We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Lion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Red Lion Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hinxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Langford,, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I dont normally stay outside of Cambridge, but it was full and so I had to find a hotel close by at the last minute. An excellent find, Comfortable room with clean and modern facilities, wifi, a great restaurant.
Excellent value for money
I will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark600519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    43
    33
    17
    5
See reviews for
30
70
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

An extremely poor meal on Saturday, although previous times we have eaten there it was good.
The cured bass was completely raw, and to make it worse when I complained I was told 'it is meant to be like that'!
Wine list was requested and came, but no-one took our wine order, so no wine to start with, but (this is Faulty Towers) when it did come, the bucket had a hole in it, so water leaked over our clothes.
Soon a waiter came by and asked in that fake way 'Is everything OK with your meal?', to which I responded 'on a scale of 1 to 10, you are on 1 at the moment'. He smiled and walked away, not to get the manager, but to ignore the comment.
When the lemon sole arrived it was completely overcooked, but by then we had written the evening off as 'A bad experience, not to be repeated.'
AVOID.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexClarke, Owner at The Red Lion Inn, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for coming to visit us again. I am glad you enjoyed the food on previous visits and the location and cleanliness this time, but sorry that the food and service this time was not up to your usual experience with us. It is frustrating when good visits get no reviews, but one less good visit not only gets a poor review but also an "AVOID", particularly when this is your only review on Tripadvisor - we can only assume that we did especially badly and I apologise for this.

I am sorry the cured sea bass off our Special Fish Board was not to your liking and that this was not managed well. We prepared eight portions of this Special and yours was the seventh sold that night. The others did in fact go down extremely well but this does not of course make the dish correct and I am glad that we replaced your starter with no charge and that you enjoyed the replacement. My manager that night was sorry that she offended you by her comments and we have discussed how she could have managed the situation better another time.

The team clearly have some lessons to learn from your other helpful comments - they have all been taken up with them and hopefully will not be repeated. I am sorry that we let you down on this occasion.

Luckily these sorts of incidences are rare and I trust that you will give us the benefit of the doubt and that we will be able to welcome you back for a more representative experience soon.

Thank you again for your help.
Kind regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our party of ten met at the Red Lion which included a high chair for a 14 month old baby on Sunday 25th August 2013.
When we arrived we were greeted by a lady manager and were shown to our table which was reserved and laid up complete with a high chair.
The manager came over to us an explained that they had a large wedding lunch and there would be a delay in food service and promptly asked us if we would like bowls of olives and nuts which appeared almost immediately.
Our food orders were taken and in about twenty minutes the main courses arrived four people had roast sirloin of beef and the others bar for one had roast pork,one of our party asked and got rare beef,two medium and one well done the meats were just perfect and very tender with a good selection of hot vegetables we all cleared our plates ,the food was that tasty.
Most of us had desserts which were just delicious and l must add,there were lots of staff who were all very good and finally the manager came over to the table to apologise for the delay and did we enjoy our meals.
The pub/hotel/restaurant deserves the five star rating as it was so good even the toilets were spotless and fresh smelling.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just spent a great weekend at the Red Lion and would definitely recommend it. It lies in a quiet village (check out the village library) close to cambridge and the Duxford Imperial war museum which is well worth a visit. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable and are situated in a separate complex within the pub's garden.The food in the restaurant was excellent and the waiting and bar staff were brilliant, real service with a smile. There was a good range of beers and wines and it was really relaxing just sitting in the pub's garden in the sunshine just before dinner. I look forward to a repeat visit if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towcester
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

my sister and niece treated myself and my beloved to lunch, having already arranged for me to have a Tiger Moth flight at Duxford that morning.

a nice looking pub in a nice looking village, it was hard to fault. I had fresh calamari, dusted with a light curry batter -delicious - followed with a very competent burger. no puds, too full. perhaps my macciato was a bit thin, so would know next time to ask for it a bit stronger. my beloved loved her fish and no complaints from my sister and niece about their burgers. or indeed the total price, I think less than £20 ahead with drinks and a tip.

ok, so we had not very ambitious choices, but it was all very nicely presented, with charming, willing service. liked the decor, a lot of genuine treewood beams and good loos, so, all in all, a hot pick if you are around those parts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nykwilkyins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Red Lion is in a sleepy, des-res village in Cambridgeshire. I went there for lunch and thought it one of the best pub lunches I've ever had. I ordered from the specials menu and had smoked haddock on a bed of leeks and purée potato served with a mouth-watering mustard sauce. The portion was very generous. My friend (who's vegetarian) had a wide selection of choices and had a tasty pasta dish. Even better was to come: dessert! I thoroughly recommend the chef's tasting platter - which comes with three puddings from the menu and is the ideal size to share. The salted caramel tart is to die for.

Lovely old fashioned interior; good service (though I will admit it was quiet when we were there - only a couple of other diners so don't know what it would be like if busy); excellent range of local beers. Overall decent value for money and I'm looking forward to a repeat visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for one night...alas it was the hottest night of the year, the rooms are nicely decorated and ample space nice to see a good choice of teas in the room, we had a small dog with us and she too was welcomed.
We ate from the bar menu in the evening and sat outside, both food & wine were good. We found all the staff friendly and helpful.
The breakfast we had in the bar because of the dog, we ordered the cook breakfast which was very good a generous portion and all fresh food and bread, we were served cheerfully & promptly.
The only thing that marred our breakfast was the cleaner wanted to hoover around us, we asked the waitress if the cleaner could return when we finished breakfast which she did.
The cleaner came past our table and glared...if looks could kill we would be a pile of ashes??
Shame, because overall we recommend others to go?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hinxton
1.1 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
1.5 mi away
The Crown House
The Crown House
#1 of 1 in Great Chesterford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
7.2 mi away
Sheene Mill
Sheene Mill
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.2 mi away
The John Barleycorn
The John Barleycorn
#1 of 2 in Duxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn

Property: The Red Lion Inn
Address: 32 High Street, Hinxton CB10 1QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Hinxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hinxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Red Lion Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi-award winning (Freehouse, Gastro Food and Accommodation Pub of the Year finalist at The Publican Awards) Classic 16th Century Grade II listed Freehouse in a tiny conservation village, sitting in a walled garden overlooked by a dovecote and the village church. Beamed ceilings, log fires, four cask ales, well known restaurant (AA Rosette, Local Secrets top place to eat and drink in the south of Cambridge 2008 award, Alastair Sawday, Good Pub, Good Beer & Good Food Guides, "top 50 pub garden in the country") - oak raftered traditional dry peg construction. Eight new-build double ensuites, direct dial telephone, free internet access (modem and wireless), 4 AA stars. New sister pub - The Black Bull. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Red Lion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Lion Inn Hinxton Hotel Hinxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing