We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Mountain Lodge with fantastic views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Mountain Lodge with fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in the Atherlow House Hotel the first week in April. The weather was cold but really sunny. The views were fantastic looking out over Galtee Mór. The hotel itself is right in the middle of some of the looped walks so great for walking breaks. You could leave the car for the stay and walk everyday from the hotel.The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The manager and the other staff were really friendly. The bar with the log fire constantly burning was lovely. We ate a meal as part of the package and it was nice. Great value for money - we had a special mid week rate. We would stay again. Anne, Waterford

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear AnneMrs,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful review. We are very grateful for your excellent feedback on both staff and food, it makes our work very worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future for another visit to Aherlow House Hotel.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    113
    60
    33
    19
See reviews for
115
165
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I sent my elderly parents here for a two night stay last week. The weather had been cold so my folks were concerned about staying in a cold room! Not a problem, infact they almost found it too hot the 1st night - not a bad complaint! They said the food was delicious and the staff most friendly and helpful.
They returned home most relaxed and with big smiles on their faces.
That is what I was hoping for.
Thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear George H,

Thank you for your glowing review! We are delighted that your parents enjoyed their stay with us here in Aherlow House Hotel and your amazing comments on both staff and food are really appreciated. We will ensure that they are passed to the entire team.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I left my charger for my laptop behind and when I got back to England had a phone call telling me that they had found it and were posting it on to me. How good is that after all the lovely meals,friendly service and very reasonable prices. A beautiful setting, a warm reception and a lovely open fire. Just what was needed to cheer anyone up in a cold March day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickM352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear PatrickM352,
We were delighted to return your charger to you and we are sincerely grateful to you for leaving your comments on your stay here in Aherlow House Hotel, we really appreciate your wonderful feedback.
Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was in the Aherlow House for a couple of days last week, attending my brother's wedding. I have not enjoyed myself as much in a long time. The setting, in the Glen of Aherlow, was awesome, in the mist as well as sunshine. I must admit I spent some time in the bar in front of an open fire seated on big, comfortable armchairs. Food was excellent, service was exceptional and the staff from top to bottom, were friendly, happy and chatty. I would go so far as to say they all seemed happy. This was my first time in Aherlow House but I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I there is a few of you the lodges are great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Pat P,
Sincere thanks for your wonderful comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your brother’s wedding here in the Hotel was a relaxing break away for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future for another visit to Aherlow House Hotel.
Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful stay at the aherlow house hotel, it was a return visit for 5 of us and just as lovely as I remembered. Thanks to the reservations manager who obliged us with our request for rooms with views of the galtee mountains. The hotel was warm and cosy including the rooms, and there was a lovely log fire burning everyday. Thank you to Billy and his team for looking after us, nothing was too much trouble. Even after sleeping in on the first morning and thinking we had missed breakfast, Billy happily arranged for 3 of us to have a full Irish breakfast (thanks Billy). Evening meals were lovely. Hotel was very busy on the Sunday night that we arrived but after that we felt like we had the whole hotel to ourselves with a very personal service. Hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view (rooms at the front of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kath p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Kath P,
Thank you for your glowing review, we are delighted that the Hotel has left such a good lasting impression on you and in particular thank for your special mention of Billy. We are proud of our Hotel and really do appreciate reviews like this, it makes our work worthwhile.
Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lmerick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

we booked a table for four to celebrate mothers day.hotel was very busy and lunch was just beautiful.this hotel is in a setting unrivalled in the area.the scenery is beautiful.the hotel is old worldly and is so inviting when the weather is bad outside. we found the service second to none with staff attentive and friendly.the hotel had a lovely gift for all mothers which was a nice touch and will bring us back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Catherine 1,
Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your Mother’s Day Lunch here and look forward to welcoming you back to use your gift from us on the day very soon.
Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just checked out this morning from a lovely 2 night stay. The hotel is deep in the beautiful Glen of Aherlow. Nothing in sight but mountains, forest and green fields. Unfortunately the weather was very misty and dull but the hotel was so warm and cosy we relished coming back to it. It is a typical Irish country hotel, dark decor, a bit old-fashioned, but very welcoming. The staff were all local and friendly and helpful. We ate there twice during our stay, both in the restaurant and bar. The food was terrific, plain but beautifully cooked and again all local produce. The steaks were really good. Unfortunately due to the weather we could not avail of the numerous walking trail opportunities on the doorstep. The bathrooms could definitely be updated, but everything else made up for this shortcoming.

Room Tip: Uneven numbers face to the front with the beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne O, Manager at Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Dublinmot,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your wonderful review. We were delighted to read of your experience with us and we are most grateful for your compliments on both the hotel, staff and food. We do hope to welcome you back to Aherlow House Hotel in the future and hopefully next time the weather will be better and you could avail of the spectacular loops walks around the hotel.
Kind Regards
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen of Aherlow
5.1 mi away
Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort
8.8 mi away
Kilcoran Lodge Hotel
14.2 mi away
Baileys Hotel Cashel
Baileys Hotel Cashel
#1 of 2 in Cashel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel Minella
Hotel Minella
#1 of 6 in Clonmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
19.8 mi away
Clonmel Park Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges

Property: Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges
Address: | Glen of Aherlow, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Glen of Aherlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Glen of Aherlow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Heart of what can only be described as the "Alps of Ireland", the Glen of Aherlow you can relax and unwind from the fast paced and enjoy the unspoilt beauty of the Galtee Mountain Range.Aherlow House Hotel and Lodges comprises of 29 well appointed Guest Bedrooms and 15 Three Bedroom Self Catering Alpine style lodges.Experience the tranquillity in its glory on one of the well appointed walking trails that border the hotel or relaxing in the Hunting lodge bar beside an Open log fire and sample the finest of local cusine from our bar food menu. For the more food enthusiatic side of you, choose from our Head Chefs extensive Restaurant menu which you can enjoy in the comfort of our Tree Top Restaurant.Located within a short distance of the Hotel you can enjoy the Historic with a Visit to The Rock of Cashel, Cahir Castle,The Swiss Cottage or the wonder of the Michelstown caves. Also clsoe by you can partake in Horseriding, Childrens activities and many more wonders that Tipperary and Aherlow have for you to discover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aherlow House Hotel And Lodges
Aherlow House Hotel Glen Of Aherlow
Aherlow House Hotel & Lodges Glen Of Aherlow, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing