We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lapida Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lapida Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Family run hotel as described by other reviewers. Good location - secluded (so a car is essential) and quiet. We stayed as a party of 4 adults and 3 kids (aged 6-11); the pool was more than big enough for the size of the hotel, and is where the kids spent most of the time. The hotel has lovely mature gardens which have seating and tables for dining; it also has a fantastic mountain backdrop which adds to the chilled out atmosphere. The rooms are a good standard, big enough and have air conditioning but all seem to have different decoration and amenities. Food was as previously described (we were half board) and portions were huge...Mary was able to sort out a chicken based dish for the kids if they didn't fancy the fixed menu for that night. Definitely not for party seekers, but ideal for families and couples looking for a bit of relaxed sun worship & pool time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jc33230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    37
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
78
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Nothing was too much trouble for Fethi, the owner, and his mother, Mary, in making us feel welcome and ensuring a memorable stay.
Our room was quiet and comfortable with lovely views. We travelled with Discovery Collection and stayed on a half board basis. The food was delicious with good variety during the week. We had cookery lessons given by Mary and informative guided trips led by Fethi himself. The cookery was fun and based on basic local products, many from the hotel's lovely garden.
We would recommend hiring a car at least for a few days. This was cheap and driving (on the left) was very easy. Watch out for the numerous speed cameras!
We are still enjoying the pot of delicious jam made from home-grown bananas and given to us by Mary upon our departure.

Room Tip: See view rooms at end of building have views in two directions
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrahamandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrésy, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I am sorry to write a "bad" report on a property, but feel I have been deceived by my trusting of so many positive, glowing reports. My expectations were high after having read so many good reviews on this site. Yes, the manager and his mother are welcoming and the gardens are beautiful. For me, this is where the positive side stopped. My heart sank when entering the room to see curtains hanging off the rail, shoddy building workmanship, threadbare sheets, and worst of all, what must have been the season's dirt swept under the bed - old bottle tops included! This hotel is not expensive, but then a 5 star hotel was found for only 15 Euros per night more (and clean). I consider that the Lapida equates with a 2 star hotel in France as far as price and facilities are concerned, except that all the 2 star hotels i have found in France have been clean. Was this end of season fatigue? bad luck? or something else? I suspect the enthusiastic manager is perhaps too nice to his staff and that some of them have abused this situation. It is really a pity and I hope that he will put things back in order so that others do not have to share my disappointment in the future.

Room Tip: South facing rooms are like ovens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tradeform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

In essence it is difficult to fault this "hotel" on the basic principal that it is cheap and should actually only really be considered as a guest house.

The son and mother team who run Lapida obviously take great pride in their hospitality and this is clearly evident from the minute you meet them and are warmly greeted and made to feel very welcome.

The gardens at the rear of the property are lovely, well maintained, with herbs and fruit trees surrounding the pool, which is in full sun and again well maintained. Inside the house and rooms could only be described as eclectic, part home part antique emporium. There are a few updates needed here and there and some basic additions which would improve both the overall appearance and experience, HOWEVER this is a cheap option if you are using your base purely for sleeping and you would struggle to find a warmer welcome, certainly not in the large casino hotels in the centre of town for 5 times the price.

Room Tip: Rooms are situated both sides of a long corridor, sea and garden view perhaps only possible from end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The hotel, as the other reviews say, is firmly family run. We went last week in Oct when it was quiet but the weather still fine in the day and cool enough to have the log fire going in the evenings. The pool and garden are fantastic as is the view up to the mountains. The rooms are a bit basic but comfortable and clean. The food is very good. We had half board and ate very well. If you don't eat meat or fish you'd need to check out about options before you go. We went on the Discovery Collection culture and cooking tour with guided trips by Fethi the owner and cooking lessons from Mary his mother (who does the hotel cooking). It was a good programme. The area is quiet the nearest town Kyrenia is small and the place is best for those who want to relax and explore.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SEDLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

They tell youy that Cyprus is paradise when they welcome you at the airport, and if that is so, then the Lapida Hotelin Lapta, near Kyrenia, is a guest house in Paradise! Family run, family values and with a warmth of welcome rarely found these days, a holiday here is just wonderful.
The food is genuine local Turkish Cypriot, cooked by 'Mum' Mary [her soups are to die for] with much of the ingredients she uses, coming from the hotel garden. The whole ambience is one of relaxed warmth.
For this our second visit, we had a double aspect bedroom overlooking the garden and out to the sea and yet with superb close upviews of the mountain range - changing light and shade as the sun traversed the sky. It was a comfortable room with all that you needed to make a stay here pleasant.
The garden itself is a sheer delight with Lemon trees,Guavas, Pomegranates, Bananas unfurling their great buds to reveal yet another 'hand' of delicate yellow flowers,ready to turn into fruit.
If you just want to relax, then this is the place tocome to. If you want history,then Fethi - as an accredited Tour Guide is your man, and if you want a Turkish massage then Olga will oblige you.
We have been before and we will go again. Thank you to The discovery Collection for introducing us.

Room Tip: If yoiu can, askfor one of the two end rooms with a double aspect, but,there are only two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peyia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I have only just found the Lapida Hotel after visiting Northern Cyprus many times over the years and are delighted that we did. This gem of a hotel is one you are reluctant to share as you want to keep it a secret to yourself.It is a true family concern as Fethis runs it; his mother Mesy does the catering (lovely Cypriot food at very reasonable prices) and Ismail is a cheerful and willing helper.
There are only about 15 rooms so the pool and lovely gardens never get overcrowded and in fact, eating breakfast in the gardens is one of the highlights of the day. The food is all sourced locally or from their own gardens and is tasty, fresh and very Cypriot.
The rooms are clean, well fitted out (flat screen TV, fridge, kettle,hair dryer etc). The shower pressure was very good (not always so in Northern Cyprus) although some may have difficulty with the smallish shower base my wife and I (mid 60's) had none.
To summarise, if you want a relaxing holiday and be treated to excellent Cypriot hospitality and all for a very reasonable price, it would be difficult to surpass the Lapida Hotel. We were reluctant to leave but we know we will be back soon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PeyiaSayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapta
0.0 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 stars 385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club Simena
Club Simena
#1 of 1 in Karsiyaka
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
3.6 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#3 of 9 in Alsancak - Karavas
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riverside Garden Resort
Riverside Garden Resort
#6 of 9 in Alsancak - Karavas
3.5 of 5 stars 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapida Hotel

Property: Lapida Hotel
Address: Sh. Ibrahim Nidai Cad Lapta Girne,, Lapta, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Lapta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lapta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapida Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Lapida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapida Hotel Cyprus/Lapta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing