We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room overlooking paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room overlooking paddock
Kitchen/Dining area with double oven, dishwasher,washing machine, and fridge freezer Adjoining paddock; home to friendly sheep, lambs pygmy goats and pigs
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Living room overlooking paddock
Kitchen/Dining area with double oven, dishwasher,washing machine, and fridge freezer
Adjoining paddock; home to friendly sheep, lambs pygmy goats and pigs
Large TV with Sky TV including Sky Sports; and  DVD player
Hallway leading to Bedrooms and Bathroom
Bedroom 1 - King Size Bed, quality pocket sprung mattress
Bedroom 2 - Two 3ft Single Beds, quality pocket sprung mattresses. TV/DVD player
Private garden with raised terrace; Beautiful views across village and open countryside
Plenty of comfortable seating in very spacious open plan living room/kitchen-diner
Bathroom with bath and power-shower
Entrance to Hursey Gate Stables
Court yard area at the front of Hursey Gate Stables
View of village from the large raised terrace
The Pygmy goats are great characters and are very popular with guests.
Lyme Regis, evening sun
The view from Golden Cap 25 mins away.
Broadwindsor looking towards Lewesdon Hill
Broadwindsor from Hollis Hill
The village public house, very friendly good food
Surrounding countryside from the paddock.
Forde Abbey, wonderful gardens and house nearby.
Lyme Regis looking towards the harbour and the Cob.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Broadwindsor, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
sally f
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed June 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

stayed at the stables many times and can highly recommend it. westhill is my favourite holiday destination and already booked to return in may, june, july and september. yes it's really that good!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally f
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous holiday let”
Reviewed July 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

enjoyed a long and peaceful holiday in hursey gate stables. love everything about the place; have stayed there many times. already booked for later this year and several weeks next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fdblackwe...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming, time and time again!”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is our third visit to Hursey Stable and it never fails to impress. Broadwindsor is a lovely village, close to Bridport and Lyme Regis - superb location for walking and beach holidays. The cottage was beautifully clean and tidy and our dog made herself at home very quickly!! Elaine was there to greet us and answer any questions we had - the information guide provided was detailed and informative. Hursey Stable sleeps 4 - the kitchen/dining/sitting room easily accommodates four (plus dog) and has many thoughtful details and comes equipped with what is expected in a self catering cottage. The beds were very comfortable, my husband especially rated the mattress and the bedding was of a very good quality. As I have said, this is our third visit - it is not our last. This is our 'go to' accommodation for Dorset/Devon/Somerset. Five Stars!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed November 23, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely cottage, lovely situation, dog friendly, nice and warm what more do you need. Had a fantastic stay. Will certainly go again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peace, quiet and home from home”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I think it says all I need to in that this is our 3rd visit to Broadwindsor (having stayed in Orchard Cottage previously). The stables are slightly smaller but in no way does this detract from the comfort and style of the beautiful cottage. Wooden beams and floors, big comfy sofas, fully fitted kitchen with farm house kitchen table mix effortlessly with Sky tv (movies and all) and a bath and powerful shower. Old and new collide to make the stay as comfortable on the eye as it is on the body. The living room opens onto a deck over-looking fields, the only noise to disturb you is the occasional sheep or church bells from the near-by village.
Broadwindsor itself is a picture perfect village with a friendly pub, community store and craft centre, surrounded by walks through the Dorset country side.. Not far away is the slightly bigger village of Beaminster, with village square, shops, pubs and restaurants. Even further afield (but not too far - 15 mins by car) is Bridport. Street markets, antique shops and a variety of shops, cafes and restaurants make this a great place for more than one visit.10 minutes further takes you to West Bay and the seaside. A stoney beach, harbour for crabbing, more antiques and sights familiar to anyone who watched Broadchurch - on a good day you might even spot David Tennent!! Certainly a trip on the rowing boats will take you past his fictional house.
Weymouth, Lyme Regis, Dorchester and many other fabulous places are all within an easy drive so whatever the weather there is always something to do for all age groups (we have a 21 year old and a 12 year old).
As ever David, Elaine and family make you feel so welcome from the moment you arrive. They are full of 'insider' tips for places to visit and are always on hand to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
My only complaint is that a week is not long enough......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort of accommodation, peace and quiet and great location
Liked least: Not there long enough!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally f
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

stayed here many times, always enjoy it. such a lovely setting, and the accommodation is fab. very well equipped. owners are delightful and very obliging. i'd live here if i could!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: i like everything about it
Liked least: there isn't anything i don't like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJW161
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely cottage, warm and cosy, well equipped for self catering. Clean and well presented. Lovely location with friendly sheep outside the door and two "pet" pigs which we enjoyed feeding our veg peelings to. Rated 4/5 location purely because we didn't explore immediate local area so wasn't aware of what we could have done, instead we travelled slightly further, visiting longleat safari park, the New Forest, and Peppa pig theme park all of which are within an hour and half drive. Lyme Regis nearest beach is more of a traditional seaside town rather than being too commercialised with eateries and amusements, and therefore was a nice place to visit locally.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing