We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wedding Weekend!”
Review of Castle Dargan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Dargan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Mayo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wedding Weekend!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We celebrated our Wedding at Castle Dargan recently, and had a fantastic experience. From the beginning our experience was very positive, Rosaleen the Wedding Coordinator, couldn't have done anymore in the lead up to the day, nothing was too much trouble and she offered plenty of encouragement in relation to all of our ideas, was always available when needed either on the phone or when we called and was present most of the weekend making sure everything was going to plan. The staff at the hotel were incredible, very accommodating and extremly efficient throughout the weekend. The food was excellent, both for our Wedding Meal and the night after, and a lot of our guests are still complimenting it. We stayed two nights over a weekend and had dinner, music etc the second night, and although the hotel had another wedding on the second night, there were still plenty of staff dedicated to our party.
I dont like to single staff out usually but feel a few deserve recognition....Breege who put huge effort into our flowers, really appreciated it, Garret for his help on the weekend, Damien and Amanda on reception for there patience in organising all of the accommodation etc, and the waiting staff who were all excellent, (although Sarah deserves a mention here she was seriously efficient and a lovely girl!))... Would highly recommend this Hotel for a Wedding Reception, our guests are still talking about the fabulous weekend they had, am really looking forward to returning for our anniversary in a years time!!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mohito32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    313
    198
    104
    69
See reviews for
206
679
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Had a double room booked for a (wedding) weekend stay, we were directed to the apartments accross the carpark from the hotel, as soon as we opened the door the smell hit us. After complaning to receiption the sent down a girl with a can of air freshener to sort out what was a problem with the drains, the place was dirty and needed a painting. During our stay we meet others with simular problems. The wedding was good, food was good, I suppose what annoyed us most was when we told the guy on checkout about his room problem he looked at us as if we were from Mars. Over all not recomended, never again.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the appartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Helpful and friendly staff. Room itself could not be faulted, large and clean and a good nights sleep after a long drive followed by a great irish breakfast. The hotel itself was not very busy, probably explained by it being a mid week stopover in mid November.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thumper96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Got a group on offer for a nights stay with spa treatment or golf, with access to spa - Jacuzzi etc
room was not clean found slugs on floor and bathroom was dirty. Bed was a fold down bed and was squeaky and uncomfortable. On going to the spa to use the Jacuzzi we were told it was broke so couldn't use it! for £99 it was not wort it! sligo is a love town and we seen an offer at a hotel in the centre of town for €60 per night and we were annoyed that we hadn't booked somewhere like there as it was a €15-20 taxis drive in and out to castle dargen. Would never Visit again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fee1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molloy1234, Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Valued Previous Guest,

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, your comments are valued. I want to assure you what you experienced on your pervious stay is not a true reflection on our fine 170 acre Estate. But we do apologize we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

I have passed on your comments to our Accommodation Manager regarding the lack of cleanliness in your bedroom and the uncomfortable squeaky bed she has assured me that she will investigate further with her team. Regarding the Spa, I do apologize the Jacuzzi was not operational while you stayed with us but you may be happy to know it is working again.

I am glad you liked Sligo and the Town as much as we do. Yes a taxi costs between €15 an €20 into Sligo, we are located about 10km from the town. But as you know we have great facilities in the hotel from a 18 hole golf course, many dining options including a great Earl Bird Menu and wonderful Treatments in our Icon Spa.

I am saddened you have expressed you will not visit us again I extend a warm welcome to you never the less with an assurance that the staff and I would do our utmost to assure you have a more pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalvåg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We (3 adults) stayed 4 nights in the one of the walled garden suites, 2 bedrooms and lots of space for lounging and watching the wildlife and the pupils at the golf academy. Friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed great irish breakfasts and ate in the bar in the evenings. Availed of the complimentary hour in the hydro and relaxation zone in the Spa, sauna was out of order, chill out zone was rather noisey,so I don't think I would have paid for it . We are not golfers so the hotel was chosen for its location which is stunning. I am sure we are not alone in that and it was a pity that there aren't signed walks / pathways that none golfers can use safely. The suites have self closing doors which have a tendency to slam shut and this combined with laminate floors make the suites quite noisey. There were several weddings during our stay and we were woken two early mornings (4am ish) by other guests going to and from other suites - I recommend you take earplugs!

Room Tip: The ground floor garden suites have no view at all, so to avoid disappointment and to reduce the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molloy1234, Front Office Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience of your stay in Castle Dargan Hotel.

I will pass on your compliments to all the staff. The chef is delighted you enjoyed his culinary delights.

In relation to the Spa we apologize that the Sauna was not working while you stayed with us but it is back in action now. I am glad you enjoyed the scenic views of the surrounding countryside from the hotel. Our Golf Shop Staff are always willing to point guests in the safest direction for a walk around the golf course away from stray golf balls.

The doors in the Walled Garden Suites do close quiet sharply, I have been told this is a fire safety regulation but we can look at changing it from slamming shut, thank you for bringing it to our attention. Sorry to hear you were awoken by stragglers’ from the weddings we had in the hotel but we hope you had time for celebrations for the birthday person too.

We do hope overall your stay was an enjoyable one and you will choose Castle Dargan Hotel on a return visit to Sligo, for you will be very welcome back.

Warmest Regards

Damien Molloy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Just back from a three night stay in Castle Dargan with my wife. Room was clean spacious and the bed was perfect for us both. Friendly and welcoming staff. We ate in the bar on two occassions and could not fault the food or the service. We had dinner in the restaurant once with no complaints.
Must compliment the Golf Pro for his assistance in organising a round of golf for myself. A large group teed off on the first and he send he out to the 11th to commence my round. I enjoyed the course even though the rain of the previous 3-4 days meant the course was soggy in places.
Overall a enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgsgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molloy1234, Manager at Castle Dargan, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the taking the time to write a review about your experience of your stay in Castle Dargan Hotel.

We are extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your compliments to the bar staff, restaurant staff, accommodation staff, the chef and the golf pro.

I hope you ended with a good score on our golf course and glad to hear even with the soggy conditions it didn’t take away from the enjoyment of the course.

We hope you will make a return visit to Castle Dargan Hotel soon, for you will be truly welcomed back.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

we stayed in the apartment complex that belongs to the hotel but is joined to the hotel,they are to the side of the hotel.its a 1 bed apart with a kitchen come sitting area bedroom and a good sized bathroom,which was all very clean, we stayed here for a wedding and the scenery is lovly looking out on to the golf course.the staff were lovely and cudnt be more helpful,the food was lovely,good selection of food at breakfast time to(beans,white and black pudding,sausages,potato bread,rasher,scrambled eggs and tomatoes).I also had a peak at the rooms in the hotel as 1 of my freinds was staying in 1, these also were very spacious and clean but for the money we paid for the apart it the apart was much beter value if you were staying there just because it wasnt to expensive and the space.

Room Tip: apartments are very good value if you get them at a good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infostev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballygawley
5.4 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
1,596 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sligo Park Hotel
Sligo Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Sligo
1,051 reviews
5.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Sligo
Clayton Hotel Sligo
#7 of 8 in Sligo
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Sligo
5.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sligo
392 reviews
8.0 mi away
Strandhill Lodge and Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Dargan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Dargan

Property: Castle Dargan
Address: Ballygawley, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Ballygawley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballygawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Dargan 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Dargan Hotel offers unsurpassed accommodation facilities ranging from stunning en-suite guest rooms and Wall Garden Suites to the magnificent Castle Dargan House Premier Suites all of which present an old world charm with modern day comforts. Our signature beds; The Vogue & Elegance mattresses with feather down duvets & pillows are featured in every bedroom, ensuring a peaceful night's slumber. We also include: direct-dial phones, complementary broadband access, digital TV, tea/coffee making facilities, smoking & non smoking wings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Castle Dargan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Dargan Golf Hotel And Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Hotel Wellness Centre
Castle Dargan Ballygawley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing