We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”
Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We arrived at this hotel on Sunday 21st October, which was a lovely sunny autumn day, and Sligo was looking absolutely beautiful. The approach to the hotel was very pleasant, and we went straight to reception to check in. We were on a 'Grab One' deal, and when we presented our voucher to the receptionist on duty, we were curtly and dismissively told that what we had handed in was not in fact the correct documentation. To say she was less than pleasant would be an understatement! I told her that I had my laptop with me and I could find the voucher and forward it to her, (which I did within ten minutes of arriving at our room). She accepted this and we were assigned our room - a room in Castle Dargan House, for which we paid a supplement - and we were given vouchers for a treatment each in the spa, which were part of the deal we had bought.

We walked over to Castle Dargan House, which is separate to the main hotel, and found our way to the 'Sally Gardens' suite, which we found to be very pleasant. We left in our bags and then went over to the main hotel and had a drink in the bar. The bar staff were more than pleasant - very encouraging after our experience with the receptionist. Bearing this in mind, we looked at the bar menu and later on that evening, that's where we had dinner. Dinner was really good and great value. Again, very pleasant staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.

We had a very comfortable night in the Sally Gardens suite. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and the pillows were just perfect. Everything was very clean and well presented and the view from the bay window was beautiful. The bathroom was huge and had an old style roll top bath tub and a large shower.

Breakfast the following morning was buffet style - nothing out of the ordinary, but good and plenty of everything.

We checked out on Monday feeling very refreshed after our night away. We didn't go to the spa for our treatment, deciding to head out to Strandhill instead for a walk in the sun. All in all it was a very pleasant stay in Castle Dargan and I can honestly say it's somewhere we would return to - but I would request to stay in the old house rather than in the main hotel.

As for the receptionist who was rather rude on check in.......by the time we were leaving we were getting beaming smiles from her!!! Happy Days :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna27-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Anna27_2,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Castle Dargan. I am so glad that you had such a good time with us. Thank you in particularly for your kind comments regarding our staff, facilities & food. I will ensure that they are passed on to the relevant people. I look forward welcoming you back to Castle Dargan Resort in the near future

Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    310
    197
    104
    67
See reviews for
202
672
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

For my aunties wedding she had the venue here and i have to say it was brilliant, the rooms were big very clean, nice food and friendly staff. i would defvinitely reccomend this hotel for occasion venues and weekend breaks. it would be suitable for peole the ages 12 and up.

Room Tip: Chose a room closest to the floor because sometimes there be's a queue for the elavator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Tara M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Castle Dargan Resort and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding our hotel, rooms and staff. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Resort in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My sister and I booked a Spa Bliss package in August. We have stayed in Castle Dargan before and were made feel welcome. There was a little hiccup this time with regard to securing our spa appointments however Damien was extremely helpful and ensured we were able to get suitable times on the morning before our departure. The staff in the bar and dining room were also very friendly and helpful. Our spa treatments were fantastically relaxing and did all 'they said on the box'! I would definitely recommend Castle Dargan for a truly warm Cead Mile Failte.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronach63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
A Bronach63, A Chara,(Dear Bronach63)

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Castle Dargan Resort and I am so glad that you had such a good time with us. Thank you in particularly for your kind comments regarding our Icon Spa & staff. I will ensure that they are passed on to the relevant people. I look forward welcoming you back to Castle Dargan Resort in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Myself and my husband had a one night stay on 14th october 2012, we chose the romantic night getaway including dinner & bubbly, included in this was breakfast, turndown service, rose petals on your bed and complimenary breakfast delivered to your room, wonderful i thought!!!! When booking this deal by phone directly with a member of castle dargan staff, i asked if we could stay in the walled garden apartments as we had already stayed in the hotel and castle dargan house. This was not a problem!!! On arrival to our apartment i found there to be no bubbly ( prosecco sparkling wine £7 a bottle, on sale in the castle dargan bar for €35) no petals on the bed, a dead spider and cobwebs on the hallway window, dirt marks on the leather sofa, drink stains on the kitchen counter, the windows in the sitting room needed a good clean, the curtains were missing hooks and were just hanging off the rail, the toilet seat wasn't clean and last but not least we discovered that we couldn'y have our breakfast sent to us in our room because that service is not included if your staying in the walled apatments!!!!! Luckily i always bring antibacterial wipes with me so i could clean the toilet myself!!!! The only thing that stopped me from leaving was the fact that Matt, the waiter was such a nice person and provided such a great service and the fact that the food was good!!! I was extremely dissapointed with the appartment and the standard of hygiene was very poor, i will not be returning to castle dargan again!!! Beware of suite 305 in the walled garden!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisao3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Lisao3_11,
Thank you for taking the time to review Castle Dargan Resort on Tripadvisor.

I am really happy to read your positive comments regarding our staff & food here at Castle Dargan, I will be passing on your comments to the relative staff.
At the same time I am so disappointed for the shortcomings you and your husband experienced with the items you highlighted regarding your stay, please accept my sincere apologies. Be assured that I have addressed this matter with the relevant personnel, as this is totally unacceptable and is no way the norm at Castle Dargan and I do hope you will return to the hotel in the future, as we would welcome an opportunity to restore your faith in us.
At this stage, I’d hope that you would contact me directly on kenneth@castledargan.com so I can have the opportunity to discuss your experience further with you.
Once again, Lisao3_11, thank you for your review and feedback on your recent stay at the Castle Dargan Resort and I look forward to speaking to you soon.

Sincerely,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We eat out in castle dargan on Friday evening where we tried the "Steak out" deal (check it out on their website for the deal)

I had the Surf N' Turf and my husband had the Fillet Steak, it was beautiful, some of the best steaks we've had anywhere we've eaten. They were cooked beautifully and were lovely and tender. (And the accompanying vino was equally as lovely)

We'll be going back on Friday's more often!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamhain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Pamhain,
Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your Friday night evening and our beautiful steaks. I thank you for your kind comments regarding our high standards and I will be passing on your remarks to all concerned. I look forward welcoming you back to Castle Dargan Resort in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Roscommon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently had our wedding at Castle Dargan and were delighted with the wonderful service we received.
We had special requirements in relation to the set up of the room prior to the day, after discussing this with the wedding co-ordinator Kim, we found her to be very co-operative, supportive and she helped to put us at ease with any concerns or worries that we would have had in the run up to our big day. If we had any queries or questions, she always replied to our calls or emails quickly and efficiently.

On the day itself, the food was delicious and although we were slightly worried that they wouldn't be able replicate the menu tasting to such a large number of guests, we found that everybody was commenting on how excellent the food was.

We found all of the staff to be helpful and pleasant, we would especially like to mention the duty manager Eimear, who on the day continually asked us if there was anything she could do for us.

Overall we were delighted with how our wedding day ran and would have no hesitation in recommending Castle Dargan as a wedding venue and we could not find fault with anything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Clare H,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Castle Dargan Resort and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding your special day with us and all our staff. I will be sharing your kind comments with all staff involved. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed with my girlfriend last year and used a groupon voucher to pay for one night and I paid for the second night seperately. Unfortunately Castle Dargan were clever in their wording and marketing of this deal to make it sound like a really good offer and a rel money saver but really it would have been cheaper to book the room and spa treatment on its own without the voucher. As a result this really pissed me off as the treatment was only for one person. If I'd have known this I would have booked a proper spa treatment for both of us instead of not having enough money to do so when I got there. Shame because the hotel is lovely, the staff are friendly and it's a good relaxing treat but because of this experience I've recommended a couple of people to stay away from the place.

Room Tip: Good place to stay although watch out for their cheeky 'special offers', there's nothing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RobbieF909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleDargan, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Jamie Co,

Thank you for your review following on from your stay at Castle Dargan Resort. I am delighted that you found the Hotel to be a relaxing place to stay and I will pass your kind comments onto our staff.
In relation to the Groupon deal, as of October 2011 all customers have been able to choose, both Spa treatments in the Icon Spa or both golf on our Darren Clarke designed golf course and if customers would like to split 1 treatment & 1 golf that is totally up to them. I do sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and frustration you and your girlfriend were caused and hope you will take this opportunity to revisit us, I will be more than happy to personally look after your booking. (kenneth@castledargan.com)
Kind Regards,
Kenneth Appleby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
8.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing