We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marine Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
White Sands Hotel(Portmarnock)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Annagh House(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveler rating
285
175
77
21
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
285
175
77
21
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdublin baysea viewswimming poolbridal suitesauna and steam roomthe general managershort driveleisure facilitiesdart traincity centrelovely hotelreception stafflarge roomhotel barwould highly recommend this hoteldublin airportsutton
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 595 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel's proximity to the airport and Dublin city centre made the hotel a good choice for our first night in Ireland (especially after the all night flight from USA) and our last night when we wanted to be close to the airport. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff helpful. The food was great the first night, but not so great for our second stay. Friends staying here at the same time said they had lots of trouble with their WiFi. Overall, we thought the hotel was quite nice and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Marine Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time in the Hotel, and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having had three great stays here in the last year, and many over the years, I can highly recommend the Marine for a very well situated affordable, comfortable stay just 25 minutes from Dublin city centre (perfect if you've come in on Irish Ferries and will be heading around the M50, and also convenient for the airport). In addition, there's a bus stop right outside the hotel and the Dart Station is a short 10 minute walk so you can reach the City Cenre easily, then retreat to a slower pace in the suburbs. The pool is an added bonus if you have kids and is rarely busy. Guests are a mixture of families and business people.

We always stay in a family room, facing the front- they don't have interconnecting rooms, but the family rooms are very large and comfortable with good tea and coffee making faciities. The food has been great (we've had several meals in the Schooner Bar) and the service excellent (a special mention here for Maria at breakfast). The daily special fish has been particularly good. There's a nice bar and terrace overlooking the sea. Doesn't feel 3 star and can't be faulted at the price-we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildatlantic3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the comprehensive review on the Hotel!
I really appreciate the time you took to tell others about your time with us.

I hope that we will welcome you again,

Kind regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed in the Marine hotel for my brothers wedding on Friday Sept 6th. We had an amazing day, we were lucky enough for the sun to shine all day so we got to take full advantage of the beautiful garden and setting over looking the beach.
The function room was really lovely. The food and service during the reception was great - special mention to a lovely waitress called Connie who looked after my table very well.

The bedrooms were spotless and very comfortable. A very tasty breakfast was served the following morning with plenty to choose from. All in all it was a wonderful day and stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ash_mitch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

This is the 2nd review from a guest attending the Wedding in the Marine Hotel, thank you for offering your thoughts on the day itself.
We take such pride in our Wedding business; we love to welcome happy families into the Hotel for memorable occasions such as this.
Thank you for the positive words, particularly about Connie, she was delighted to read your comments.

Wishing you well and kind regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Large clean double room overlooking the sea. Room 140. Tea/coffee, bathtub/shower, Excellent wifi, comfortable double bed, excellent pub for dinner and separate restaurant for a very good hot/cold breakfast included. No in room safe and no beach access from the hotel. Very smooth check-in and out and very good wait staff in the dining areas. Not much within walking distance however, the train and bus services are right close by.

Room Tip: This is an excellent hotel to stay at if you are flying in or out of DUB as it is only 9km from the airport and it has excellent transport services to Dublin.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timberbank26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
It is great that you experienced the best we have to offer here at the Marine Hotel, it was a pleasure to host you.

Glad to hear the complimentary wifi is strong, we have just upgraded our connection.

See you soon at the Marine Hotel,

Kindest regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Marine Hotel, Sutton for just one night (a Friday).

Arrival was by DART (local train / metro) which is around a ten minute walk from the hotel.

Check-in went smoothly by a pleasant receptionist.

We were allocated two rooms on the 1st Floor. They were huge and one quite magnificent. Each room had a bed, sofa along with a table a chairs.

The rooms were bright, modern and airy.

Breakfast was served from 7.30am to 10.00am (on a Saturday). When we got there at 8am there were just two tables occupied. However, we waited and we waited and we waited to be seated for a long time. A cleaner was busy close by and the receptionist could see us waiting from reception but neither seemed to be able (or want to) summon a member of restaurant staff to seat us. This is my only complaint about the stay.

Breakfast was self service cold fayre - muffins, pastries, cereals, juice with the waiter/waitress taking your order for hot food served to your table.

The Marine Hotel has a fantastic location overlooking a bay (the grounds go to the shore but there's no access to the water).

The staff were always more the helpful.

Our stay at the Marine hotel was a perfect end to our holiday in Ireland and we wished we could have stayed there longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnRWalsh, Manager at Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for putting a review on tripadvisor, we are always delighted to receive warm reviews. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, my apologies that you had to wait to be seated for breakfast, I sincerely hope you enjoyed our cook to order Breakfast once seated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Marine Hotel again soon,.

Kind regards,

John Walsh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews