We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The bedrooms were terribly old fashioned and hot. The decor looks very 80's, covered in pine panelling. It was also stifling hot which made it very uncomfortable.

However the staff were helpful and kind.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel, it was convienent for us as we went to a wedding close by however wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gingerbread3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

There are a number of lodges and bedrooms at this centre which I have not used and therefore cannot comment on, but can mention the other facilities.
Firstly golf - good pro shop with instruction & driving range. Plenty of choice for playing - an eighteen hole, nine hole and six hole courses plus a par 3 pitch & putt, something for everyone.
There is also a four lane bowling alley and a health club & gym.
The bar & restaurant are pretty good and are open to non-members

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Nice place, rooms ok and clean. Need updating a bit but for the money excellent value. (paid £45 per night)
Had a couple of games bowling and then ate in the restaurant, good food at a good price.
Three of us stayed in one of the cabins (three rooms per cabin), all with on suites and we all shared our own kitchen which was handy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captain-S_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had our daughters wedding at this excellant centre, from our very first unexpected visit the staff could not be more helpful. Everything the bride and groom asked for was done and the advice was spot on.
Dispite the wedding planner being taken ill her replacement Clare took over and nothing was to much trouble for and her staff. Clare guided the event, families and guests from start to finish and it was faultless and the meal was very good and service excellant.
Thank you Lakeside and Clare so very much

Room Tip: The chalet's to rent are expensive and they won't reduce the cost even if tied to an event g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cheapo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our second visit to Lakeside and this time to stay for my Son's wedding. We stayed in one of the lodges which were well furnished and warm,ideal for several families staying under one roof. The reception was held in a lovely room connected to a balcony overlooking the 18th hole,perfect setting and the food served by the new head chef and his team was delicious. Only two minor comments, one the w.i.f.i was none to clever and the drinks a little pricey,but after Spain everywhere is expensive. This is a location that is going places. 4star rating

Room Tip: Choose a lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belladog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Got back from our golf clubs annual away weekend at Lakeside Lodge this week and through for a pay per play relatively new course the condition of both the 18 and 9 hole courses was very good, but the greens were rock hard though that's down the the area's drought order that prevents the owners from watering them at the mo so can't blame them for that.
The service was excellent in the clubhouse/restaurant, but the experience is let down by the lodges stayed in two different ones over the last two years and I can only describe them as very basic I haven't had a decent nights sleep there in a total of 6 nights over both vists
Because my sleep was so poor I got up early each morning and had a hot shower each morning but most of the rest of our party complained that once two or three people had had a shower in the morning that was the end of the hot water, (there were 11 staying in the lodge).
In summery the rooms are only just about enough for a weekend away with golf buddies and difinately not a place for a getaway with your loveone, if the rooms were a bit better this would be a very good to excellent rating however I can only give it an average rating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petertm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Pidley is located in the Cambridgeshire fens, a land so flat that it was the heart of bomber operations during the second world war and where the local social club is called the Pidley Mountain Rescue Team as a standing joke.

We have just come back from celebrating New Year at the Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre - our third year of so doing. You just cannot beat this value for money; bed and breakfast for under £40 and accommodation in self-contained multi-bedroom lodges, each with their own social area. We were part of a large party sharing a couple of these and, this year, as in previous years, we were not disappointed at the high quality of the experience. The restaurant / clubhouse has always served a good range of meals and drinks and the quality of the food has improved gradually. Again, mid-range prices but excellent, freshly prepared food. Do tryb the haddock smokies - mmmmmm.

Add to the experience the lodge's location in the middle of a top quality eighteen hole gold course, with free access to the par 3 pitch and putt nearby. Just up the road there is a challenging nine-hole course and an interesting six hole, located around a lake. Lots of water, wooded fairways and as much undulation as you will get on the fens, makes golf here both interesting and challenging. We sometimes go as a group for golfing weekends and it is testimony to Lakeside Lodge that, although there are plenty of competitors, we go back again and again.

This is a great place for families, there is no need to play golf, just enjoy the relaxing atmosphere, the ten-pin bowling alley and the fitness centre. There are also excellent conferencing facilities.

One of the strengths of this place is the helpfulness, friendliness and efficiency of the staff. Largely a family-run business, there is always time for the guest. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre

Address: Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre Fen Road, Pidley, Huntingdon PE28 3DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Huntingdon > Pidley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pidley
Price Range: $119 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeside Lodge Golf Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing