We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chalet in Preci”
Review of Il Castoro

Il Castoro
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Preci
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed August 14, 2018

If you are in the area of ​​Preci that was brutally struck by the earthquake, go here. You do not expect this quality of food in a semi-hidden chalet. Basic, fairly priced, good service and immensely popular with local people. That says it all .

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,060)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2018

When I want something absolutely special I am going there. Delicious food and the earthquake is forgotten.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alelep85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

It's a while since I wrote up Il Castoro but this time can do so from a different angle. Some years ago my wife and I called in hungry and tired (after a 3 hour drive from Rome airport) and we really fancied a late supper. It was 23.00 and we wondered if they would serve us. They did, we were never made to feel rushed, and heavily persuaded to have a coffee and digestivo after dinner.

We had a similar situation last night after picking 2 friends up from Perugia airport. We knew we could get a great meal close to home even though it was nearly 23.00 (again). Of course we were made very welcome and never rushed even though by the time we finished the hard working staff were having their own supper.

Our friends thought it was the best pizza they have ever had. And of course digestivi were mandatory!

Great food and first class old-fashioned service. What is there not to like?

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016

If you like truffles you will find yourself in heaven!
Don't expect silver service in this rustic local restaurant but be prepared for a feast of excellent local rustic food at a very reasonable price. This place is very popular with the locals so booking is recommended (and necessary for weekends and all of the summer) friendly staff (only speak Italian but the menu is multi lingual) selling local Umbrian food.
This place specialises in the local truffles and wild boar for which the region is famous so you can have truffles on anything. highly recommended is their truffle tasting menu (30 Euro) wild boar cured meats, truffle past, two types of pasta with truffles, truffle omelette (fantastic), three types of cooked meat, and desert! sounds a lot, and it is so don't be in a hurry - just enjoy!

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank peterwLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2016 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to book a truffle hunt and delicious lunch hosted by the owner of this amazing restaurant. The food was unbelievable, the truffles were delicate and experience was unforgettable. Can't wait to do this again. Thank you for an unbelievable experience Stefano and Emma(his truffle dog)!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank fernandezf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Castoro also viewed

Preci, Province of Perugia
 
Visso, Province of Macerata
Cerreto di Spoleto, Province of Perugia
 
Norcia, Province of Perugia
Sellano, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Il Castoro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing