We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rural La Moragona
Ranked #1 of 1 Vara de Rey B&B and Inns
Loggerheads, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Extremely Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

On entering reception we were horrified to see three dogs occupying three of the easy chairs in the adjacent bar area. The "doggy" smell permeated down the corridor through which we were escorted to the junior suite. This room, with sitting area, flat screen TV and en-suite facilities, while clean with decent bedding, can only be described as drab, Better lighting would help, so dim that it was impossible to read by it. Contributing to a really depressing first impression were bare wires hanging from the ceiling, several bowls of ancient artificial flowers and can and glass stains in the small Coca Cola fridge containing two bottles of water. In contrast, the light and bright en-suite facilities attached to this room have been completely refurbished to a very high standard with stylish fittings worthy of a five-star hotel. The let-down was that the suite was open to the bedroom area, separated from it by only a movable screen. We consider a bathroom and toilet should be completely private and not visible from the bedroom either directly or via mirrors.

We took dinner in the restaurant and found the food served was of mediocre quality and not very well cooked or presented. The buffet breakfast, displaying a vast range of fresh fruit and cakes, but only sliced bread, was just about adequate in the items usually found on a breakfast buffet.

The location of this hotel is ideal for a quiet time and has beautiful scenic views. Other visitors have commented on the lack of signposting. Certainly the actual turn off the main road should be signposted but we street-viewed the locality before departure from England so had no difficulty in finding the hotel in the middle of the surrounding forest.

We met only one member of staff but did not discover whether or not he was, or related to, the proprietor. He received us, served in the restaurant, was pleasant, very obliging and helpful and did his best to ensure that our stay of one night was enjoyable.

With some money spent on details this hotel would be ideal for a longer stay but sadly from our experience we shall not be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    15
    10
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
45
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
593 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband had his doubts about this choice, but Alarcon's Parador was far too pricy for me to feel it was our best option 'traveling through'. The 'approach' most definitely needs for you to be on your toes whilst following Mapquest kilometer directions (owner says they can NOT put a sign up until you are 'on' their property but you might well feel you are lost even after seeing an old rusty one on the poorly maintained approach road). we felt we were the only folks staying, so nicely insolated are the spacious rooms from noise. the staff were friendly, spoke fine english, and were helpful when asked. there might have even been a fire laid out for us in the sitting-room for our wing; we discovered it AFTER dinner and stirred the embers for a final cuddle on the comfy couch. this room, we were told, had television w/ many english stations, however our suite had a flat screen as well and was beautifull appointed w/ HUGE bathroom, large tub/ separate shower, and cute sitting room. My only complaint would be the small 'Coca cola' fridge that buzzed far more than its usefulness (of holding two cans of water) could justify (would've/should've just unplugged it).
We were quite pleased not to feel we needed to go out for dinner in SanClemente 12 kilometer away. By the time we arrived for dinner at 8:40 or so there was a table of 8 as well as one other couple seated, yet the hosts managed to bring our selection of entrees and bottle of house wine efficiently. The total came to around 25 Euro , much more reasonable than the Parador offering(s) and though not as grandly served, quite delicious. The morning's breakfast offerings were vast, including hardboiled egg, yoghurts, many many 'carb' offerings, cheeses & meats. When we left, we inquired about 'wine tasting' and were told of a 'Bodega' (wine 'warehouse') in SanClemente where we bought two lovely bottles of La Moragona's house wine for 5Euro.

This is a nice 'out of the way' peaceful place, perfect for a romantic getaway. It was nice to have my husband admit at the end of our week in spain that this was one of his favorites and a nice 'contender' to the Parador experience. If you want an alternative for supper, San Clemente, nearby, is an agra-town but looked to have such.

Room Tip: Hmmmm, believe we were in (Suite) 5, though anything along that wing including room #7 should be goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you need to find somewhere to stop between Madrid and Alicante/Valencia then look no further. Really personal service, great attention to detail, clean well furnished and spacious rooms, nice pool, great food and best of all, 5 star all-round service at 3 star prices - the staff really could not do enough for our family and made a real fuss of our 11 month old which is always nice. After a long drive-flight-drive this place was like an oasis in the desert!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

With limited stopover options on a drive between Madrid and Valencia region the Hotel Rural La Moragona was a real find. The room was ideal - a big bed, big bathroom and a real cot for our baby...... much better than the usual travel cot option!
The food was lovely and a great selection of authentic Spanish cuisine was on offer - A proper highchair was also an unexpected bonus!
Lastly, the staff were very friendly and helpful....... The price wasn't too bad either!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stopped off at this hotel on our recent trip from Santander to the Cosa Blanca. It was dark and late when we arrived and the hotel is difficult to find but is only a couple of mile from junction 13 of the main A31 Madrid to Albercete motorway. ( A tip: I used Google Street View before we left to have an idea of location because this hotel is not actually in the town of Vara De Rey.

We were given a fantastic welcome by the owner who showed us to our room and we enjoyed dinner and a few drinks in the bar before retiring to a clean and quiet room for the night. The breakfast is traditional continental but loads of choice with fruit and freshly squeezed oranges in abundance.....Overall an excellent and relaxing stopover. Service impeccable. Room and Breakfast for two people was €55 + Dinner and drinks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beemermal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vara de Rey
14.7 mi away
Hotel Palacio Villa de Alarcon & Spa
9.4 mi away
Hotel Bodega La Venta
Hotel Bodega La Venta
#1 of 1 in Casas de los Pinos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
6.9 mi away
Casa de los Acacio
Casa de los Acacio
#1 of 1 in San Clemente
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Hotel Tierrallana
Hotel Tierrallana
#1 of 1 in El Provencio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
14.7 mi away
Parador de Alarcon
Parador de Alarcon
#1 of 2 in Alarcon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
23.3 mi away
Palacio Buenavista Hospederia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural La Moragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural La Moragona

Property: Hotel Rural La Moragona
Address: Nac 310 Km 168 | Nac 310 Direccion San Clemente km 168 Vara de Rey queda a la derecha subida al Hotel izquierda, 16709 Vara de Rey, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Cuenca > Vara de Rey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Vara de Rey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural La Moragona 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rural La Moragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing