friends hen weekend that I organised in Sligo. I chose Castle Dargan in Sligo as there hen weekend package was amazing!! Firstly the staff where just brilliant, they where so so excellent in helping organise everything, very informative, broke there backs to accommodate us in every way possible!! When we arrived its standard in the hotel to have a free glass of prosecco, which was lovely!! We had afternoon tea and spa treatments, to say afternoon tea, was an understatement it was a buffet!! Food was just devine. Spa treatments and facilities where just fantastic!! Dinner that evening was absolutely gorgeous!! The little apartments we stayed in where so so comfy like mini houses and literally a seconds walk from main hotel!! I can honestly say its a MUST MUST MUST, this was one of the best weekends ever and Castle Dargan with your Lush surrounding and super friendly and accommodating staff... THANK YOU!! Chrisie, Christina and Amanda and of course everyone else!!! xx We will be back, who knows possibly for a wedding, amazing views from function room!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 818Sinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear 818Sinead,
What a brilliant review, we thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort. Our chef and kitchen team are very pleased our food was of the highest standard for your party. Sophia our Icon Spa manager is delighted you enjoyed your experience in our heavenly icon Spa. Our friendly and courteous reception team appreciate your thanks and please be assured I will pass on all your positive comments to all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Castle Dargan Resort.
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend with our 5 month old and another couple and their 15 month old. It was the first time we had taken the kids away with us and we were nervous about how they'd get on! But our minds were quickly put at ease by the wonderful friendly staff! We were allocated spacious rooms with loads of room for all our stuff. The downstairs was perfect and we found a lovely seat by the fire where the kids had plenty of room and we were able to relax without fear of annoying anyone else! We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night, food was absolutely fabulous and again staff to be commended. Also ate in the bar for lunch, it too was fab. My only regret was that we didn't discover the spa until our treatments on the morning we were departing! Men enjoyed their round of golf too. Only downside was that the walls are very thin! I could hear the people in the room next door discussing their day very clearly!! But would return and would envisage it on being a beautiful venue for a wedding.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tibby26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Tibby26,
We had the great pleasure reading your kind words about your stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort. I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our genuinely friendly & helpful staff. Our kitchen staff lead by chef Mark Wiggs appreciate your positive feedback as our kitchen staff prides themselves on our delicious food. Our Darren Clarke designed golf course is very special to us and It is great the men got to share in its uniqueness as many of our residents do. Please be assured all of our staff will hear of you wonderful review. Thank you again for your review & we hope to welcome you back to Castle Dargan in the future.
Kind Regards,
Guest Relations
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a nice hotel in the country with a lovely walk (around the golf course) and especially nice to view (the deer, ducks and birds) from the spa relaxation area! We were given a glass of Prosecco on arrival which was tasty and a nice welcome.
The service was very good with very friendly staff.
However it was extremely quiet there.
The food was ok (too much butter used for my liking !) but we got very a good value deal that included 2 nights B&B and a dinner.
The spa area was good with a good range of treatments- though I could not use it the 1st day unless I paid €10 (as our treatments were booked for the next day)!!.
Overall not 'my cup of tea' but would recommend for anyone wanting to get away for peace and quiet for some pampering or a large group of friends.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the golf course- better view there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Maureen O,
Thank you for your review and we our very thankful of your kind words. Be assured I will pass on all your positive comments to all our team who always seek to provide the best possible service. We do invite local artists who play live music at weekends and I’m sorry you didn't get a chance to experience this. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
8.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing