We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”
Review of Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Cross
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in the hotel as part of a long weekend break. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the sea-view room (ask for it!). Accommodation is spacious, comfortable and well-maintained (but please do learn how to use siliones :)). The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. The pool is awesome after a day of sightseeing or even for a morning dip. The food served in the bar and restaurant is good but not spectacular. The breakfast is very good though. We would certainly come back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Syslord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Marine Hotel.
I am delighted that you will return to our lovely Hotel on the Bay.

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    165
    68
    18
    32
See reviews for
143
196
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We booked into the Marine as a last minute decision to stay overnight on what was to be a day trip, the room was fine and a good size and very clean, we just had a meal from bar menu that evening which was ok, the hotel has a nice view and a lovely large bar area so you didn't feel as through you were sitting on top of each other, Breakfast was fine, just as you would expect and the usual buffet style.
We found it a little on the pricey side for what you got but no real complaints about anything in particular, would stay again if they had offers or a deal on, otherwise I think we would shop around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
It is great that you enjoyed your time with us at the Marine Hotel and hopefully we can welcome you again.

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our reception was almost as cold as the evening. Check in went smooth.
The hotel is nothing to rave about. It is neat, and the room we were in is large enough. It had a pleasant view to the ocean. The bathroom had no face cloths and the supply of towels was somewhat limited for my choice. The complimentary toiletries was also limited. Once checked in, we had to walk a long way to get to our room and had to get up an unexpected few stairs with our luggage in hand.
The gardens is well maintained and neat. It is about 20-30 minutes from the airport and we were able to get to it with the help of a GPS device. Parking is ample. The pub area is pleasant and the service in the pub is satisfactory.
It is within 5-8 minutes easy walk to the station. The train ride in to Dublin central was about 25 minutes.
Breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franzdorette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments on our Hotel.

I am happy that you found your accommodation to be suitable and I hope you enjoyed the view from your room, while you had a guestroom furthest away from Reception, the rooms are only 20 metres from Dublin Bay and afford amazing quiet rooms with a spectacular view.

I hope you may use us again,

Regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Have had lunch here a few times but also wonder why I am trying it again. Run a buffet style lunch which is just average. Place gets quite busy at weekends with a kind of chaos atmosphere. Food not great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bailyhowth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on our Hotel.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your lunch experience with us.

I will certainly keep in mind your comments and hopefully you may give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves in your eyes.

Sincerely,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel's proximity to the airport and Dublin city centre made the hotel a good choice for our first night in Ireland (especially after the all night flight from USA) and our last night when we wanted to be close to the airport. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff helpful. The food was great the first night, but not so great for our second stay. Friends staying here at the same time said they had lots of trouble with their WiFi. Overall, we thought the hotel was quite nice and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Marine Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time in the Hotel, and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having had three great stays here in the last year, and many over the years, I can highly recommend the Marine for a very well situated affordable, comfortable stay just 25 minutes from Dublin city centre (perfect if you've come in on Irish Ferries and will be heading around the M50, and also convenient for the airport). In addition, there's a bus stop right outside the hotel and the Dart Station is a short 10 minute walk so you can reach the City Cenre easily, then retreat to a slower pace in the suburbs. The pool is an added bonus if you have kids and is rarely busy. Guests are a mixture of families and business people.

We always stay in a family room, facing the front- they don't have interconnecting rooms, but the family rooms are very large and comfortable with good tea and coffee making faciities. The food has been great (we've had several meals in the Schooner Bar) and the service excellent (a special mention here for Maria at breakfast). The daily special fish has been particularly good. There's a nice bar and terrace overlooking the sea. Doesn't feel 3 star and can't be faulted at the price-we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildatlantic3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comprehensive review on the Hotel!
I really appreciate the time you took to tell others about your time with us.

I hope that we will welcome you again,

Kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed in the Marine hotel for my brothers wedding on Friday Sept 6th. We had an amazing day, we were lucky enough for the sun to shine all day so we got to take full advantage of the beautiful garden and setting over looking the beach.
The function room was really lovely. The food and service during the reception was great - special mention to a lovely waitress called Connie who looked after my table very well.

The bedrooms were spotless and very comfortable. A very tasty breakfast was served the following morning with plenty to choose from. All in all it was a wonderful day and stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash_mitch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

This is the 2nd review from a guest attending the Wedding in the Marine Hotel, thank you for offering your thoughts on the day itself.
We take such pride in our Wedding business; we love to welcome happy families into the Hotel for memorable occasions such as this.
Thank you for the positive words, particularly about Connie, she was delighted to read your comments.

Wishing you well and kind regards,

John Walsh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Cross
4.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,539 reviews
2.9 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
3.3 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,905 reviews
6.7 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,046 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marine Hotel

Property: Marine Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Sutton Cross 13, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Sutton Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Marine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marine Hotel's guests can browse complimentary newspapers in the lobby, go for a dip in the indoor pool, and relax in the sauna and steam room. Business guests can benefit from conference rooms, and those arriving by car will find complimentary parking onsite. Further practical amenities include a 24-hour front desk, a safe-deposit box and a dry cleaning service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marine Hotel Sutton Cross, County Dublin, Ireland
Hotel Marine Sutton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing