We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friends reunion”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

A group of friends went to one of the speciality nights and stayed in one of the lodges.
We had a wonderful evening with excellent food good wine and friendly staff.
The lodge had five bedrooms all with on suite bathrooms plus a large living room and well equipped kitchen, we particularly liked the wine chiller.
Breakfast was very good but not for the fainthearted.
Our only regret is that we did not stay two nights bur we shall return again soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    30
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
17
11
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is the 4th year running that our small golf society, around 12 people, has chosen to return to Lakeside Lodge and once again we were not disappointed. The service, as always, was friendly, efficient and very obliging. This is for the whole experience, both throughout the booking process, during which we changed our numbers and requirements 3 or 4 times, and the stay itself.
We have now stayed in several different lodges and have found them all to be be spacious, clean and comfortable. Our group particularly love the lodge concept, situated as they are around a picturesque pond a short walk from the main buildings and with your own sitting room to enjoy a nightcap and chat at the end of the day.
We have always upgraded to the a la carte menu and found the food in the restaurant to be excellent, good portions with lots of choice to cater for all tastes. The breakfast is of fair quality too and, being self-service, again is ideal to cater for individual needs. Although not on this occasion, we have found that on a busier weekend the service bar could do with being replenished quicker.
Our stay was around the Sunday night of the big storm but we were lucky enough to still get a round of golf in on both days and stay dry. The course was in reasonable condition, considering the recent weather and time of year, although the greens could have been better. On the 2nd day, after the storm, we were offered the option of not playing and having a refund as there was plenty of surface water. We elected to play and was glad that we did, as the ground staff were very active throughout the round, pumping out bunkers etc, enabling us to have an enjoyable time and we finished in sunshine.
We have not sampled the fitness centre or swimming pool as yet, but have used the ten-pin bowling lanes after our meal. A good additional attraction for the group.
All in all a good venue, at a reasonable price in a good and convenient location. One, I personally am very happy to recommend and I feel sure that this will not be our lsat visit..

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the lodges and not the fairway room and have found no fault with any that we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days golfing with a couple of friends. The Lodge was very large, warm and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent, the only drawback was after ordering (we ate here of two nights) was that we had to wait 40 minutes before the food came. The breakfasts were also good (especially the bread) and the staff were very friendly always ready to have a conversation,
We ate at the Fat Cat pub (just up the road although too far to walk this time of year in the dark) fish and chips for two £11.
All in all a good break was enjoyed by all four of us.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DobbinSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

In October 2013 the British Mycological Society held their annual fungus foray at Lakeside Lodge, with 38 attendees and me as organiser. Right from the planning stage the owners did everything to make our event a success. The staff were always friendly and helpful. You always get a few problems with this number of people but they were all sorted out quickly. The kitchen coped well with the large, noisy group and the meals were very good with big portions of main course and dessert. The plates could have been hotter at times though. I enjoyed the self-service breakfasts, especially the lovely thick brown toast! I personally loved the pine-furnished lodge accommodation in the woods around a pond, and apart from a few plumbing issues which were fixed quickly I heard no adverse comments from the others. There was no problem controlling the temperature and all the lodge windows could be opened if it got too hot. All in all, a great venue for a large event and I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalton, Luton UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in room 13 for a wedding at the centre, the bedroom has a small double and one single bed in. The bedding was old a smelled a bit musty, although sheets were clean and white. There was a spider in our room and a cobweb in the corner above the door.
In the morning when we showered, the shower is scaled up with lime scale and the settings didn't work well, either too hot or too cold. But the shower tray filled up and took ages to flow away. The toilet also nearly overflowed for some reason? Maybe blockage in the soil pipe? Shower needs replacing in this room.
The venue itself is quite nice, with very helpful and friendly staff.
It's a shame they can't update the rooms because they are a bit pricey for what you get. Breakfast included, buffet style but kept running out of food, not enough staff on in the morning, two members of restaurant staff were run ragged but still very helpful, they deserve a medal!
This would be a lovely venue if they can update and refurbish the rooms. At present they still look too much like a sauna with all that pine panelling! Please management listen to your constructive feedback.
I would return and would give a fab review if accommodation is modernised and brought into the present day.
All the staff we had contact with were all absolutely lovely. We did report problems with shower etc to reception on leaving, so hopefully that will be fixed before the next guests in that particular room. Don't rule out staying here but be prepared.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooksy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Lakeside Lodge andreally loved the lodges. The location is so beautiful and the lodges around the lake and excellent. The golf course, tenpin bowling and gym provide plenty to do. The restaurant food is excellent, but the breakfast is average. The service from all the staff was brilliant and really helps ensure a warm and friendly experience. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are much nicer than that main hotel - which are more tired looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 00_traveller_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The bedrooms were terribly old fashioned and hot. The decor looks very 80's, covered in pine panelling. It was also stifling hot which made it very uncomfortable.

However the staff were helpful and kind.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel, it was convienent for us as we went to a wedding close by however wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerbread3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pidley
7.7 mi away
The Old Bridge
The Old Bridge
#1 of 9 in Huntingdon
471 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
7.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#6 of 9 in Huntingdon
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
Oliver's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Ives
124 reviews
8.4 mi away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
#4 of 9 in Huntingdon
639 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eagle Mill Country Boutique Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre

Property: Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre
Address: Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre Fen Road, Pidley, Huntingdon PE28 3DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Pidley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pidley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing