We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth tracking down!”
Review of Charcos

Charcos
Ranked #8 of 28 Restaurants in Lapta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth tracking down!”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Charcos in Lapta looks like it's stepped right out of "Lord of the Rings". Very quaint with a rustic feel, only a few tables, and beautiful traditional artwork on the walls. We would never have found it without alliebdive's directions, but here are additional pointers. Take the turning oppositie the Hut on the main Girne-Lapta Road, and go uphill until you reach the T Junction in Lapta village. Turn right, and continue through the village, straight on up the hill, then turn right at the T junction at the top of the hill. After about 300 yards, take the road to the right which goes under the arch at the Lapta Belyedesi. The road is very narrow by Charcos, so we parked once we had gone through the arch and walked down, about 2 minutes walk.

The menu was a traditional mixture of meat or fish grills, with salad. The chicken kebabs and mixed grill were both very good. Service was very quick and efficient. However, there was a large party of 8 people on another table who were obviously regulars. We were slotted in at the end table, and told to ring a bell on the table if we needed anything; we almost felt like we were intruding! As Charcos is very small it would be a good idea to book if you can; we didn't, and were lucky to get the last table for our party of four.

As others have said, beautifully cooked, and such amazing value! Dinner and drinks for 4 people, followed by complementary brandies, came to just 111 YTL. We will definitely be back next time we're in Lapta, and maybe try out the sea bass, which looked very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    35
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service and What a bargain !”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Friends have a house in Lapta village introduced us this year (jubillee week) went 3 times and just got better every time the last meal we had the sea bass caught that morning was bigger than the plate and grilled on the BBQ and chips like your mum used to make and a bowl of salad like a small garden. The owners were brilliant and couldnt do enough for us - on our last evening they put a bottle of brandy on the table as if we hadnt had enough and even came and sat with us - enough said - we ate the whole menu between us over the week the lamb was amazingly tender and even the kofte was delihtful spicy but light - wine list very reasonable about £8 a bottle meal for 6 (we were there for 4 hours was £120 including 6 bottles of wine) - will be going back every time - also the owners wife Christina is an amazing artist and you can purchase her work which is of really fantastic quality !

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Charcos was easily the best meal of our holiday and the atmosphere was lovely and romantic. It's quite hard to find but we went by taxi so no problem there. The building is simply gorgeous with its old stonework and, once inside, very much resembled an old chapel. The candlelit tables and stunning artwork on the walls added to the wonderfully romantic feel. We were greeted by the very friendly host who made us feel so welcome right from the start. The meal comprised of 2 soups with bread basket, 2 mixed kebabs with chips, salad and bread, 2 chocolate brownies, 2 brandies, 2 coffees and 2 bottles of wine. So so tasty esp as the soup, bread, dessert, coffee and brandy were complimentary. Total cost about £43. And she ordered the taxi back to our hotel. We plan a 3rd visit to Lapta/Alsancak and we will certainly return to Charcos. A wonderful restaurant that fully merits every success.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank herriballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,274 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We had a fantastic dinner here and will undoubtedly return. Its not the easiest to find in Lapta. From the main Girne-Lapta road, turn up the hill signed Lapta just before the Hut restaurant. Keep going up the hill till you come to the T junction in the main village. Turn right. Keep going till you find the Lapta Belyedesi (town hall) then take the road that goes under the arch of the Belyedesi, follow it around to the right and you will see it in front of you. The restaurant is in a beautifully restored old building charmingly decorated with lots of original artwork. The welcome was very friendly. The menu is Cypriot. You choose your main course from about 15 choices: meat, poultry, fish. The price stated included: a bread basket; soup starter; big salad; amazing plate of real chips easily the best I've had anywhere; the meat main as chosen; chocolate brownie dessert; coffee/ brandy. I had lamb chops as my main and they were fabulous big ones, perfectly grilled. My daughter had chicken kebab which was succulent. The lentil soup starter was really delicious as was the brownie. We had 4 glasses of wine and my husband had a large beer. All the food, free brandies, wine, beer etc etc came to 111 ytl. Incredibly good value. Service was very good. This is a really good place and deserves to be very successful. Parking was a bit awkward and they need to sort that out. Please give it a try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alliebdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

i have been here many many times over the last few years and when they where at the old place i did think when they moved it would not be as good but it is just as good as ever if not better a place to go for a special occasion or just for a quick meal what ever it is the service is always great and also the food set in lovely surroundings and all the hand painted items you just want to but them all

Helpful?
1 Thank Debbıe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charcos also viewed

Lapta, Kyrenia District
Lapta, Kyrenia District
 
Lapta, Kyrenia District
Lapta, Kyrenia District
 
Lapta, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to Charcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing