We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recreating Venice in India”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lavasa
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Recreating Venice in India”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

First of all let me say a few words about Lavasa, the planned city and hill station of India in the central region, in the Mose valley of the Western Ghats. It is located at a distance of about 310 km from Mumbai (three and half hours) and about 62 km from Pune (one and half hours). Though not fully completed, it is a good option for a weekend getaway from Mumbai or Pune. The main attraction of the city is a lake around which waterfront development in European style is being done.
Waterfront shaw is a big complex built by the side of the lake. It has hotel rooms and apartments on private ownership. The location of the hotel is its USP. There is ample scope for family and group activities and even conventions in and around the hotel. A variety of restaurants and eateries are located just below the hotel facing the lake and we can see people enjoying their meals on the waterfront like we see in Europen countries. And the food quality is really good. the variety, very wide, with oriental, continental, american, Indian choices aplenty. Lot of 'chat' shops are also there on the waterfront.
The rooms are well furnished and well maintained. the apartment style rooms come with an attached drawing room and a balcony. The cost is affordable.There are ample space and walks around the hotel for leisurely walks and jogging. Free cycles are available for young and grown up as well (of course, one has to make a security deposit). The boating facility is also nearby.
Though there were some controversy about Lavasa regarding the land acquisition and environmental impact, there is no doubt that Lavasa air is cool, clean and the atmosphere quiet which are pre requisites for any good hill station. Without hesitation you can have a visit to lavasa and Waterfront shaw.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the balcony facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngkunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfrontshaw, Owner at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Kunni.

We thank you for taking out time to give your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation facilities.

We value your feedback as it helps us evaluate and enhance our services.

We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations. Your compliments have been conveyed to the staff and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We thank you for choosing Waterfront Shaw for your stay and showering us with all the praises and look forward to have you and your family at our place very soon.

Assuring you of our best of services.

Thanks and warm regards.

Mukesh Kumar.
General Manager.
Mob : +91 9920081024
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    410
    94
    14
    9
See reviews for
509
237
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

nice place to visit ....... but only one thing is good .... kindly bring ur food with u. as the food provided in lavasa is very very expensive.... the hotel is equipped with cooking facility in the room....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamya007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfrontshaw, Owner at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest.

We thank you for taking time out to give your feedback about us on Trip Advisor.

We value your feedback as your comments are vital for us to continue improving all our facilities.

Your compliments have been conveyed to the staff and they are grateful for the appreciation.

Appreciation from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to strive to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

As for the food, we would like to mention that we have 10 Food & Beverage outlets from Quick off the counter Service to Fine Dining restaurants. All these outlets have varied prices and there are enough of choices to choose.

It will be our privilege to show you around all these restaurants we manage on your next visit.

Thank you once again for your appreciation and we look forward to your next visit at the earliest.

Thanks and warm regards.

Mukesh Kumar.
General Manager.
Mob : +91 9920081024.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this lovely cozy hotel. Comfortable and spacious accommodation.Superb location right on the promenade.
Staff are courteous and friendly. A special thank you to Mr.Mukesh.
The food and beverage outlets are very good. We had all our meals in the various outlets during our 2 day stay. The bar Past Times is a lovely hangout place, the American Diner served a great burger.
Chor Bizarre had great Indian food.
Well run small hotel. Definitely recommend this hotel, will come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSA1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfrontshaw, Owner at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest.


We thank you for taking out time to give your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation facilities.

We value your feedback as it helps us evaluate and enhance our services.

We are glad that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. Your compliments have been conveyed to all the staff and they are grateful for the appreciation.

We thank you for choosing The Waterfront Shaw for your business meeting and look forward to have you and your family at our place soon.

Assuring you of our best of services as usual.

Thanks and warm regards.

Mukesh Kumar.
General Manager.
Mob : +91 9920081024.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Excellent Welcome, Very courteous Reception Staff. We stayed in Two Bedroom Apartment with our 70+ Parents & two kids we where in all 4 adult and two kids one 18 years & 11 years age. Pro are the view from Drawing was a Lake View & two Bedroom was mountain view both excellent. Well maintained apartments with upto the mark Kitchen. Excellent food in all attached Restaurant we had our Diner at Octpous the Chinese & Thai Restaurant was excellent only flipside was the limited menu. But it was well covered by the excellent service. Very recommended. Morining we had Breakfast at American Diner - Again Amazing food, good service and highly recommended. Same Evening some tit bits at the promenade surprisingly amazing varity of Food for Pizza, Pau Bhaji to tasters. Then we visited the Dasvino Club a Must visit in Lavasa. There Multicusine Restaurant was amazing aleast one Diner has to be at the Club Restaurant which has beautiful view at night in Lavasa. In all Lavasa is must go.

The only thing which we felt requires improvement is the room service at Water shaw Front. The Staff is good but room service minimum takes 1-2 hrs & atleast 2-3 reminders for service in the apartments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitesh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfrontshaw, Owner at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Mitesh.

We thank you for your feedback about us on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear that you liked our rooms and appreciated the food and services at all the restaurants that we operate.

Appreciation from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to strive to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

Your feedback with regards to slow service at In Room Dining has been taken up with our Food & Beverage Manager and he joins in apologizing for the inconvenience.

We hope that this do not deter you from coming back to us and see the improvement of service.

We look forward to have you with us and assure of our best of services.

Thanks and regards.

Mukesh Kumar.
General Manager.
Mob : +91 9920081024.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I had been to the waterfront shaw this time around. The place looks neat from the outside with each building coloured with hues of orange, red and magents. Inside, the staff is courteous. The 1-bedroom apartment is nice for a family of 4, as it has a fully equipped kitchennette. The breakfast has a decent spread at the American Diner. Dinners are pleasant if you have it outside on the promenade, with the cool breeze blowing. Be sure to try out the Australian Bar as well.

All in all a good staying experience. My special mention for Mr. Biswas at the reception who was so very helpful.

Room Tip: Go for Room 124 on the first block. Acytually any promenade facing room is OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anandiyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfrontshaw, Owner at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Iyer.

We thank you for taking out time to give your feedback on Trip Advisor.

We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation facilities.

We value your feedback as it helps us evaluate and enhance our services.

We are glad that we were able to meet your expectations. Your compliments have been conveyed to the staff and they are grateful for the appreciation.

Mr. Iyer, we look forward to have you with your family again with us and assure of our best of services.

Thanks and warm regards.

Mukesh Kumar.
General Manager.
Mob : +91 9920081024.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I and my husband went to lavassa on a holiday in second week of january.It generally takes 4 hrs from mumbai to reach lavassa and is abt 200 kms from andheri but as we started following the GPS and took one wrong turn so ended up wasting 2 hrs extra in travelling but as only we too were there so had a great time while travelling there.When we reached lavassae it was so quite and serene and once we entered the hotel the hotel staff greeted so nicely and helped us doing our check-in formalities.After check-in we went to the dasvino club.It is the only club that is there amongst all the hotels there though had to walk for 10 mins to reach there.Then we did swimming and had our snacks around the pool and enjoyed the nice view of the man made lake that follows between the hotels and club house.Water sports are being held in this lake.The location of the waterfront shaw is good and we booked a room facing the promade.you have to pay 500 extra for promade facing room.Frankly,speaking if you want to enjoy lavassa stay book your stay in this hotel as it is value for money.fortune is also there but we could not find it that much interesting place to stay even after paying few thousands more than waterfront shaw.Hotel holds so many restaurants also on the ground flour serving all types of cuisines even they do room delivery from there.Breakfast included in the package is also very ellaborate and good in taste.As I was expecting so my husband only enjoyed bicycle ride in the morning on the promade area.Mornings were little chilled.I liked this place a lot and wish to visit it again.

Room Tip: Book room along the side of promade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shwetajindani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfrontshaw, Owner at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Ms. shweta Jindani.

We thank you for taking time out to give your feedback about us on Trip Advisor.

We value your feedback as as your comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation facilities.

Your compliments have been conveyed to the staff and they are grateful for the appreciation.

Appreciation from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to strive to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

As a hospitality company, we strive to maintain service standards that exceed our guests' expectations. We are glad we were to meet yours and we assure you that we will strive to meet them each time.

We look forward to welcome you again and assure of the best of services and hospitality.

Thanks and warm regards.

Mukesh Kumar.
General Manager.
Mob : +91 9920081024
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I recently went to Lavasa with a few friends. We stayed at waterfront shaw. Here are some pros and cons:

PROS:
1. Lavasa is pretty close to Pune and just about 200 kms from mumbai. Excellent weekend outing.
2. Waterfront Shaw has some beautiful views of the river. It is the closest accomodation to restaurants.
3. Very good value for money. We were five of us. The 1BHK was extremely spacious.
4. The sofa in living room is a 2 in 1 and can be easily converted to a bed.
5. Excellent service - by the time we came back from dinner, our beds were setup.
6. Microwave, fridge, water boiler available in the kitchen.

CONS:
1. They don't provide extra beds.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthmaGyaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterfrontshaw, Owner at The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback during your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodation facilities.

We are delighted to hear that our set up, decor, size and amenities in our apartment were appreciated by you.

Your compliments have been conveyed to the staff and they are grateful for the appreciation. Appreciation from our guests makes our efforts worthwhile and inspires our team to strive to achieve higher levels of guest satisfaction and delight.

We thank you for choosing our apartment hotel for your stay and we look forward to have you again with us.

Mukesh Kumar.
General Manager.
Mob : +91 9920081024.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavasa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Lavasa
Mercure Lavasa
#2 of 3 in Lavasa
874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fortune Select Dasve, Lavasa
19.3 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
16.5 mi away
Aamby Valley City
Aamby Valley City
#1 of 1 in Aamby Valley City
812 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ekaant the retreat
Ekaant the retreat
#1 of 9 in Lavasa
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa

Property: The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa
Address: Village Dasve | Post-Mose Via-Panshet Taluka-Mulshi, Lavasa 412107, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lavasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lavasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa designed on the famous Portofino style of architecture is located on the amazing promenade of Lake Dasve, nestled between Lake Warasgaon and the picturesque mountain ranges of Lavasa. A boutique all suites full serviced apartment offering a choice of studio, 1 and 2 bedroom apartments that can comfortably host a family, the hotel also operates ten branded F&B outlets on its sprawling promenade which include The All American Diner - serving hearty American meals through the day; Chor Bizarre - Fine Dining Indian Cuisine; Orient 8 - South East Asian Cuisine; Past Times - English Pub; Granma's Homemade - Bakery; Pizzavala - serves homemade Pizzas; Tabakh - Lebanese Cuisine; Tikka Town - Indian fast food; Cafe Promenade - Multi Cuisine Al Fresco dining in fair weather; Chaat Waat - Indian street food; Twisteez - a unique QSR fried potato snack on a stick. All rooms are fully furnished with air-conditioned bedrooms with attached bath. Kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, Tea/Coffee Maker and supplies, crockery. Cable TV and Free Wi-Fi Internet in rooms/ Free In-room entertainment (movies and games on demand). Full security - Electronic door locks, Room Safes, Writing Tables Plus *Toiletry set, *weighing scale, *hair dryer. Daily needs - Daily Newspaper/ Daily Car Wash/ Free Ice. Resident guests are pampered and spoilt for choice, whether it is free delivery of newspapers, ice or freshly baked bread to all rooms, daily complimentary car wash, free cycles and games consoles for kids, a pet friendly hotel that gently bids you goodbye with a memento of a personal photograph along with a rare bloom of the indigenous Karvi plant besides packaged drinking water to thoughtfully take care of your return journey, we work hard to make each visit of yours a memorable experience. The Waterfront Shaw also boasts of being the only resort in the country that offers Free Hollywood Movies on Demand through its state of the art Walt Disney acquired MovieBeam service. An RCI affiliated and award winning Platinum resort, The Waterfront Shaw also manages The Dasvino Town & Country Club which includes: The Karvi Spa & Salon, Swimming Pool, Nautilius Gym, Tennis Courts, Squash Courts, Snooker & Games Rooms, Card Room, Kid's Play Area, Amphitheater, Conference Rooms besides Oriental Octopus - Fine Dining South East Asian Cuisine; Dance Vino - Bar & Lounge; The Deck - Multi cuisine All Day Dining; Lounge & Tea Room By The Lake. Needless to mention, entry to the club for its guests is complimentary as well as use of the swimming pool that overlooks the lake Dasve and the Nautilus gym. Special discounts and privileges are also extended for partaking other services at the attached club In April 2013 The Waterfront Shaw became India's first hotel to earn the "Certified Guest Service Property" title awarded by the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (EI). To earn the title, all front-line employees completed EI's Guest Service Gold Training program and successfully passed the Certified Guest Service Professional (CGSP) exam. Trip advisor has recognized the property with its Certificate of Excellence for three consecutive years 2012 - 2013 - 2014. The property consistently receives praise for its guest service, which is amply demonstrated through its Top Rating amongst all hotels in Lavasa Some of the other awards won by The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa are; - RCI Platinum Award 2014, Best Timeshare Resort, Mid Category, Mumbai Region - Make My Trip Platinum Pick Year 2013 For Stellar Performance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa Hotel Lavasa
The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing