We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Blue Grotto (Il-Hnejja)
Book In Advance
More Info
$64.48*
and up
Hagar Qim Temple, Limestone Heritage, and Market
More Info
$29.85*
and up
Blue Grotto and Marsaxlokk Half Day Trip
More Info
$537.34*
and up
Malta Highlights in a Day
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Zurrieq
Certificate of Excellence
Iringa, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Everyone always talks about boat trips with this one, but we never go on one! We feel we don't need it even after all the times we have been here. We love it. Easy to get a bus to from Valletta and a great place for swimming and relaxing! Bring your goggles and see the fish when you swim! Beautiful clear blue water.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieAmelia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    942
    561
    225
    51
    42
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Due to the time of year we visited it was quite quiet which is a bonus as I imagine this place will be packed on a sunny day because it's so nice. 20 minute boat ride into the caves €7, bit choppy so beware, but the views are worth it. If you are visiting Malta you need to see this.

Helpful?
3 Thank jamking79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu, Tartumaa, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This is a "must"”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is really something you must see! Unfortunately, the possibility to have the trip depends on weather: if the wind is too strong, you cannot take a trip. But, it's just for your own safety! So, if you can, go on a boat trip. Grotto - it's a small cave inside a cliff. The water - it has so many different shades of blue. And, if the wind is too strong for having a boat trip - just take a seat on a bench, enjoy the view and the sun.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Siiri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“swimming”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

everything swimming .tanning just lazying about also some sight seeing it is a beautaful place just to relax

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank classybabe666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Blue Grotto and the surrounding area is every bit as beautiful as we imagined it would be, although the way the whole experience is managed is a little confronting. The boatmen who run the tours of the area are a little abrupt and 'rough around the edges' which detracts from the experience a little. There was some offensive language, which even I was able to understand. The tours are run in a very prompt and efficient manner, which is great for business and enable you to see all the key sites, but lack a certain something. Overall though, you can't deny the sheer beauty of the Grotto; the water is magical and not to be missed! The area seems to be a very popular swimming spot, although with a young child it was not the most practical.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank AussiesInMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Grotto (Il-Hnejja) also viewed

 
Marsaxlokk, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 

Been to Blue Grotto (Il-Hnejja)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing