We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely restaurant with a Goan flavour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andron

Andron
Ranked #2 of 54 Restaurants in Mapusa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $5
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A small Authentic Goan Restaurant. In the small state of Goa .Andron is situated in the small village of Nachinola In north Goa Bardez close to Mapusa just 4.8 km from Mapusa. Average Dishes are priced 220 to 350 Indian Rupees.
Goa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely restaurant with a Goan flavour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is one of our regular haunts for an evening meal. We go there often with family, friends or just as a couple. The cuisine is mostly goan and continental and this is one of the very few places in Goa where you can expect the genuine goan flavour.

My wife loves the beef steaks in white sauce (he also has another preparation of a beaf steak in BBQ sauce) while I love the roast pork in a dark thick sauce (but only if it is tender pork). Unfortunately this is not a place for a vegetarian meal as he can only give you one or two vegetarian dishes!

Anthony, the owner, is always on hand with personalised service and a smile to spare! You can always expect some titbits of conversation from his part to go along with a meal...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Capt_Robbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    19
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mapusa, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Woow Yummy...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place is the perfect place for Goan Pork tongue roast.. it also has some of the best goan food.. a very nice place to try for every mhapshekar.. A must try for thier best Goan Food..

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank benishias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“A great find !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Being a goan settled outside Goa and visiting goa atleast 6 times a year, I am shocked at the way Goa and its cuisine is fast changing.... all our favourite dishes like sorportel and vindaloo, Pork Assado and Cafreal if fast and rapidly being replaced by butter chicken and naan, kebabs and dhal. Goan restaurants are fast diminishing, and goans are selling out to the North Indians.... but then, I came across this restaurant Andron on tripadvisor while surfing the net for a good goan restaurant near mapusa and I will never regret having come here and if the place continues to remain like this, probably visit the place over and over again....

Situated on the way to Aldona in a quiet village, it was easy to find the place after talking to Tony who runs the place...His mobile is 9421194482. The food was great ( especially the aad mass curry or Pork bone curry). We ordered fried prawns, prawn curry, aad maas curry, pork vindaloo, roast pork and I specially liked the golden spiced cashew feni. The prices very very reasonable except for the fried prawns. I found Rs.250 for 5 prawns a total rip off.

Tony was also gracious enough to escort me half way to a relatives house I was looking for and didnt know how to get there from the restaurant, a gesture I greatly appreciate.

Well Tony, if you cook the way you are cooking, and ensure your portions and prices are as good as they were, you will be seeing more of me and my friends there..... Keep up the good cooking and long live our goan cuisine !

So all you guys who love goan cuisine especially Pork and seafood, do visit Androns, its off the way, but definitely worth the extra taxi fare. Great food and great prices and worth every penny! Money squeezers like Florentines and Brittos and Souza Lobos should learn a thing or two from Androns !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank vinn_2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific food and friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Don't miss this fantastic restaurant a bit off the beaten path in north goa.

From Mapusa, you can take a rickshaw, pilot, or bus towards Aldona. Nachinola village and the restaurant will be right off the main road.

The food is local, delicious, and reasonably priced. Anthony, the owner, is an affable and friendly host.

The fried rice and golden fried squid are great options. For more traditional fair, check out the pork roast (BBQ flavor) or the ard-maas.

All of the dishes are, of course, ordered best along-side a cold beer. But if you're feeling adventurous, there is a nicely stocked bar that includes some "unique" drinks.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank SandB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Welcome back, my beloved Goa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

I returned to goa after eight years, to find that the old style goan hospitality had vanished, all the shacks on the beach's etc had gotten way to commercial.........fish fry and goan pork sausages had been replaced by various north indian dishes.....After the initial shock of seening paneer dishes and tandoriis on a goan restarunt menu, I was on the look out for a restarunt which could bring back the best memories of Goa its food.......it was then that I got to know about Andron, its about a 15 min taxi drive from maupsa, in the little village of aldona on the way to Nachnola.........The food here is just devine and resonablly priced, i ended up having dinner over here for the entire duration of my stay.....try the roast piggling, pork ribs, pork roast, beef steaks and the kingfish fry, and while your at it have a glass of caju fenny with tony your host, whose stories will take you back to the good old goa.......Incase you guys want directions of to book a table heres tonys number --------------

Cheers
Sheldon (Sydney AU)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheldon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andron also viewed

 

Been to Andron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing