We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We have just returned from a fabulous week staying at one of the Lodges in the grounds of Aherlow House Hotel. I had availed of a great rate on a TV3 Deal of the Day and as I did not know this area at all felt it would be nice to check it out. Well we were not disappointed.
The lodges are huge and so bright and clean. We had the main bedroom which had a balcony looking out over the beautiful mountains. What a sight to wake up to! The other bedrooms were also quite large and all were ensuite. As we had a toddler with us, it was also very handy to have the washer and dryer in the kitchen together with the dishwasher so very little work necessary on holiday! We ate outside on the deck most of the time as the views were so beautiful.
We also did quite a few of the "looped walks" which were recommended in the welcome pack we received when checking in and these were great.
We ate in the restaurant one night and it was gorgeous - both service and food were perfect. We also had the bar food a few times and again it was great.
This is a perfect place if you want to relax and just chill out or if you want to take the walks through the forest/mountains. Tipperary town is 10 minutes drive away so you can stock up if you wish.
We found all of the staff we dealt with very friendly and helpful. One of the days we were relaxing on the deck when we were greeted by Roger, the Sales & Marketing Manager and he asked if we were enjoying ourselves and if all was ok. He also gave us a few tips on where to go and what to see etc. We all commented afterwards that it was a really nice personal and friendly touch that is sometimes lacking in other hotels. He also told us that October would be good to look at again for returning and I think he sold it to us!
If I had to make one little bad comment it would be that maybe this hotel is not advertised enough - we had never heard of it before and we all said that it is definitely somewhere we would have visited before had we known about it.
But now we do know about it, we will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen-Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 427 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed in the Lodges, they were well equiped, clean and beautiful views. Satff in hotel very helpful, plently of walks and local pubs treat, Hotel pub food good value.Only dissapointment was at check out, we found the ESB charge on the Lodges to be extortionet given we didnt cook or use the heating. Overall still a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank powerpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aherlow, Owner at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2010

Dear Powerpig,

Thank you for your recent comments regarding our lodges here at Aherlow House. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I note your comments regarding the electricity but due to the anonymity of the comments I have been unable to check your particular lodge to review the costs. Would you be so kind as to contact me personally at ferghal@aherlowhouse.ie after which I will personally conduct a review of your charges and revert to you.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Ferghal Purcell
Managing Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

we stayed in the lodges and found them very spacious and clean for a family of 5.
lovely views and found bar food very nice and reasonably priced. found staff very friendly and helpful.will definitely be back !

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonebridge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Aherlow House is a lovely hotel in one of the most beautiful spots in Ireland. If you would like to experience a non-touristy part of Ireland, this is the place. The welcome is warm, the food is terrific, and the views are unbeatable. You can almost feel yourself relax as you drive up to the main building of the hotel. We stayed in one of the "self-catering" lodges that adjoins the hotel. We had three bedrooms and three baths along with a kitchen and sitting room and the all-important washer and dryer. We only stayed two nights, but would have loved to have stayed longer. I've travelled to Ireland many times and this has become one of my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDT_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed in one of the self-catering lodges with two other couples and it was just perfect. The hotel and lodges all have beautiful views of the Galty Mountains and the food at the hotel was so excellent that we didn't bother to cook for ourselves at all! There is plenty to do in the area including exploring Bunratty Castle and village and there are wonderful walks all around. The staff were just lovely and couldn't have been more welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EEBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Friends and I just spent some time at this hotel to check out walks. The owner, Ferghal, and staff are very welcoming and extremely knowledgable about the wonderful area that they live in. Rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean with great views. The walks which we took, with Michael as our guide, are breathtakingly beautiful and we returned refreshed and at peace with the world. Dinner in the dining room was excellent and we enjoyed the Galtee mountain views as we ate. Helen from the tourist information center is a power of information and passionate about her job. Thank you all so much, we'll return when time allows.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rainbowhostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We just stayed here this Easter weekend. It was warm, staff were very helpful and when we needed some help with a personal situation they were very accommodating. The room was a little tight and the bathroom could have done with a bit upgrading but over all it was really relaxing and a lovely break away. I was surprised they they didn't have a lift. I felt it was quite inaccessible, and a little squashed in the bar when there was a party on. They don't seem to have any extra function room, so the place seems very small when any kind of function is on.
I would still recommend the hotel, they couldn't have been more helpful

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labyrinthab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen of Aherlow
5.1 mi away
Great National Ballykisteen Golf Hotel
8.9 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Cahir House Hotel
Cahir House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahir
426 reviews
19.7 mi away
Clonmel Park Hotel, Leisure Center and ECO Spa
24.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges

Address: | Glen of Aherlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Glen of Aherlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glen of Aherlow
Price Range: $87 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Heart of what can only be described as the "Alps of Ireland", the Glen of Aherlow you can relax and unwind from the fast paced and enjoy the unspoilt beauty of the Galtee Mountain Range.Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges comprises of 29 well appointed Guest Bedrooms and 15 Three Bedroom Self Catering Alpine style lodges.Experience the tranquillity in its glory on one of the well appointed walking trails that border the hotel or relaxing in the Hunting lodge bar beside an Open log fire and sample the finest of local cusine from our bar food menu. For the more food enthusiatic side of you, choose from our Head Chefs extensive Restaurant menu which you can enjoy in the comfort of our Tree Top Restaurant.Located within a short distance of the Hotel you can enjoy the Historic with a Visit to The Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle,The Swiss Cottage or the wonder of the Michelstown caves. Also clsoe by you can partake in Horseriding, Childrens activities and many more wonders that Tipperary and Aherlow have for you to discover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aherlow House Hotel Glen Of Aherlow
Aherlow House Hotel And Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges Glen Of Aherlow, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing