We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Hotel with terrible food and miserable staff”
Review of Hotel Sempati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sempati
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to Sempati in September, hotel was very scruffy, rooms were very tired and standard of cleanliness was not good. Bedding torn and linen not changed until we'd complained several times. Staff so miserable all the time, but then not surprising as management didn't want to know, it even took 5 days to get a kettle in the room, one that worked anyway!! We booked a poolside bungalow as I struggle with stairs, on arrival at midnight we were given a second floor room but promised the room we'd booked by 9.30 next morning. There was no one even in reception till 11.30, on phoning rep was told to 'chill'; later found out that the hotel owned the tour company (A1 Cyprus) ! Food was very poor so we ate out every night, we felt this was a good option, especilly as the owners dog was running round everywhere including the restaurant, peeing and pooing where it wanted!!!!! Pool was lovely, beach accessed by lots of steps so not able to venture on it, but if I had done, there was nothing there except broken sunbeds. Have since written to the hotel but have not even received the courtesy of a reply. Only saving grace to this holiday was meeting some lovely people. Will not go again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JanR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 538 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

I simply don't believe some of the reviews here. Look at Sempati Hotel reviews as well, there is
more honesty on that one. I should preface this by saying we are not complainers, we have stayed in hotels all around the world in everything from 5 stars to zero stars and have never complained before. We have glasses that are half full not half empty!

We had emailed the hotel before we went requesting a top floor room with double bed. We received a prompt and polite reply agreeing to this. However on arrival we were given a first floor room with a double and a single bed.

The room was awful, maybe the rooms in the newer blocks are better. The curtain rail was broken, several of the curtain hooks were missing or broken, and the rail was tied up at one end with a strip of rag! With the curtains closed there was a gap down both sides for the sun to stream through.There were large areas of peeling paint. The single bed (that we didn't want) was broken, I think it was there purely to hide even more peeling paint. The light over the bed was falling apart. The bathroom was very dingy with extremely poor lighting, we ended up leaving the light on permanently as eventually the energy saving bulb became a bit more than a glimmer. The door frame inside the bathroom was rotten.

We told the rep and she requested another room. However once the rep had left we were told the hotel was full and there were no other rooms. We could have persued it but we assumed the other rooms would be similar anyway so we just got on and made the best we could of it.

Cleaning was minimal, both in our room and throughout the hotel. Our bed sheets weren't changed for the first eight nights. We know of others that also complained about this despite the management insisting they were changed every other night. It was easy to tell because virtually all sheets had small holes. At different times we noticed tissues and other things that had been dropped on the main stairs seemed to take about 48 hours before they were cleaned up.

We witnessed many others complaining and asking for different rooms, even some that moved out totally saying they would fight for compensation when they got home. We spoke to some that had been before (some several times) but they all said the hotel had gone drastically downhill this year. We wondered if there had been a change of ownership but don't know.

The staff were mostly totally disinterested, the one smiling face was Eyup who always greeted us for our evening meal, he always asked how we were etc, nobody else did in two weeks.

Breakfast was chaos, it was supposed to start at 8am but was often a few minutes late. Many of the trips left at 8.15 or 8.30 so there was a mad rush. The food was alright but there were always things missing, cutlery, crockery, bread, milk, or butter etc. The coffee machine or toaster invariably went wrong. These things were always sorted after a few minutes but the next day it was the same story.

The evening meals were very poor. Starters were always soup (I didn't try it but was told it was ok) and 'open buffet'. This was usually about 50% cold leftover vegetables, cabbage, brussels, carrots etc, sometimes even cold chips. The 50% that was fresh proper dishes was ok. For the main course there were always two choices, supposedly one a local dish, the other 'international'.
My wife and I nearly always had one of each. I won't go into detail but they were mostly pretty bad. We thought dessert was always just melon but after three nights we realised there was actually another desert as well. But there was so little of it unless you collected it when you got your starter there was never any left!

The pool was lovely but had many broken or loose paving slabs around it. The main area of pool was all one depth, 1.8 metres, something to be aware of. The smaller part of the pool was about 1 metre deep.

We strolled down to the private beach on our first evening and were shocked to find it was littered with rubbish and broken sunbeds. There was a scruffy painted board saying that sunbeds should be paid for at reception. We used the beach a couple of days later when it had been cleared up a lot, the rubbish was gone as were the broken sunbeds and the scruffy notice.

Overall the hotel could be nice, it probably was a few years ago, but now it needs a complete refurbishment and decent management. With proper management it would be much much better, the poor quality of everything was made worse by management that simply weren't interested in the customers. I could go on to point out many more problems but frankly just want to forget about it now.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank palmer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SempatiManager, Manager at Hotel Sempati, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear Kelly,

Thank you for your review, after busy season, we have been started for refurbishment for Hotel Rooms. We do apologize which you got that room. we loved to give you from our new room however you wanted with sea view, as we were so full so why you took that room. You can be sure they are already started for refurbishment.
This year we have opened new rooms, so suddenly capacity grown, so in the begin we had bit of unlucky times however all sorted. We are doing more refurbishment now.

So we are looking forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Just return home, a week holiday Northern Cyprus Sempati, I would like to share my experience in Northern Cyprus with you guys, First impression was good, smiley Welcome Staff,
Cool beer and warm weather of course, it was first time to Northern Cyprus, we were pleased with staff and cypriots around the country, good size hotel, not so big, and not so small enough facilities for us, Always I want to be fare. Checked the website and whatever it was written we found there. We have stayed bed and breakfast, and we were quite happy with that, some nights stayed in, and some nights went out to taste the other restaurant foods. Generally its good and inexpensive, good quality wine in Hotel and around the restaurants, We flu to Ercan airport and it was ok, sure we go again to Northern Cyprus, We did not used the beach, we spend most times around the pool

Room Tip: Sea view room from Main block Its my ideal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dean h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

mixed feelings about this place, look lovely on the net, in reality, not even a 3 star! pool area is gorgeous, private beach is lovely. rooms are decent (we stayed in a 'suite' which is not part of the main hotel but a kind of mini appartment block opposite)..this fact was not mentioned prior to booking!!..but we stayed there as the room was nice. breakfast was a shambles. no one looking after the customers, no knives and forks on tables, lots of flies, no milk unless you asked, juices ran out..had to ask again. could be a fantastic hotel with the correct management..but it so needs a shake up. that said it is a decent base to explore northern cyprus...but stick to a B&B basis.I was also a bit peeved when the barman ignores what you want on tv and puts his own things on...i thought i was on holiday!!..reception could also do with manning.....someone was always in a back room watching tv...and they were clueless blaming their fellow staff that were not there!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Picked sempati from brochure for Location and Character of the building, it was right choice, It was perfect location for us, only few minutes walk to the beach, lots of relax time by the pool,
Peoples was at the hotel friendly and warm, Service was great, sometimes took local bus to town and walked around the old city, and back to hotel afternoon for the Dinner. we spend most of times around the pool or beach and night time, Terrace with Our red wine! its chill time, and great atmosphere, room was fine, and foods also fine. must try turkish kebab called Kleftigo, Restaurant in Kyrenia nizais good choice, and for sightseen, blue house.

Room Tip: Good Choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pierceterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have chose the sempati hotel as one of our party is a keen diver and wanted to use the dive school facilities that is adjoined to the hotel .drew and Caroline at turtle bay dive centre made sure he was accommodated throughout our stay .the main hotel rooms were clean but slightly tired the new rooms were fabulous some of our party were in each type .for value for money we couldnt fault it the pool area was lovely and peaceful as long as the piped music was kept at a low volume .staff were pleasant atall times we would use this hotel again but would ask for rooms in the new complex

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holmaker2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Good holiday good time, good weather, i made arrangement with this hotel with Citron travel 2nd trip to norde cyprus, hotelle was good, good size of beach, almost 100 meter walk and useful facilites by the sunny beach bar, when we were there.
they put us in new block 1 wooow! new hotelle, new room,. clean and only 1 month old. bathroom good and clean, very very good.
food is typical turkish food, we loved it. We love turkish food. fresh and tasty,. been few times to turkey and same as turkey food. went to Girnje couple of time a, good, bus by the Main road 1 day, and 1 day hotel bus, its ok,. hotel beer is not expensive. bought from bar.
Swimming pool is ok good size and Clean. good holiday, good food, good people. If I go again norde cyprus, I go sempati again. service is good.
Ahh I forgot Hotel have some horses, I love them, 2 of them,.

Room Tip: block 1 good new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zivek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
1.2 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
486 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lapida Hotel
Lapida Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lapta
153 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
Mountain View Hotel & Villas
#1 of 3 in Agios Georgios
359 reviews
1.2 mi away
Club Alda Hotel
Club Alda Hotel
#4 of 7 in Lapta
75 reviews
1.1 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sempati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempati

Address: Ali Ocak Sokak No 7, Lapta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range: $28 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempati 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempati is a comfortable family-run hotel which offers friendly service together with high standards. Our luxury hotel is situated 10 miles west of Kyrenia in a particularly tranquil area with a wonderful mountain backdrop and spectacular views of the Mediterranean sea.Accommodation is of a high standard and the crescent shape of the hotel ensures that every room has the benefit of superb sea views. Each room overlooks the private swimming pool and bar area. The hotel has 64 rooms, each with an en-suite bathroom, minibar, satellite television, air-conditioning and direct dial telephone. There is an indoor restaurant and lounge bar. Hotel has a small sandy beach which is located 200 yards from the hotel and several local restaurants are within walking distance. An ideal setting for those seeking a peaceful relaxing holiday. You can go by frequent local minibus (dolmush) from the front of the hotel into Kyrenia which takes about 20-25 minutes and only costs 50 pence per person each way. In all of Northern Cyprus, Hotel Sempati is one of the best value and friendliest, offering an excellent quality of service at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, GoNorthCyprus and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Sempati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempati Hotel Kyrenia
Hotel Sempati Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing