We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Derry, Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best hotel I have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We sent my mum to this hotel for her 50th birthday and me and my husband went along with her and my dad. we stayed for 3 nights there deals were great which we got through the hotel. my mum dad and husband loved the golf they played the 3 days they stayed. the staff were amazing especially Linda who worked in the Middleton bar she made our stay amazing she was so nice to speak to and she was so much fun. I would be back for it was a great stay and fantastic food and the beds were amazing also. cant wait to get back please note that castle dargan does not have a fitness suite or swimming pool.

Room Tip: we stay in Castle Dargan House it was massive loved it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    308
    196
    102
    66
See reviews for
199
664
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Fantastic stay at Castle Dargan celebrating my 40th.... Got a great deal on Booking.com and will definately be back!
Great accommodation, fantastic food, nice Spa and if you play golf you'd be in your element!
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

stayed for two nights in may. sevice excellent/food excellent/spa excellent, what more can i say.
i wish i knew how to play golf because the golf course looked fantastic.the room i had a nice view of the golf course and grounds, and for once i did not get lost finding the hotel. i would recommend this hotel for value and quality, and next time in sligo i will stay here for sure.

Room Tip: all rooms looked nice to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

A gorgeous property- the grounds were exquisite, the rooms were spacious, the service was outstanding-especially Brid. The golf course was in excellent shape, a terrific challenge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagsB725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This was a last minute booking for the Sligo Races at the start of May. We only stayed one night but will be returning again in July and hopefully later in the year. The staff were excellent in all departments, we had an excellent meal on the Sunday night it was heavenly, breakfast was one of the best we have had in a hotel in a long time. I had also booked into the spa for treatments and was pampered from the minute I arrived until I left, with the therapists working in the Spa they are a credit to Castle Dargan and I can't wait to return for more pampering and excellent food. Our room was spotless and the scenery around the hotel beautiful.

Room Tip: If travelling as a group or family request the outsoor garden suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
down
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

this was our 2nd trip to castle dargan. this time we stayed in castle dargan house in the clock tower suite. room was lovely except for cobwebs above bath! water was scalding hot-literally. food was as nice as we remembered but we were slightly disappointed with set meal-on menu it said steak came with chips so we didnt order them bit steak came with mash and mine was overcooked, vegatables also very overcooked. but panacotta was lovely. also meal took two hours and they werent that busy. but we will be back

Room Tip: dont use group on deal go to castle dargan website and book a suite - only 10 euro more and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fbauer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
627 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights bed & breakfast with one evening meal included in the midweek package price, which we thought was good value.

The hotel is very tastefully designed and is set in beautiful grounds surrounded by a golf course. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The clientele were mostly the mature set, which we are.

The breakfast room was very pleasant with good views and a very plentiful and appetising breakfast. The evening meal was very average and lacking in quality and taste. The bar also has lovely views over the golf course and great quality beers.

We would certainly look forward to paying a return visit here and playing the golf course.

Room Tip: Room 211 has a lovely view which I'm sure most rooms have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahOB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
8.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
5.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing