We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“As lovely as last year, a wonderful property...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ta' Trejni

A Lovely Garden with private pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Lovely Garden with private pool
Private pool deck with sun loungers and umbrellas Extensive kitchen and living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
A Lovely Garden with private pool
Private pool deck with sun loungers and umbrellas
Extensive kitchen and living area
Time for a dinner
Comfortable and airy living area
Comfortable and airy living area
Comfortable and airy living area
Relax in style
Catch some news
Pool deck views
Dining table
Kitchen bar views
Kitchen to living area views
Fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Kitchen
Relax on comfortable sofa
Truly Maltese Farmhouse
Truly Maltese Farmhouse
Decorated with style
Relax and get some tan!
Relax and get some tan!
Extensive private garden
Master Bedroom with En-suite
Master Bedroom with En-suite
En-suite to Master Bedroom
Bedroom with 2 single beds
Bedroom with 2 single beds
Second bedroom with 2 single beds
Separate bathroom with shower lead over bathtub
Separate bathroom with shower lead over bathtub
Spiral staircase leading to the upper level
Landing area on the first floor
Double Bedroom with large shower cubicle en-suite facility
Superb design
Large shower cubicle en-suite to double bedroom
Bedroom with single bed
Stunning views from the roof terrace
Stunning views from the roof terrace
Pool deck with sun loungers
Views from the garden
Pool deck with sun loungers
Pool deck/garden with sun loungers
Peace and tranquility
Sun loungers provided
Lanscaped garden
Lanscaped garden
Table and chairs next to the pool deck
BBQ available
Amazing country views from living area
Kitchen views to living area
Kitchen views to living area
Pool deck area
Pool deck area
Pool deck area
Peace and tranquility
Pool deck
Pool deck
Views from the pool
Views from the pool
Peace and tranquility
Relax by the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Dingli, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
maryB004
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“As lovely as last year, a wonderful property...”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We returned to Ta Trejni again this year, after having such a lovely holiday last year. As we stated in our review last year, it is so nice to have found such a lovely property to stay in, after visiting Malta for many years and not finding the ideal place. The property is in a peaceful location away from any other properties, it is only a minutes walk to the beautiful Dingli coastline, the exterior of the property is wonderful, the interior is spacious and modern, with excellent airconditioning, the garden is very pretty....etc..! Our requirements for
quality and high standards on holiday and in most aspects, has made us realise that sometimes you need to pay a little more, but with regards to Ta Trejni if you appreciate private peaceful, modern accommodation in an away from it all location, with a light airy modern interior, and a beautiful spacious exterior and pool, then you will be very pleased you booked this property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness.
Liked least: The wind on the first few days!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monmon_13
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

It was twice as expensive as it should be for what it was. Actual house is small & spartan = three small bedrooms off the lounge area. Consequently, unable to sleep if lounge occupied. Towels were small & tin and not adequate to dry oneself after a shower. Asked for better towels and got exactly the same quality, different colour. Asked for blankets and got very tired ones supplied. Sheets were of poor quality with no mattress protecter. One bedroom was locked to our consternation. The accommodation was booked for a couple and one guest but surely when one rents a property, one rents a whole place, not part of it. We felt our holiday was constantly interrupted by people delivering or removing guests bed linen and towels as various family members arrrived and departed. We discovered that the BBQ had to be cleaned before it was usable and also the air-conditioning units, one was unserviceable and the rest unusable due to flat battery in remote control units. The swimming area was lovely but we wish that the sand at the bottom pool had been removed before our arrival. A master key for the place would have helped. We had a different key for every door and shutter,(about 9 different keys in all). Fly screens were very had to adjust on windows and non existent on doors consequently mosquitoes were a real problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Poor value for money
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 2, 2013
Firstly I am sorry your experience was not to your satisfaction, however in light of the many reviews we have for the benefit of future guest I would like to address the following in connection to your stay;

You mention the house is small and spartan. I would like to draw future guest attention to the images of the property for observation, where one can clearly see that the property is not small or sparten. We never had any complaints or reviews that the property was small! (see images)

You mention you was unable to sleep if the lounge is occupied, as per our advert description and quote; 'Sleeping comes at ground floor level with 3 bedrooms', thus you were advised of the layout of the bedrooms and on the other hand, if the living area is occupied whilst you are trying to sleep is it not respectful that your other guest keep noise levels down and to note that for the main duration of your stay it was just a husband and wife!

In terms of the towels, we took this on board and actually purchased brand new for you, but to note we never had a complaint prior your stay or after your stay in connection to the towels!

One bedroom of the three available was locked, as you were given a special rate for a long stay and two people only for the main duration with three different guest coming to stay with you on specified dates as agreed in giving you a special rate, you mention and quote; 'The accommodation was booked for a couple and one guest but surely when one rents a property, one rents a whole place, not part of it' You advised us that you would have one guest for 3 nights and two other guest for five nights, you however did not stick with the agreed terms and had extra guest and for more nights and thus required more linen/towels.

You mention sand at the bottom of the pool, the closest beach is a 15 minute drive! The pool is cleaned regular, it is common that if you have a pool expect what blows around to enter the pool and settle on the bottom, no one ever complained about a dirty pool.

Issues arise at any accommodation the air conditioning in one of the bedrooms needed maintenance/fixing, of which was done within 24hrs from your notice of the issue.

We provide guest with two keys, one for the entrance gate and one for the entrance door, to take out with them. The property has other doors and windows, which are lockable of which keys stay in the property.

There is fly screens on the windows, there is no fly screen on the kitchen door, when exiting the kitchen to the pool deck simple close the door, which elevates any un-wanted guest.

In summary; you were given a special rate for two people for your long stay of which it was agreed you would be having guest on specific dates stay with you, you did not stick with the agreement, which was all agreed on email prior to your stay, consequently resulting in you having to pay more for your extra guest. When booking any accommodation the number of people is charged for against the rates specified and/or agreed, the end result being that you were perplexed about this, which in essence resulted in you submitting your review.

I can only advise future guest to read all the reviews submitted against this property and make their own mind up, as far as I am concerned this accommodation is without doubt one of our best Villa/Farmhouses, which is well maintained.

Please read all reviews submitted and see images of the actual property.

Paul Hay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kathkenyo...
Buxton, Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning house in scenic location”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We arrived at Ta Trejni at 4am after a late night flight from Manchester. As promised we were met at the property and shown around by a very helpful representative of the management company.
It struck us immediately that this home had been a labour of love in the design and decor. Spacious, airy, comfortable inside, with the most wonderful enormous windows giving way too panoramic views. The garden area is simply beautiful and has been landscaped with low foliage, so as not to obscure the views. The pool is also lovely to look at, even though we didn't use it.
We didn't really self cater in terms of cooking, but the house is very well fitted out if a family group with children were staying.
If you are looking for somewhere peaceful and quiet with all the comforts of home, then we wouldn't hesitate in recommending Ta Trejni. The acid test for us is always "would we come back?" and in this case the answer is a resounding "Yes"!
Thank you for the opportunity to stay in this magical place.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views and the peace
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2013
Firstly it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us at Ta' Trejni, secondly we are delighted you had a very pleasant stay and the Villa/Farmhouse passed your 'Acid Test!' as I understand you are very well travelled people. Ta Trejni certainly offer peace and tranquillity and is for sure unique and as you have noted the owners have certainly delivered a wonderful refurbishment in a super location. It is most satisfying on our part to have your feedback that on the whole you thoroughly enjoyed your stay :) Best Rgrds Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Reviewed February 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort
Liked least: coming home
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback it is greatly appreciated and assist those looking to book, I am very pleased you had a great time and our service and property delivered a very positive end result.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1Agnes57
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous converted farm-house in beautiful quiet surroundings”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Ta' Trejni is a very high standard accommodation in one of the quietest and most scenic locations on the island. Fabulous furniture, breathtaking scenery, especially the sunsets, and lovely clean very good-sized pool and garden. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard fittings and the surrounding area
Liked least: The bad lighting in the street just outside the property
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your experience, whilst staying at the Villa/Farmhouse, which is without doubt a unique location on the island to unwind without intrusion from neighbouring property and only 5 minute drive to Mdina (The Silent City) it is most welcoming to understand you had a great time, again thank you for your feedback Rgrds, Paul.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CathLarki...
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Villa!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Perfect villa with everything contained within to make it a perfect stay! Immaculately clean and comfortable! Pool, gardens and views simply stunning. Villa, light, airy and modern. Would definitely stay there again. Car essential.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Quietness! Very well equipped!
Liked least: The matress in the double room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2013
I am very happy your stay was a successful experience and that you enjoyed the Villa/Farmhouse so much, your feedback is appreciated Rgrds Paul..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewed September 16, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the pool area and the views from the property.
Liked least: A small thing, but fitted bedsheets may have made sleeping easier.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing