We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baron at Bucknell (aka Baron of Beef)

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Baron at Bucknell (aka Baron of Beef)
Ranked #1 of 4 Bucknell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

A great place to stay - location ideal for exploring Shropshire and surrounding areas. Wonderful bedroom and bathroom - spotlessly clean and with eveything you could possibly need for a comfortable stay. It was obvious that a lot of thought had gone into planning and deorating the five bedrooms. The owners are lovely and friendly and you immediately feel welcome. Our evening meal was excellent - tasty, well-cooked, good quality food, plus excellent local ales! Breakfast was also really good, with a wide choice (including home-made granola, and even home-made baked beans!) There is also a beautifully maintained garden behind the pub, but unfortunately it was raining so we were unable to take advantage of it! Everything was just perfect - just a shame we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harr0gate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
80
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were treated to a long weekend at The Baron.
There is a warm welcome to a very comfortable room (one of five), which was spotlessly clean. The setting is rural with great views and a 10 mile drive to Ludlow.
Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice. Helpings at all times were very generous and well presented and cooked perfectly.
The dinner menu was also very good - a good choice of well cooked, well presented food. The wine list is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynncw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Baron is a warm and welcoming bed and breakfast set in a very beautiful and peaceful part of the Shropshire countryside. My family and I arrived after an unpleasant experience at the self-catering accommodation we had previously booked. To our relief, both our rooms were spotlessly clean, characterful and beautifully presented. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the on-suite showers roomy and well appointed. The food was great. Twice we had an evening meal there which we all found to be delicious and there was plenty of tasty choice at breakfast. All the staff were friendly and accommodating to the point were Phil offered the loan of one of his children's toys because I had forgotten my grandsons toy cars. I cant recommend this place enough. EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: I had room 3 which faces the country road but it was not noisy. Some rooms have lovely views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed last minute at the Baron after being sorely dissapointed with a self-catering accomodation we had previously booked elsewhere in Shropshire.

The staff at the Baron did everything to accomodate us over the phone and we raced down to Bucknell and were certainly not dissapointed this time.

There was a warm welcome and the rooms were beautifully decorated with character throughout and were spotlessly clean. The pub/resturant itself is nestled within the rolling Shropshire hills and the view from the well maintained beer garden is fantastic.

The evening meals were very tastey and were genuinely home made using good quality and most of all fresh ingredience. The breakfasts were equally as good.

The staff were all very friendly and down to earth so the atomsphere was relaxing.

I came with my heavily pregnant wife, my four year old and mother - we were so glad we came to the Baron because it more than made up for the very poor acommodation we turned up to elsewhere in Shropshire.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here for The Royal Welsh Show. Phil and the team are excellent hosts, genuine, helpful and flexible. Great food - I recommend the potato skins which they made for me (keeping the kitchen open late especially for my late arrival). The room was decorated in a 'boutique' style and was clean, welcoming, full of character and well appointed. This is a lovely place to stay in a peaceful and beautiful location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We headed down to stay at the baron so we could visit the royal welsh show. We didn't arrive until gone 9pm, and had a rather sleepy toddler with us. We cheekily asked if we could grab a sandwich as we were starving and were presented with the menu, so sat down to a super scrumptious lasagne at gone 10pm which was super lovely of them. The room was fab, very clean and comfy. Breakfast was fantastic the following morning. Highly recommend we will stay longer next time!

Room Tip: We had room 3, the last one left which we were told was very small, but was more than ample for what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

we only stay one night but wish we booked longer at this sleepy country inn
the countryside location is truely amazing
we were checked in at the bar and shown our room by a warm and friendly lady
the room upstairs was newlly refurbished spotless and very tastfully done
we ate in the bar food was freshly prepared and of a superb quality
the service was second to none and the breakfast was amazing
we loved everything about the baron and would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnj694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucknell
9.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
4.2 mi away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
10.2 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
9.9 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#4 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron at Bucknell (aka Baron of Beef)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron at Bucknell (aka Baron of Beef)

Property: The Baron at Bucknell (aka Baron of Beef)
Address: Chapel Lawn Road, Bucknell, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Bucknell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bucknell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baron at Bucknell (aka Baron of Beef) 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Baron at Bucknell (aka Baron of Beef) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baron At Bucknell (Aka Baron Of Beef) Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing