We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday I've had in years!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gudbrandsgard Hotell
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best holiday I've had in years!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here for about a week with my partner at the beginning of March this year for a ski trip. We went for a half board option with included lift passes which was a fabulous deal. The food was great--good sized portions, very tasty. Breakfast had loads of options, dinner didn't seem to but everything served was tasty and I suspect they would have made modifications if we'd asked. The hotel was everything I would want a ski hotel to be: HUGE comfy bed, loads of nice common areas to sit by the fire and watch the snow fall outside, big pool and HOT TUB as well as the usual sauna. It was nice a quiet there--definitely not a big party resort--which is exactly what we were looking for. The resort itself is great--we had really good snow and it was not at all crowded, we didn't wait in a lift line for more than 30 seconds the whole week. We literally didn't have to worry about anything aside from making sure we caught the last lift back so we could ski into the hotel! Can't recommend this hotel (and resort) enough!

Room Tip: We stayed in the most basic room--it wasn't huge but the bed was massive, the bathroom floor was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeattleKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    27
    15
    13
    2
See reviews for
36
14
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
geiranger
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel is located in a very nice spot on Kvitfjell. It's build in typicall norwegian style and the feeling upon arrival is very good. Nice reseption area, diningroom and guestrooms. Hovewer when it comes to service and food it's not the standard you expect from a nice resort as this. The 3 course dinner was disapointing ( half board package ) with small dishes and a lot of waiting. The food was to special and, you have only one option. The first evening we asked the waitress if our youngest boy could have a little more desert ( icecream ) because he diden't eat the main course but she told us that it was not possible, we had to pay extra in that case. A glass of red wine was NOK 125.-. Tried to order a cappucino but they coulden't make one. Overall a very cozy hotel but I hope they in the future have more options regarding dinner and that it's possibble to have cup of cappuccino.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entrada-utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I had 3 nights at this hotel in January 2013. It was a mix of business and pleasure.

Great food, both for breakfast and dinner - and we also tried the lunch buffet some days. A great variety - but don't expect croissants and pastries... but still a great selection.

The hotel is ski in-out , so no distance to go to the slopes. Quite a long drive from the bottom of the valley - but plenty of parking.

Our company was using the conference facilities. I'd give them 7/10. WiFi was a bit hit and miss in the conference hall - and the WiFi in the rooms was even worse.

The accommodation was great. Rooms were nice, with plenty space.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel73Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My first visit to Kvitfjel so therefore my first stay at Gudbrandsgard Hotel. The feel and look of the place is very authentically Norwegian and really in keeping with the style of the resort, combining tradition with a few lovely modern touches.

The reception is spacious, lots of wood abounds and it has a really lovely feel. The staff were efficient and quick in dispatching me to my room. I should say that getting to the hotel is straightforwards, train from Oslo Airport to Ringebu station where you will meet your taxi. You should pre-book this or you could be stood in the cold for some time.

The rooms are spacious, very traditional with lots of wood and a real warm feel and the views from your window should be of the slopes that await you the next day.

In terms of facilities, there is a very good sized pool and a jacuzzi which will soothe those aching bones at the end of the day following some powder action! and you can ski straight to the back of the hotel, so perfect in that respect.

Food was excellent too and breakfast was amongst my favourite in Norway thus far.

All in all, the resort was lovely with some excellent skiing and the hotel sat perfectly in a stunning wintry scene. Good value and rather romantic too!

Room Tip: Insist on a room overlooking the slopes, it will help you get up for skiing the next day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitchurchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We travelled in a Family-group of 15 and stayed for Easter. The two of us stayed in one of the suites. The room is spacious and comes with balcony and a separate bedroom. The interior is more of a "cabin-style" and cosy. The hotel offers swimming pool and Jacuzzi in the basement. This is excellent when travelling with youngsters. They love the pool-area. First night in the dining room they had only prepared 9 chairs for the 15 of us, but after some time they managed to get us all seated.
They were very polite and excused themselves, and guaranteed us that for the rest of our stay we will have enough space in the dining room for all meals. They kept their promise there and the dining room staff were extremely friendly, no matter what requests they received.
The hotel offers ski-in/out to fantastic prepared slopes including the Olympic downhill from 94.
Perfect hotel and location. Can absolutely be recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The hotel is very cozy and comfortable!
We were staying for 6 nights since 30 december.
The room is not so big, but very comfy and nice. We liked very much breakfast: delicious salmon; a lot of warm dishes (omlet, bacon, fried potatoes with some meat), a lot of choice of cheese and ham, coffee, croissants.
There are a nice a swimming pool and a jacuzzi in the hotel. Last our two days the temperature was not so warm in the pool and the jaccuzzi. There is a sauna in the hotel. But the hotel has one type of the sauna. And in the sauna wasn't always hot.
The hotel is in wonderful place! Surroundings are only fir-trees covered the snow! It was like in a fairytale!
The hotel offers ski in - ski out - it is very convinient.
The restaurant is good, but expensive.
I really recomend this hotel for skiing and relax in beutiful nature!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

We booked this hotel as we wanted good quality combined with good skiing-facilities without the hazzle of using the car to get to and from the lifts. We are a family with two children ( 5 and 11 ) so we therefore booked two standard double-rooms with co
nnecting door. We had accomodation with halfboard (dinner) . The food was absolutely fantastic. I don't think we have ever eaten better in a hotel restaurant in Norway. Being a couple working as airline-crew we have quite some alternatives to compare with and the food was way above expected...however it was a bit to small portions for a grown up man. One slice of tiny trout is not enough for fish as a main-course. We commented it and was instantly offered more. The wine list was impressive but far too expensive. NOK 500,- (65 euros or more) for a bottle of average red-wine is too expensive but unfortunately quite common in Norway.
We travelled with children during the winter school-vacation and we were a little bit disappointed that the hotel had no activites what so ever for children. They had looked forward to swim in the inside pool, but the water was freezing cold so they stayed in the jacuzzi most of the time.
Service was in general good in the hotel. Friendly, nothing extra, but ok. ¨
The only very poor thing we experinced at Gudbrandsgard was that a pair of ski-poles were stolen from us in the "Ski-stall" at the hotel. This area was locked during the night, but somebody managed to steal them anyhow. We reported it at the reception, and they had no solution or excuse for it. Our advice is to keep as much ski-equipment in your room or inside your car as possible. It can be stolen, as we were proven were the case at Gudbrandsgard.
Kvitfjell as a ski-resort is perfect for good to advanced skiers. Beginners should choose Trysil or Geilo as Kvitfjell only offers advanced pists. A green piste in Kvitfjell would be blue or black in Trysil.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringebu Municipality
12.5 mi away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
11.0 mi away
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
#2 of 4 in Ringebu Municipality
92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Olden Fjordhotel
Olden Fjordhotel
#1 of 1 in Olden
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
95 reviews
20.0 mi away
Scandic Hafjell
Scandic Hafjell
#1 of 5 in Oyer Municipality
431 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hunderfossen Hotell & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gudbrandsgard Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gudbrandsgard Hotell

Property: Gudbrandsgard Hotell
Address: Kvitfjell Mellomstasjon, 2634, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Ringebu Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ringebu Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gudbrandsgard Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gudbrandsgard Hyttegrend is located at the mid station (Mellomstasjonen) is lying close to Kvitfjell Hotel. We have 5 cottages and 6 apartments which are build as traditional Norwegian cottages the 5 cottages have a nice fireplace. From here you can put your skies on are slide into the slopes The cottage is 120 sqm with 8-10 bedplaces divided in 4 bedrooms. One with a double bed and one with a family bunkbed. Two tiled bathrooms with heatingcables, wellequipped kitchen with dishwasher, cable-TV and a booth. The apartments for 4-5 people are 60 sqm, two bedrooms and one bathroom with underfloor heating, the kitchen is open-plan kitchen/living room equipped with dishwasher and oven. The livingroom has a cable TV. Access to ski stable. Within a few minutes walk you can among others reach the crocery, pizzeria, restaurants and a sportshop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Gudbrandsgard Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gudbrandsgard Hotell Norway/Oppland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing