We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good atmosphere”
Review of Hobbits Restaurant

Hobbits Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Hythe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Hobbits Restaurant. Hobbits Restaurant has been privately operated for over 33 years. We strive to ensure that you enjoy your visit with us. We specialise in a perfectly cooked steaks and use locally sourced ingredients. We have a varied menu to cater for everybody and strive to provide menu items for those of you with dietary requirements. We also offer a daily specials board providing a variety of choices that showcase our chef's creative dishes.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Good food, good atmosphere. That just about sums it up! We went here fairly late into a Saturday evening and were accommodated without a reservation. I had the brie and my partner had the wild mushroom risotto (neither of us are vegetarian!). I had the surf and turf main and my girlfriend had the Gruyère chicken. Both were delicious! Unfortunately they had sold out of the pudding I had my eye on (chocolate fondant) so I will have to visit again a bit earlier next time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    63
    21
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Good food, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We ate here 2 days ago with friends on their recommendation. The young man serving was very attentive with a good sense of humour.

We had a variety of starters which were all very good (including an extremely large deep fried Brie). Spookily for our main courses, 3 of us chose the mixed seafood platter consisting of mussels in a white wine sauce with red bream fillets, shell on prawns, battered calamari and a couple of scallops. The only minor criticism was that these fish dishes could have been a bit hotter, maybe it was difficult to cook 3 at the same time. Otherwise this would be a 5 star rating but we would certainly eat at Hobbits again if in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A find.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice place, more low-key than the Nelson, meaning you could have a comfortable conversation and were less cramped. Service was great, with friendly staff, a nice atmosphere and an interest in customers being happy. Food was good, home-cooked and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hrpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

What an excellent evening. 7 very contented customers extremely satisfied. With the wide selection of food on offer that arrived well cooked and presented and in generous portions. Very good service and radiant priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice Meal”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went for a nice meal, Sea Bass from the specials board was very good.A nice size fish and plenty of prawns and mushrooms with it.Veg was cooked just right.
The staff were very friendly.
Would call again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobbits Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hobbits Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing