We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 STARS, but isolated location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano to your Saves list
Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Riva Lago Olivella, Vico Morcote 6921, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vico Morcote
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 STARS, but isolated location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Swiss Diamond Hotel in Morcote (About 9 Kilometers from Lugano) is a real good hotel, even it is situated isolated from any Shopping or "Action" area. The Hotel has very polite staff, knowledgeable and helpful. The rooms are elegantly decorated and the wellness area is also up mto top standards (maybe a Little bit too small, only 6 resting places and 8 chairs in the entire area.) - but the pool is large enough, 10 x 5 m (I guess?) .. Sauna and Haman and Steam bath.
Restaurat offers very good quality - as are the prices ( on simllar level ). This Hotel is a very good place to hold confidential meetings, relax alone or as couple, maybe not so much suited for families with children or People who want cities and Action. Situated on he lakeside, the view is spectecular and -esecially in summer - it is a great location.

Room Tip: It pays t o take the rooms to the lakeview side !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAC6815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here as part of Insight Gold Playgrounds of Europe tour. Probably the biggest hotel room and bathroom of the trip. Two separate closets,lots of space, very nice decor. Grounds are large, well kept, lots of space to sit out near the lake. Very nice outdoor pool. Beautiful restaurant overlooking the pool. Buffet breakfasts ok, only selection of cereals, cheeses meats, no hot food, so rather limited. The room and breakfasts were included in the tour so I cannot comment on value but be forewarned that eating at the hotel is not cheap. A buffet lunch (again, mostly cold cuts cheeses breads and fruits) is 35 euro per person, and did not include the 10 euro bottle of water or 6 euro coffee. One night, too lazy to travel and there are no restaurants (or stores or anything) near the hotel so we shared an omelet and salad. Another 30 euro for room service. We did not have supper at the hotel but another couple who did dine there said it cost well over 200 euro for dinner and wine. Only other issues include the language barrier we had with the staff and a so-so gym with absolutely no ventilation. But it is overall a very nice hotel, nice location, if you want to splurge.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms are across the street, away from the lake. Pretty quiet area so noise not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingdoc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Swiss Diamond hotel is nice, and it tries to be elegant, but it is not accurate to say it is in Lugano as the hotel name implies. It is really closer to Morcote which is not all that close to Lugano. The hotel offers a shuttle to take you in to Lugano, but you need to schedule a ride and it takes 15 minutes to get there. In addition, the room I had was nice, but on the small side.

Unless you need to be in Morcote or want some isolation, I would recommend finding a hotel in Lugano proper. There are a lot of good choices there.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay at this hotel, you should make sure you stay in a lake side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael_in_irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Beautiful hotel, a little away from the city. The restaurant has amazing service and the classiest breakfast buffet around (once you fill your plate they carry it to the table). They have a shuttle that will pick you up from the Melide train station).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed at the Swiss Diamond Hotel in September and it was a treat for our Son and Daughter
in law as a wedding gift. They live in Monaco therefore its hard to find something that comes
up to standards they are used to. Pleased to say they loved this hotel it was on the lake front
very nicely decorated with good size rooms overlooking the lake. A very short drive from Lugano
and a great short break. That said is was very very expensive from rooms to food and drink, therefore I would consider this Hotel as a special treat. We would all return so that prob speaks
for itself. The staff were very considerate and attentive and they made our 2 year old grandson
very welcome. A lovely place.

Room Tip: lake view deluxe rooms are a good middle of the road choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flybeLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Lovely hotel right on the lake. The rooms are nice sized and well equipped. The service has been very good. We had an interesting meal at the Lago restaurant. We had a group of 16, and the dinner was flawlessly handled. There are many outstanding hotels in the area. If you are looking check this one out.
The rooms have balconies where you can sit and watch the boats on the lake

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor or above for a splendid view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed one night for business and really enjoyed this short stay. Fast check-in, friendly staff, easy (valet) parking. Rooms are nice, although they look a bit old fashioned or classical (Baroque Style), they are quite new. A lot of rooms have great view on the Lake. Airco okay, but you can also open the windows. The bathroom (all pink marble) has a great rain shower, one that actually works great (a lot of power). TV/entertainment: took me 10 minuten to turn on the TV! Not great. Breakfast not 5 star, basic American Style, but outside terrace at the lake, with beautiful view, is definately 5 star quality. The bar is also very nice, didn't use the other facilities. I forgot my iPhone charger and reception sends it to my home address. Great service!

Room Tip: Definately choose a room with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vico Morcote
4.2 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
5.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
4.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#6 of 44 in Lugano
5.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
16.8 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#4 of 33 in Ascona
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano

Address: Riva Lago Olivella, Vico Morcote 6921, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Vico Morcote
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vico Morcote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano 5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the enchanting shores of Lake Lugano, this luxurious property offers elegance and charm in a breathtaking location. Behind the impressive façade, the Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano boasts dining and leisure facilities that rank among the finest in Switzerland. Only 7 km away from the centre of Lugano, the hotel features 3 restaurants serving typical regional, Mediterranean and international cuisine with a wide range of international wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Swiss Diamond Hotel Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss Diamond Resort Olivella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing