We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Check-in was a bit chaotic. First offered us a room when I had booked an apartment. Then after a short wait we were told that because of a problem this wouldn't be available for 3hours. To their credit they offered the room again at a reduced rate which we accepted and were happy with it overall. Had 3 course dinner in the restaurant which was delicious and great value as part of our package. Staff friendly and bar is great to have drinks and bar food good value. Overall enjoyed our time here in relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank codyandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Codyandco,
Good day to you from Castle Dargan Resort, we are so please you enjoyed your time with us. Please be assured we will inform all our professionally and friendly staff of your wonderful comments. Our award winning kitchen team will also be delighted you enjoyed our food. We are sorry about the mix up over your room and we do apologise again. We look forward in welcoming you back to Castle Dargan Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    308
    196
    102
    66
See reviews for
199
664
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful hotel and surroundings with lovely staff, who were so attentive you felt they wanted to make sure you had a good stay. We ate in the bar and food was reasonably priced and really nice, could not find any faults at all, definitely worth 4 start and more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BK70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Bernarde K,
Cead mile failte from Castle Dargan and we are very happy to learn that you experienced our friendly 4star Irish welcome. Our courteous and professional team will be delighted to hear your about your kind comments .Our chef Mark Wiggs will be very happy you enjoyed his succulent food.Please be assured we will let all the team know of your lovely comments. We look forward having the pleasure of welcoming back in the near future

Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

First of all, the staff at Castle Dargan were perhaps the most helpful I have ever encountered either at home or abroad.

Good:
- The Spa facilities are excellent, the staff here are very proffessional and I would reccomend for couples. Had a massage and a few other things, superb all round.
-The staff from start to finish were helpful and friendly without being overwhelming.
-Everything was priced well, not too expensive. As someone who would be concerned with price I wasnt worried paying for things here.
-The view from the hotel of the golf course (I havent been but friends have reccomended) from the spa and restraunt and bar are great.
-The starter and main course were fantastic, we had the lunchtime tea special (you need to book this before you go to the bar but I highly reccomed this) A tasty and clever idea.

Bad:
-While the service staff all were above par, at one occasion a middle aged looking chef came out to the bar while i was waiting to order lunch. He began arguing the waitress behind the bar who was trying to avoid a scene over some previous order (he was waving a reciept in his hand) he began cursing and the whole ordeal was quite unpleasant for myself and the several families sitting nearby.

-The apartments entrance has no security and no key is required to get into the main building. Also there are no lights anywhere near the entrance. All in all it feels rather unsafe going back to an unlit and open building seperate from the rest of the hotel. (But again this isnt a HUGE deal, a few lights and a key swipe for the door would do)

-Our apartment kitchen are was never cleaned. The couch and other areas were dirty on arrival also. Not incredibly so but noticably so. Both times the cleanign staff didnt get to our apartment till 3 o clcok which is a bit much.

-The meal was fantstic except for the dessert (Chocolate fondant for both) which was simply an incredibly dissapointing dry chocolate muffin type object with nothing in the midddle. Just call it a muffin or make a proper dessert!

I would reccomend this hotel but just not the apartments at the moment. The staff are spectacular and with a few small additions.

Room Tip: Ensure that youdont get the apartments unless you REALLY feel the need to have a second room instead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Chris P,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to review Castle Dargan Resort and are glad you got to experience our amazing iconic views. Our friendly and courteous staff are very happy with your kind words and also our highly professional Icon Spa team thank you for your lovely comments. Our award winning Chef Mark Wiggs is very pleased you enjoyed his food though sorry about your desert. We do apologise for the inappropriate behaviour of one of our staff and please be assured this issue has been rectified. Thank you for your suggestions with regards to lighting up the apartment area, we are looking into all avenues of making it brighter and more secure. Our housekeeping team is very sorry of the issues you highlighted and I can firmly say these issues have also been resolved. Thank you again Chris P for spending the time to bring us your concerns. We take our guests feedback very seriously as it is most important to our industry.

Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous setting for this hotel and so quiet and tranquil! I don't play golf but my husband loved the course and it certainly provided a gorgeous view for dinner. Lovely food and great staff. Overall a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummyof3bigboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mummyof3bigboys,
Good morning from Castle Dargan Resort, thank you so much for your joyous comments. We our delighted by your kind words regarding our Darren Clarke designed golf course, our iconic views and our award winning food. Please be assured we will be letting all the team know of your experiences of Castle Dargan Resort. We look forward in welcoming you back to Castle Dargan Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I remember when mum booked my dads graduation dinner back in November, the food wasnt great and we never returned to having dinner again. We had been to a wedding there as well before the grad but I think second chance is enough for having dinner food. The lunch food is riduculously expensive also. Anyways the two positives I like when I go to Castle Dargan is that the Spa is a lot cheaper then any other spa in Sligo town and that the beverages are exquisite though expensive enough as well! Also the scenery is gorgeous!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ggbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Ggbabe,
We very much appreciative your nice comments regarding your time with us at Castle Dargan Resort. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed our scenic views in one of our heavebly Icon Spa.Rest assured your kind words will be passed onto all our team. Our award winning chef Mark Wiggs does apologise for you not enjoying our food and asks to contact him directly at 071 9118080 as he would be interested in talking further with you. I am sorry to read that you do find our prices expensive,e are a 4star Resort and I assure you that our prices our competitive with other 4star Reosrts. Thank you for your invaluable feedback and we do hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Castle Dargan Resort in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamullin, Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel itself is lovely. Set in beautiful surrounds. The staff are very welcoming, and were helpful throughout our stay. My major reason for going was to play on the 'Darren Clark - Championship course'. It is a lovely course, but sadly my round was ruined by a stupid groundsman, charging up and down the fairway, whilst taking my tee shot, and second and then decided it would be a good idea to mow the green, whilst I was on my approach. Not happy with that at all. Although the staff have contacted me since to tell me they have addressed the complaint I've had. As much as that is appreciated, it has left a bad taste in my mouth. Won't be recommending Castle Dargan to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Keith B,
We are very pleased to read you enjoyed our Resort set upon 170 acres of beautiful woodland. Our professional and friendly team our very happy with your kind comments. Our Golf Pro Xavier Medas is delighted that you feel our Darren Clarke designed course is lovely but as explained in earlier e-mails this incident though unfortunate as it was is an isolated one. We did Keith B offer you to come back for a complimentary round of golf and we are disappointed you have chosen not to revisit us again.
We understand how valuable our customer feedback is and I thank you again for your kind words about our 4star Resort

Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Visited here in July for a wedding. Beautiful setting, room was lovely and couldn't fault the food. My main gripe was the rude and unprofessional waitress at our table (Ashling). Every other table had been served wine before the food arrived and only 3 people at our table got served some wine. When we asked Ashling if we could have wine she replied that she would serve it after the starters arrived ... seriously??? after a few glances over from a Mgr who obviously noted dry glasses, she decided to make her way over with the wine. I requested some red which was poured (badly) ... she didn't have a clue how to pour and instead of turning the bottle,we were all treated to drips and splashes of red wine as she went from one glass to another - not ideal when you are wearing a light dress for the evening!!! When the food was being served we just found her rude and unhelpful. the starters had 2 options being served every second person but most people were choosing the opposite to what was being left down so each time Ashling would just snatch the food back with a huff and walk off ... a total inconvenience to her!! Every other waiter/waitress that came to the table had much better hospitality and service skills. they cleared about 1/2 of the table asking if everything was o.k or if we would like more food etc. Not once did Ashling ask this. It was such a shame that one persons attitude let the whole service down.
Other than the poor serviced by one waitress I couldn't find fault with place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank efioa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear efioa,
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review Castle Dargan Resort on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read you enjoyed our beautiful & spacious Ormbsy Room and our award winning chef Mark Wiggs will be pleased you enjoyed his food. Though we are disappointed you didn’t alert our Food & Beverage Manager on the day as we could have reviewed the situation at that time. We do believe instilling professionalism and politeness within all our team members and are surprised of your comments regarding one of our team. You can contact me directly on (0)71 9118080 as I would appreciate the opportunity to talk with you regarding this matter as I do not think this is the correct forum to criticize individual team member’s.
Once again, efioa, any issues regarding grievances you may have had should have been brought to the manager on duty, I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Sincerely,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
8.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing