We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect home from home house”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Beattock, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
skyebird...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect home from home house”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Lovely big house which was great for us...6 adults and three kids and two dogs! very well equipped and spacious...fantastic welcome pack....never seen one like it before! Even had sweets for kids and treats for the dogs..Tom and chris were there to meet us to show us around and let us in a bit earlier which was much appreciated. The Stables pub and restaurant was within walking distance and shops in Moffat if needed. We visited the waterfalls at gray mares tail which were worth seeing ( approx. 14 miles away) will definitely be recommending this house to friends. .Perfect location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul G
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mill house great place to stay and lovely welcoming.”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were a party of 9, 4 Adults and 5 children oh and 1 dog. Thomas and Chris were very accommodating allowing 1 extra as it was mainly children so put extra bed in one of the rooms. As with other reviews the welcoming pack was excellent, even put something in for the dog and lots of sweets for the kids. Mill house is very spacious with a super kitchen as we ate most of our meals there, everything we needed was at hand. The area is beautiful and we were lucky with the weather no brollies or wellies needed. The stables pub in Beattock only a short walk away very friendly. Moffat town is only 2 miles and lovely place to visit, you can walk it takes about 30 to 40 mins steady stroll with children. Lovely play area and park in Moffat and lots of walks. There is a Small Co op in Moffat and a lovely sweet shop also has the narrowest hotel in the world. We had a Brilliant time at Mill house and the only slight downside was it is a little tricky getting down to the river and the en suite shower room is a little small but adequate. Would definitely stay here again thanks Thomas and Chris had a fab time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2016
HI Thanks for leaving the house as you found it , you're most welcome back anytime, and we will look at more steps down to the river, as the bottom two got washed away in the heavy floods. best regards, Chris & thomas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenniferd...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Rental”
Reviewed May 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented mill cottage for my dads 60th for a quiet family getaway. The cottage is beautiful and had absolutely everything we needed. Very clean and tidy! Excellent welcome pack and a extra special little gift from the owner Chris who was excellent - even catering for our dogs and reacting so quickly when we explained that one of our dogs had recently passed away and removing a dog bed. Would highly recommend this cottage for staying!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Thank you for your review . Your were Lovely Guests , most welcome back anytime. Kind regards, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
18smudge
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home from home.”
Reviewed April 9, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A lovely cottage for a family get together. The best welcome pack we have ever seen in 20 years of cottage rentals. Owners were on hand to show us round on arrival. A great area for walking, mountain biking but a car is required to get you out and about. I was slightly concerned about the proximity of the cottage to the motorway but I was surprised how little if any road noise there was. Overall a clean,comfortable, well equipped cottage that I would recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2016
Thank you for your review. I hope you stay again , if coming to the area. Kind regards, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric N
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like home !”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very welcoming and quiet even though just off the motorway.
Plenty of room for everyone.
Secluded
Quiet roads so I wish I had brought a horse with me !.
Owners very helpfull.
Shopping 5 minutes away in Moffat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: plenty of room
Liked least: can't think of anything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing