We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely surroundings”
Review of Hotel Sempati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sempati
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Reviewed June 25, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights at the Hotel Sempati on Half Board basis. Airport Transfers, Car Hire all booked directly through the hotel, flight paid for separately.

We booked airport transfers and we were taken as arranged to the hotel, took about 45mins from Ercan Airport to the Sempati, check-In was easy. Arriving at 2130hrs we thought we had missed dinner but we were told it wasn't too late. Dinner was served on the terrace, were warmly greeted. Meze starter, main course brought to the table with buffet dessert, This is how all evening meals were served.

The room overlooking the pool was clean, had a large balcony, not luxurious by any means but ticked all the boxes. Comfortable bed, TV with about 10 channels including BBC Choice and BBC1 which was transmitted for about 5 hours in the evening.

Breakfast also on the terrace was a large buffet, mostly cold dishes as well as eggs served in 3 different ways and large selection of bread and pastries

Saturday night was BBQ night and there was a guest band playing (Oliver's Army) and even though they were playing with one person short were still very good. The BBQ itself was hit and miss. We had our starters and then it took about 2 hours for the BBQ items to arrive piece by piece - the items that arrived were delicious but we were disappointed that it was poorly organised.

The staff though were excellent apart from a few problems like not knowing we had a car booked and getting the Airport Transfer times completely wrong including what airport we were going to. These were sorted out quite quickly however.

Great hotel, lovely location and would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 534 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2009

This is an exellenti value for money experience. Is it 5* any where in the world? No! it is not. Genuine, excellent value and adequate as it states, Yes, it is!! T
The longer you stay, the more you fall in love with the place.
Rooms are comfortable and more than adequate, Everything clean and service really is excellent. The management and staff really do aim to please.
Sempati has very pleasant and quiet surrounds, excellent pool area, local beaches ( £ 2.00 payable but good facilities including sunbed) really good snorkling rocky bays, free, and all are walkable at ease. Food is wellpriced in hotel and range of restaurants locally from english sports bar to cypriot experience( Aphrodite).
The transfers from Larnaca were excellent value and efficient ,as was the car hire from the hotel. As seasoned travellers, this may not be as luxurious, but was by far real value, genuine, ( it is what it is) and enjoyable for us, WE will return in August.
Excellent value, staff and surrounds.
,

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherO9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2009

I first discovered the Sempati Hotel 4 years ago upon my first trip to N. Cyprus.
I was intrigued by the island's history, tourism and ancient sights.
I come back to the Sempati once a year and enjoy every stay.

The hotel is categorised as 3 star but it is 4 star in it's imeneties and service.
The hotel is family owned and they not only make you feel welcome and part of the family, you come as a guest and leave as a friend...

Each room has great mountain and sea/pool views, the breakfast is great, fresh jams, breads and cakes every morning along with meats, potatoes and different types of eggs but the dinner is the real treat.
Typical and Traditional Turkish North Cypriot dishes made by their in-house chef.
The Adana Kebab, Beyti Kebab and Lachmachun are amongst the island's best...
Great selection of wines and everyone there is genuinely friendly and they do give service from the heart.

I would be willing to recommend this hotel to anyone, suitable for families, alone or a romantic get-away...which does wonders for the relationship!

My e-mail address is: oakland166@yahoo.com

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oakland166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

I stayed in Sempati Hotel for a week over Easter with a friend. We chose this hotel because we were on a budget, and we were pleasantly surprised by the very good service we got, above average for a 3 star hotel. The rooms were large and comfortable, they were cleaned every day and even scented! and the staff were all very friendly and willing to help at all time. The hotel had all the services you can expect to find in good hotels, and more. I've stayed in much more expensive hotels where the rooms were little larger than mouse holes and service was non-existent.

Actually the good service had started even before we arrived, as we booked everything through email and nothing was too much trouble.

One of the best assets of the hotel in my opinion, is the quiet location and the views. From the room terrace on the back the open sea was just a few hundred meters away, and on the front the mountains were a spectacular backdrop. Its the perfect place if you want to stay away for a couple of days just for the peace and quiet.

However, the location could also be a disadvantage if peace and quiet are not on your agenda. The town of Kyrenia was about 12km away. The local buses were very efficient, they were coming and going to and from town all the time. However a car is a must if you want to go further afield and do some exploring of your own. We didn't rent a car, and as a result, most nights we had early nights in, as the buses stop working at around 10pm. In the immediate area of the hotel there some very good restaurants offering local cuisine (Aphrodite and Sevkets shouldn't be missed for a truly authentic eating experience), and most amenities like supermarkets are within walking distance. But if its night life you're looking for its best to be closer to Kyrenia (or have a car, which most guests did anyway - the hotel offers very reasonable car rental as well).

Also, because we didn't rent a car, we might have encountered problems in visiting the local sights. Fortunately, the hotel offers organised tours to most tourist attractions in the North of Cyprus, and we decided to use their services and weren't disappointed. The prices for the tours were very reasonable, and Kerim (who took us out 3 times) must be the most patient guy on earth for putting up with us and indulging most of our whims, wherever possible (considering he made the tours just for the 2 of us, and I'm sure we were very demanding guests!!)

Another plus for the hotel (for us at least) are the amount of resident pets. As animal lovers we found that extremely charming. There were 2 cats which we saw everyday, and the ginger one never failed to find us during breakfast time so he could beg his own breakfast from us.. There were also dogs and horses (although these didn't have the free run around the hotel like the cats..)

All in all, i really can't find anything bad to say about this hotel. The only fault I can think of is that it doesn't have a lift. Mind you, it only has 2 floors, and also I've been told it had ground floor bungalows somewhere for people who don't like stairs :-)

If i ever come back to Cyprus I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeannette082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Be aware that this hotel is not luxury but typical of traditional turkish hotels - shower rather unreliable, toilet paper in the bucket and simple rooms. Although the service and setting were good - when we went in April the local route down to the sea was closed and we were disappointed. You can find local beaches within walking distance but you have to search!
Unfotrunately the room we occupied had worn carpets, door not fitting, simple twin beds and a clean but basic barthroom with towels which were well used - I spent alot of time curring off the frayed edges!
In its favour - we were offered a welcome drink which was nice, the transfer went smoothly and the rooms had lovelybalconies overlooking the sea. They were clean and the hotel was quiet.
Make use of the local minibus if you don't want to hire a car - just walk to the end of the road and wait for a minibus - very cheap and you can get to Girne (and beyond to Acapulco Beach - wonderful by taxi from Girne - wonderful!), and local beach - Escape beach which is lovely.
The meals are good value and you get a huge plateful where ever you go!
The hotel is one of the cheapest in Kyrenia and you get waht you pay for!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williawebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

If I had read these reviews before I visited Hotel Sempati it would not have changed our plans. But we didn't and this report would have been the same. The hotel is is need of some TLC. I have read in previous reports that the hotel has had some refurbishments recently, I fail to see where these are. The bathrooms need replacing there is mildew round the bath and the bath is chipped. Water leaks from around the taps the the showers have scale around them rendering them quite useless. The carpet in our room was quite used and not very clean looking. The one good thing was that the bed was very comfortable (it looked like a new matress) As for the staff - they did not care whether they were there or not. Breakfast was very repetitive. The only hot food was poached eggs floating in warm water or boiled eggs which had gone hard. By the time we came home we did not want to see another poached egg. On the last morning we thought we would set ourselves up for travelling with a full english breakfast - forget it - most of it was inedible. If Hotel Sempati want to attract English people then they need up their standards a little. We will not be returning to this hotel or Cypress in the forseeable future. If we hadn't met a few people with similar views our stay would probably have been cut short and we would have moved on.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hazelSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2009

We have lived in North Cyprus for over a year now (me, my husband and young daughter). Hotel Sempati was the first hotel we visited upon our arrival and we still visit the place on a more than regular basis.

Friendly staff who cannot do enough for you. Lovely pool area where you can relax the days away whilst taking in the exceptional services that the team offer.
Nothing is too much trouble. The team really make your time here a real pleasure.

We have stayed in the hotel on numerous occassions and found all rooms we have stayed in to be very clean, spacious and more than comfortable and with speedy room service upon request!!

The hotel is family run and this shows. The service is always personal and you will be on first name terms with all the staff before you know it!

GREAT for families, GREAT for kids. A really comfortable hotel where you can relax in a truly ideal location.

WOULD THOROUGHLY RECOMMEND!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyInCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
1.2 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau Lambousa
Chateau Lambousa
#5 of 7 in Lapta
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
225 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sempati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempati

Address: Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range: $28 - $1,422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempati 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempati is a comfortable family-run hotel which offers friendly service together with high standards. Our luxury hotel is situated 10 miles west of Kyrenia in a particularly tranquil area with a wonderful mountain backdrop and spectacular views of the Mediterranean sea.Accommodation is of a high standard and the crescent shape of the hotel ensures that every room has the benefit of superb sea views. Each room overlooks the private swimming pool and bar area. The hotel has 64 rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom, minibar, satellite television, air-conditioning and direct dial telephone. There is an indoor restaurant and lounge bar. Hotel has a small sandy beach which is located 200 yards from the hotel and several local restaurants are within walking distance. An ideal setting for those seeking a peaceful relaxing holiday. You can go by frequent local minibus (dolmush) from the front of the hotel into Kyrenia which takes about 20-25 minutes and only costs 50 pence per person each way. In all of Northern Cyprus, Hotel Sempati is one of the best value and friendliest, offering an excellent quality of service at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sempati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempati Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Sempati Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing