We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday at LA Resort”
Review of LA Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LA Hotel & Resort
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from 10 days at the LA Resort. We were looking for a totally relaxed break in the sun and that was just what we got!! It was not 4* but as our previous holiday was in Burj Al Arab 8* we knew we must not compare. The food was average plus and plentiful. There are some really good restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend The Cabin. With an underpass to the LA beach it was easy to get to the infinity pool, jacuzzi and beach without having to cross the busy Lapta/Kyrenia road. Downside whilst our room (a twin)was at the front of the hotel thus noise from the road early morning and late afternoon the size of the room certainly made up for that. We understand that some of the double rooms facing inward to pool & mountains are a little small. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 498 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have just returned from a holiday in Northern Cyprus, we had a great holiday. The L.A Beach resort hotel. is in Lapta which is 9 miles west of Kyrenia. We booked Bed and Breakfast as the food is not brilliant , for evening meals. There are some fantastic resturants nearby . We can recommend. Silver Rocks,( Cenap which is in the village and the locals use).
The hotel has been up dated a little bit since last year. But the bedrooms still need more work on them. The hotel itself has two one in the hotel grounds and the infinity pool is on the beech. The two english members of staff .Theresa and Jane are extremely helpful.
If you want to go Sea Fishing DO NOT GO WITH LADYBOSS bookable through Highline Paragliding in Kyrenia Harbour. The captain of this vessel refused to return to harbour despite being asked too , because several of his passengers were feeling ill because he had a trophy fish to catch bigger than his ego. The fish was far more important than the safety of his passengers.

Room Tip: ask for a pool facing room on the ground floor or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariawebb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our third visit in three years and the hotel gets better each time due to ongoing renovations.
Our room was in need of a bit of a facelift but it was kept clean and tidy by our maid, clean towels every day and the (free) air con worked a treat.
The underpass to the beach is safe and clean, no buskers or nasty smells!!!
The beach is kept really nice, lots of ( free) sunbeds, parasols and clean (free) towels available from reception every day. Gorgeous views, beach bar, infinity pool and clean toilets.
The hotel is kept clean and tidy, free wifi round reception lots of books to borrow( takeone...leave one) free safety deposit boxes and friendly, helpful, welcoming staff.
Breakfast is good, eggs and pancakes made to order plus the usual continental breakfast, fruit, drinks even cake on a couple of occasions. Baffled by chips though for breakfast!!!!
We had half board and the chef does a good job. The food was very good every night. Nice atmosphere eating round the pool, thank you to Smit( obi) for looking after us and bringing the wine! Especially liked the soups and desserts, but again why, when cyprus grow such nice potatoes, was it always chips? Would have enjoyed baked, roast or even plain boiled but perhaps that's just me!
Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went to the L.A 14th Sept for 2 weeks and it was excellent.The staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean,the room was very spacious although a little dated,We were not disturbed at all and it was nice and quiet.The rooms are cleaned and towels changed on a daily basis.The private beach,accessed via a subwaywas great and the infinity pool and beach bar made it even better.Plenty of free sun loungers and not overcrowded.The bus service is second to none ,a bus every minute almost and cheap.
Nothing to complain about really although the mattress was awful but I bet they would have changed it if we had asked them to. We were full board but next time we will go b&b as although nothing wrong with the food it was repetitive. We thoroughly enjoyed it at the L.A and will return.
PS Theresa where is the e mail that you promised to send.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor {no noise} and facing the pool are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crooky50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Not a huge a hotel which is a plus for me as some in NC are enormous. This hotel feels a bit like home from home and the staff, all of them, are polite, helpful and friendly and make a huge difference to a stay. The hotel is a little dated but anything we found not working was always replaced or repaired quickly which is something. Pools are great, safe tunnel under road to their beach side, very scenic and lovely beach and cleaned each day we were there. We went B and B so can't comment about dinner but Lapta has a good few restaurants to sample, some good, very good and OK - we liked the variety and twice tried the hotel and on both occasions thought it was reasonable, meze very good. Location is great, easy access to Girne and anywhere which is a big plus for getting about if you don't hire a car.Clean room, we went poolside with mountain view, enjoyed that, would not like seaview because of the road but I could see the appeal. Good bar in hotel and atmosphere is friendly for all ages. Can't comments in high season but for Sept/Oct worked for us.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 186273Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Good points and not so good points...
Lovely staff who were unfailingly polite, friendly and helpful
Great swimming pool by the hotel (didn't try pool by the beach)
Good breakfast selection
Nice view of mountains from hotel (away from road side)
All areas of hotel were very clean
Easy to get into Girne/Kyrenia on local shared taxi (dolmus) - 3.50 TL each way

Not so good....
Evening meals - cold meze was good but hot dishes were very unappetising because they were not freshly cooked to order and it was all buffet style
Hotel located next to a busy road - fortunately we had a room away from the road
Private beach next to a large empty building so it was not terribly scenic
Room basic and looked very dated - needed to be brought into the 21st century

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TypicalMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We can find no adverse comments to make about this hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms comfortable and clean. The food was excellent and always plenty of choice. Certainly a place to unwind and relax in the knowledge that you are being very well catered for. The only thing that was slightly discouraging was the flight, the sooner TRNC can be recognised and have direct flights the better. Thank you to everyone at the hotel Julie and Lesley

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jules1361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Lambousa
Chateau Lambousa
#5 of 7 in Lapta
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
151 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LA Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LA Hotel & Resort

Address: Fevzi Cakmak Caddesi, Lapta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range: $49 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — LA Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For those searching for that perfect holiday in the sun, then look no further than the LA Hotel & Resort in North Cyprus. As one of the top hotels in North Cyprus, it offers an idyllic holiday destination and provides exceptional value for money accommodation. The LA Hotel & Resort Situated in Lapta, 14 km (9 miles) away from the famous harbour of Kyrenia (Girne), the LA Hotel & Resort enjoys an enviable position beside beautiful blue waters of the Mediterranean Sea. The La Hotel & Resort has a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and is set in lush subtropical gardens. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of the Mediterranean, as well as breathtaking mountain scenery. The LA Hotel & Resort is one of the best-selling North Cyprus hotels amongst holidaymakers from the United Kingdom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your LA Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Lapta
La Hotel And Resort
La Hotel Kyrenia
La Resort Kyrenia
Hotel Resort
LA Hotel & Resort Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing