We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“traditional” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charcos

Charcos
Ranked #8 of 27 Restaurants in Lapta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“traditional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Charcos is our favourite local restaurant....its true the menu is small, but its all freshly cooked, the starter meze is free as is the dessert,coffee and brandy.the restaurant is all decorated by Christina, the hand painted tables and walls are beautiful....and the food is wonderful

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindapaphos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What has Happened”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have been going to this restaurant for the past 6 years. Both in it's present location and it's previous location in the village. The food - as the name suggests is cooked over charcoal and is always superb. However, on our last visit in June the owners wife -Christina decided to throw a strop and went round abusing the clients. Completely out of character. It appears to be that she is so overworked (open every day) that stress overtook her better judgement. This may sound patronising but I can think of no other reason.
We along with most of the other customers were absolutely embarrassed and had our whole evening ruined.
We shall never return. We are some of the people who keep this restaurant alive when the tourist season is over.
By the way. The food was as always excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank greeno-martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food good but limited menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Food is good but you must be ready for a limited menu and only adequately sized portions. Starter is normally good (soup) and the sweet is usually ok.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldrugbyref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitchurch
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Traditional Cypriot food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Well of the beaten track & if we hadn't gone by taxi not sure we would ever have found it, in fact we got a taxi bakc as we still weren't sure we know how to get back to our hotel. very limited menu but given the size of the restaurant this is not surprising. Tables on the roadside and for such a small village there is a lot of noisy traffic. Wasn't overly impressed with the starters - mezze - but main course was good & plentiful. No choice for desert - just a piece of rather nice cake, but at least real Turkish coffee was available rather than "Nescafe" which we have offered in many other restaurants.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda_Shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, fantastic ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Found this restaurant while exploring Lapta village, excelent food - price includes three courses, brandy and coffee. The owners are both great one is the chef, and Christina the waitress a fantastic artist. All her great pictures surround you while you enjoy the great food. During our three weeks we went there three times. Very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scruffyent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcos also viewed

Lapta, Kyrenia District
Lapta, Kyrenia District
 
Lapta, Kyrenia District
 

Been to Charcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing