We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Wedding”
Review of Auchen Castle

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beattock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auchen Castle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beattock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just returned from my niece's wedding a the weekend, and the whole weekend was fantastic. As the wedding was on Sunday at 5.00pm we were able to check in at 2.00pm giving plenty of time to look around and get ready. We were greeted very professionally and shown to our room. This was a bit underwhelming as we were in the extension bit and not the castle, but it was a large room and very clean, but was perfectly fit for purpose, after all we were there to celebrate a wedding. After reading some reviews, and hearing that the staff (especially Glenn) were not the most friendly or approachable, we didn't find this at all. This is purely a wedding venue, not a hotel and as such timing is crucial. Glenn and his team did an amazing job, everything ran like clockwork and anything the bride and groom needed was provided no problem, so of course they do have to be quite strict with timings especially for checking in/out showing consideration for the members of the wedding party.

Breakfast was at 9.00am the following morning, some people have mentioned previously that they would have preferred breakfast when they felt like it, not when they were told to, but this worked out great as everyone came down, sat in the lounge for a chat about the previous day while waiting. We all had breakfast together before saying a farewell to the Bride and Groom. Another thing to mention was the owl who flew in with the rings, so lovely, never seen anything l like that before, and helped make the day unique.

All in all a fantastic weekend. Just remember it is a wedding venue and not a hotel and as such should not be treated as one. Go with the flow and enjoy, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank webbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 378 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We got married here on the 6th of July and had a wonderful day! All our guests commented on the food - delicious and plenty of it. We booked the package through the hotel and I would definitely recommend the photographer they use, our pictures are amazing! Point to note with the videographer.......he only films the service! We were very disappointed to find out that he was leaving and would not be filming the speeches (which were before the dinner). Luckily for us mobile phones are so advanced so a family member filmed them and has put them on disc. However, had we been advised of this we probably would have hired our own videographer. Another tip, do not go out and leave any windows open! A few of our guests made this mistake and came back at the end of the night to find their rooms crawling with moths and midges! (Their fault, not the hotels!). Only one complaint about the place and its check in/out times. For the price of the rooms at least an hour on either side would be better...especially the next morning as 10am is very early for guests to be checking out and driving after partying the night before. People have commented on Glen...he can be quite short and to the point but he's running a business, not trying to make friends!! We had no problems with him and the whole day ran like clockwork thanks to him and the rest of the team! I would definitely recommend Auchen Castle for smaller, more intimate weddings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cheryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were excited and looking forward to our friends wedding in July at a Scottish Castle. Well we arrived at 1.00pm for a 4.00pm wedding and was told we couldnt have the keys till 3pm no problem we will have something to eat and a drink in the bar no chance bar is shut till after the wedding bearing in mind there were 30 of us arriving he missed a trick there we would have spent a fair amount of money spent between us all that afternoon. Talk about not been made welcome at 3.00pm and I mean 3.00pm on the dot we were given the keys and a card from the castle themselves saying the bride and groom invite you to breakfast before being told remember check out is at 9.55 not 10.00 but 9.55. The wedding itself and the food was great but the customer service was non existent, would I go back NO

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Anon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkAlisterLynn, Owner at Auchen Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for saying the wedding and food was great, I think there's been a misunderstanding though, the castle isn't a hotel, it's an exclusive hire wedding venue and is closed when a wedding isn't taking place, so there would have been no staff available or even in attendance that long before we opened. The bride and groom will have asked guests to arrive after the castle opening at 3pm that day. Checkout is at 10am after breakfasts. We're sorry you thought we were open all the time but I'm afraid there would be no facilities or staff available when you came to the castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We renewed our vows at the castle in May. I certainly can't say we received the same service as everyone else's positive posts.

From day one, things did not run smoothly for us. When the actual day came, although the staff was friendly, and to no fault of their own, but because of management, there were several things that were not done correctly and things that we paid for that we did not receive.

When several of the guests arrived they said they were greeted coldly and felt like they were unwelcome. I did all the planning for the day myself, and had specifically asked for certain things to take place, it was very disappointing to learn that several of these things did not happen and then to have other things done to mask the fact, just didn't cut it.

Based on my personal experience, I certainly wouldn't recommend anyone internationally to book their wedding there, you don't seem to receive the same service as locals.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Blaze C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkAlisterLynn, Owner at Auchen Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

We all did a great deal to accommodate this customer throughout a formidable planning process, with the staff at the wedding bureau and all the staff at the castle giving an exhausting amount of attention to this customer.
It is a surprise to read this review as it certainly wasn't the opinion expressed at the time or in the customers subsequent positive emails, and we hope this very unwarranted review sits in context with the other very positive reviews we have received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We got married here on 1 June 2013, and had the most perfect weekend, from arriving on the Friday afternoon, to leaving on the Sunday morning.

The Castle itself has undergone a lot of work from when we originally booked our wedding in January 2012, which has only made the venue more spectacular.

Everything went perfectly on our big day and this was all down to Glen and his team. He certainly knows how to ensure your wedding day is perfect.

Everything about Auchen Castle is lovely, the rooms are spotless and the food was amazing. Quite a few of our guests said it was the nicest wedding food they had ever tasted. The grounds make for some stunning photographs and luckily for us, the weather was lovely too.

I would recommend Auchen Castle to anyone looking for a truly beautiful Wedding Venue.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I have just returned home from our wedding on 29th June 2013, and what an amazing weekend it was!

We viewed Auchen Castle in November 2012 after finding it on the internet. As my wife is originally from the Dumfries and Galloway area, it seemed like a good choice. A phone call was made to find out availability and we travelled up to see the place.

We were met by Glen, who showed us and our mini entourage around at a brisk pace, after which we sat down in the bar area where he was happy to answer all our questions. On a personal matter, Glen can seem somewhat businesslike in his manner, which some may find a little brusque, but to me it was reassuring and inspired confidence that he knew what he was doing. You also have to bear in mind that the castle is only opened for weddings and for viewings and remains shut-up the rest of the time, so appointments for viewings need to be booked in advance.

We booked the executive package for our wedding, which included a lot of the optional extras such as cake, flowers, photographer, piper, hair & makeup etc. Having this all organised for us made life so much easier as we live in Norfolk, some 400 miles away!

We arrived on the Friday, to find everything ready for our big day. All we had to do was put favours on tables and greet our guests, most of whom stayed with us on the Friday night too. Everyone was impressed by the castle, and the buffet food we had arranged for them during the evening was well received.

On the big day, my wife was served breakfast in her room, and then spent the next 4 hours being pampered, preened and beautified. The time for the ceremony arrived and Glen guided us through the entire thing with consummate ease and professionalism. The delivery of the wedding rings by Barn owl was a real talking point, and the optional falconry display we had arranged was really enjoyed by our guests whilst we were off having photos taken.

The meal we had was absolutely superb. We had ensured Glen had the menu choices a few weeks before the day, and also provided him with a list of the quantities of each choice needed for each table, which meant the food was all delivered with speed and efficiency. The quality of the food was the best I have ever tasted at any wedding, and better than the vast majority of restaurants I have eaten in. Portion sizes were certainly generous, and I don't think anyone remained hungry!

We had opted for the disco and ceilidh band, which made for a varied and fun evening with something for everyone. The buffet was lovely, though I'm not sure anyone was particularly hungry after the meal earlier!

To summarise, Auchen Castle is a beautiful venue. The staff are exceptional, being friendly and helpful, but also unobtrusive. Glen is a great host, who knows his business of wedding hosting inside out. Everything is planned with almost military precision, and it is a formula that works perfectly, leaving nothing to chance and the whole day running like clockwork.

Thank you Glen, Hannah, David, Andy and the rest of the staff who's names we did not catch. Our day was perfect thanks to you all.

Room Tip: The four-poster rooms are the most impressive. the lake-view rooms have the best views and are furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We got married on the 5th Jan 2013 and i can honestly say it was the best weekend of our lives. The venue was picture perfect, the staff couldnt do enough for you and Glen who looks after you was amazing. If i had to do it all again i wouldnt change a thing it was perfect. The rooms were lovely and spotless,and so was the rest of the castle. The food was stunning my guests said they have never been to a nicer wedding and the food was the best food they have ever tasted!! I would recommend Auchen Castle to anyone looking for a personal beautiful wedding.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beattock
1.4 mi away
Best Western Moffat House Hotel
18.1 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
13.8 mi away
Best Western Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
254 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auchen Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auchen Castle

Address: 74 Junction 15 of the M, Beattock DG10 9SH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Beattock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beattock
Price Range: $124 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auchen Castle 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jewel of the Scottish Borders, in the heart of Robert Burns country, this beautiful 5 Star Castle boasts magnificent italian gardens, 26 beautiful boutique bedrooms and a breathtaking private lake. We're very proud to be one of Scotland's most sought after wedding destinations, only a short drive from world famous Gretna Green. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Auchen Castle Beattock, Scotland
Hotel Auchen Castle
Auchen Castle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing