We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable stay in in one of the hidden secret...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of WildWood Lodge

There is always a warm welcome inside - even when its cold on the outside!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
There is always a warm welcome inside - even when its cold on the outside!
Welcome to WildWood! Between front door and kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
27 reviews
There is always a warm welcome inside - even when its cold on the outside!
Welcome to WildWood!
Between front door and kitchen.
Dining table for 6.
Sit down and relax.
Double bedroom.
Linen and towels are provided at WildWood.
Twin room has an additional TV and DVD player
WildWood Lodge has a large tub as well as a shower.
Fully equipped kitchen with good storage space and work surfaces.
Books and compact discs and a cupboard well stocked with visitor attraction leaflets.
Breakfast or a picnic or a bbq in the garden?
Your key is here on arrival
Pleasant surroundings.
Moffat Manor is the perfect place to unwind.
The beautiful close by spa town of Moffat has an abundance of restaurants, pubs and coffee bars.
Enjoy the outdoor experience - this glen is just a few miles away.
Looking down from the Grey Mare's Tail a National Trust gem on our doorstep.
Meggert Water offers a lovely setting for walking, cycling or a leisurely drive.
Tweedsmiur is just a short drive away from WildWood.
Drumlanrig Castle and its gardens are always a good day out.
We know that you will enjoy your stay at WildWood.
Another double bedroom.
WildWood Lodge has the benefit of 2 double bedrooms.
Alfred's bistro and bar on site.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Beattock, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rene6996
Olney, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay in in one of the hidden secret locations in Scotland”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Very comfortable, quiet, wonderful lake (loch) for a daily walk with our dogs. Everything is provided in the lodge and the location , with easy access to everything happening in the South - west of Scotland on your doorstep. The owner has a Comprehensive set of information brochures, so you can plan all your travel and visits and hiking in the comfort of the lodge.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna S
Minster on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect break- highly recommended!”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Me and my family had a wonderful time at wildwood lodge. It's perfectly situated close by to the lovely town of Moffat and 20 minutes from Dumfries.

Wildwood lodge is spacious, cosy and well equipped...perfect for a week away with a partner or family. We enjoyed visiting Drumlanrig Castle, Sweetheart Abbey, grey tails waterfall...and many other historic sites. Wildwood lodge is a perfect place to stay and relax....and highly recommended. We can't wait to return....and have even booked to stay at the lodge next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alibro0
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All you need....”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Came back from the lodge last weekend. Stayed with my partner and 3 teenagers and a small pug 'Otto'. Was just as reviews say, homely, warm and clean. Yes it's not 5 star, a little worn around the edges, but for under £400 for a week in the school holidays for 5 it was fine and we have no complaints. The lodge had everything we needed. Had no trouble with the shower which was a little 'quirky'! We had a great week, it was central to many activities, walking (Grey Mares Tail) was a fav, we had an 'activity' day on loch Ken at the galloway activity centre (archery, kayaking and outdoor laser quest), tried fly fishing in Moffat and generally relaxed. The pub on site we found okay, didn't eat there or stay late, just had a pint or 2 late afternoons. Loved Moffat and ate there often. Our fav was the butchers in Moffat - very friendly and meat was amazing! We found people on the site to be very friendly and helpful. I would say the washing machines and dryer on site are quite expensive £3 for each load to was and £3 to dry, so bear in mind. We will return.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelNorwic...
norwich
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing, seriously in need of updating”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Please be aware that when renting this property that the photo of the kitchen which features a washing machine is not correct, there is no washing machine, the jacuzzi bath does not work. The shower which is also not featured in the photos, is very old and the water pressure in this property is so poor that you can only get a dribble out of the taps and you cannot run more than one tap at a time. The main double bedroom smells damp and the ceiling is moldy . The Television in the twin room did not work. The overall condition of this property is very tatty and out of date, the property in serious need of refurbishment. The actual owners live the other side of the country and so had not visited in quite some time. We were very disappointed and the only thing good about it was the fact that the owners gave us a full refund as we decided to leave after the first night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property was clean
Liked least: The run down state of the property and the low water pressure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2014
We always value reviews whether positive or negative.
As we have pointed out before - the spa facility is not advertised within the list of property details and is a feature which we intend to make available for guests at some future point. Likewise the washing machine is another feature which is not advertised - and we therefore thank the guests for reminding us that the photos need updating - but there are of course washing machine facilities on site.
At the time these guests had arrived there were some local issues causing a drastic reduction in water pressure - which was entirely beyond our control and was being worked on by Scottish Water at the time.
The malfunction of the television in the twin room has subsequently been resolved by our Housekeeper - and we now have a new flat screen which means the property now boasts 2 flat screens for guests to enjoy despite a picture revealing an old style TV.
The charm of WildWood Log Cabin was unfortunately lost on these guests - but please don't let that put you off booking with us.
Obviously tastes vary - but many of our guests are regular visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John S
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable and homely”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Wildwood Lodge for 5 nights and found it very comfortable. The facilities were good and it was very clean. We also thought it was more spacious than we expected it to be and it was fairly close to the village, although we didn't walk it. I would recommend the lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josepie10...
Falkirk
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Break in Melrose”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Great sized log cabin, clean, tidy, well equipped and plenty games / dvd's / books to keep you entertained if the weather isn't shinning, just what you need for a break.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2014
Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate feedback whether positive or negative - and whenever we receive constructive criticism we shall ALWAYS take it on board and implement necessary changes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing