We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic setting, great athmosphere, excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic setting, great athmosphere, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just spent a very enjoyable week at the Venabu Fjellhotell. This was the first cross-country ski trip we've ever done and the hotel and its guides did everything possible to make us welcome and give us the confidence to explore the numerous trails.
The food in the hotel is excellent with plenty of Norwegian specialities on offer, especially the Norwegian buffet evening on the Wednesday. On those days when you are not back in time for lunch you are able to pack up sandwiches at breakfast and if you leave your flask on reception at night they fill it with your choice of hot drink ready for the next day.
The rooms/bathrooms are small and basic but perfectly adequate for the amount of time you spend in them. The hotel had a large lounge where you could sit and socialise and help yourself to tea and coffee throughout the day.
We'll be back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_Linda04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    18
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
36
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reeuwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

A winter paradise. The hotel has clean nice rooms, absolutely excellent buffet dinners, and a good breakfast. A personal friendly service, good facilities for waxing ones skis, advice on what trips to make, and guided tours. The area offers splendid views on the many trails that are well prepared, and cross country options are plentiful. One feels welcome. family, but very professionally, run. Not too big, not too posh, just the right size.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjk94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Yet another great trip to the Venabu FjellHotel. The food was as always excellent and the hotel very comfortable. No televisions in the bedroom encourage people to come to the lounge and mix with the other guests. We even had an impromptu guitar/flute concerrt one evening from two of the guests. The ski trails were in good condition and the cross country ski-ing excellent in -18 C temperatures. This loaction is excellent for both beginners and advanced skiers.

Only problem with Norway is the cost of alcohol but I guess it encourages you not to drink too much although I would prefer if the beer wasn't so expensive.

Room Tip: The West room is dearer than the east wing but the heated floor in the bathroom helps to dry the clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gordonftyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

7 night stay with Headwater cross country skiing in Jan 2012. Large old family run hotel but very well looked after with great views. Stayed in the 'new' wing with heated bathroom floor, only downside was shower was wet room type for disabled, but floor dried quickly. Comfy beds & very clean. Vast amounts of good food. Good location in centre of network of many easy cut tracks. Our group of 7 almost only guests so good selection of boots in a large ski room. The family & staff made the visit by attention to detail, candles & log fire lit every day, good food & interesting talks in the evenings. Only downside was the 4hr transfer to Oslo & waits at the airport. Advise check this before booking.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crispybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

Visited this hotel through a UK tour operator for a guided week of cross country skiing. I stayed in the east wing, in a single room with ensuite shower. The room was very compact, I was able to open the curtains with my toes and reach round to put the light on in the bathroom without getting out of bed! Despite that, I found it very cosy and loved the 'cabin' feel to the room. Decor and facilities are simple here, in keeping with the ethos of a fjellhotell. No tv, radio or hairdryer in the room, just a bed, desk and chair, storage spaces. Larger rooms are available at a supplement in the west wing.

there is a swankier hotel across the plateau, with a swimming pool and a more modern/chic feel. I preferred the atmosphere of the venabu hotel, the owners strive for guests and staff to feel as one family. having sampled the hospitality at the other hotel, i felt that the service had been functional but not as welcoming and lacked the warmth and charm of venabu fjellhotell.

the hotel offers up to 3 levels of skiing each day depending on your ability, stamina and aspirations. Top marks to Robert for running the ski stall, and providing coaching on all manner of useful things like how to get out of deep snow. other guides used included Wenche who was very happy to take suggestions from a relaxed group who liked to fit their skiing around coffee stops!

Skiing gives you a great appetite, and you will find excellent breakfasts, good lunches and substantial dinners. Every week a traditional norwegian long table is provided with many local specialities including game and fish, a printed guide is given to explan to non-norwegians what it is they are eating and how they should eat it. Price of drinks is pretty eye watering, but that is standard for norway. The view from the dining room window is spectacular, and adds to the pleasure of dining with fellow skiiers.

Mixed and separate saunas are available to ease the aches and pains after a tough day out. The ski stall has a decent sized prep area for waxing, hire boots could be a bit more comfortable, but that is a niggly complaint on balance with all the help and advice given throughout the stay. Every morning the skistall would provide a weather forecast, and updated piste map and a waxing tip.

There is music every night in the lounge if you have the energy to dance, and there are a couple of slide shows on set evenings on the local geography, geology, flora and fauna etc. This might be repetitive for regular guests, but it is a nice option for new guests to learn more about the surrounding fells and the local wild reindeer.

This is a brilliant place to learn, as the surrounding plateau gives you a chance to learn on fairly flattish terrain before building up to hillier tracks. In my experience, most norwegian resorts aren't so beginner friendly. Equally, there is enough challenge for experienced skiiers to be out all day on long tours.

travel to the hotel is easy, there is a hotel shuttle from oslo gardemoen airport every saturday, or a rail journey to ringebu plus transfer can be organised. the majority of the journey is very picturesque, I saw a lone elk on a frozen lake on the journey up to the hotel, was very surprised to see that from the coach.

Note - ski guides got a day off mid week, it is possible to take a snowshoe excursion to a frozen waterfall, or plan your own day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank torshi_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringebu Municipality
1.5 mi away
Spidsbergseter Resort Rondane
11.0 mi away
Gudbrandsgard Hotell
Gudbrandsgard Hotell
#4 of 4 in Ringebu Municipality
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
16.9 mi away
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
Fefor Hoifjellshotell
#1 of 3 in Vinstra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Rondablikk Hoyfjellshotell
14.8 mi away
Per Gynt Lodge
Per Gynt Lodge
#1 of 2 in Vinstra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
10.3 mi away
Rondane Gjestegard
Rondane Gjestegard
#1 of 1 in Sollia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter

Property: Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter
Address: Venabu Fjellhotell | Rondevegen 860, 2632, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oppland > Ringebu Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ringebu Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly hotel in the mountains Venabu fjellhotell is situated centrally on the Venabygdsfjellet mountain plateau, south of Rondane National Park. This special mountain area offers fine experiences in nature, across the plateau, in its lakes & streams, waterfalls & mountain tops stretching towards 1500m asl. Venabu is built in several stages in Norwegian architectural style with light & airy rooms throughout. There are 56 bedrooms with shower, WC & telephone. 6 Of the rooms are suitable for wheelchair users. We also have high standard holiday cabins for rent. Peaceful & relaxed atmosphere throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Venabu Fjellhotell og Hytter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venabu Fjellhotell Og Hytter Norway/Oppland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing