We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sodium Intake for the month done”
Review of The Cavity

The Cavity
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Venus Bay
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 22, 2019

We are locals and went to the local cafe/restaurant for a night out as there is nothing else open down here and it was a special occasion.. First ordered white tail fish and a potato dish no salt on the fish I'll have you know at this point! . Very nice fish, potatoes were standard. Main course, prawns, parma and a steak. Oh dear God two hours later and we can still taste the salt even when we ALL left most of our main meals. Would have been a hell of a lot cheaper ordering a bottle or two of Soy sauce and sharing that by the way soy sauce would have been around $3 a bottle compared to the $150 I spent on food at this place. Please let it be noted that Inverloch is a very short drive from Tarwin or Venus Bay, GO there it is worth the drive and cheaper.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fiona-Pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 107 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2019 via mobile

Coffee was expensive and like dish water.

I pay less at top spots in Melbourne, get soda water served on the side and pay 70% of the price.

Go across the road to the General Store. The Barista knows what she is doing.

Not cool at Cavity

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank theJANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2018

Most of the meals here have an awful salad (with beanshoots), and lots of chips. However, the oysters are very good, as are all their pizza's.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Excursion728527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2018

Four of us had a lunch and dinner at Cavity. The food was fantastic and the staff extremely friendly and talkative. They have a courtesy bus available which made the dinner experience a little easier. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

We had 2 evening meals and a breakfast and enjoyed each one of them.
On the Sunday we had the Calamari and Scallops with Leek.
The scallops where some of the nicest I've had. Seared on one side and in a creamy Leek sauce. The Calamari consisted of two whole ones perfectly cooked and tender.
Breakfast was Eggs Benedict for both of us. Mine with Serrano jamon and wife's with salmon. We like our eggs runny and there were a bit firm. I forgot to ask..
Melbourne Cup eve was parma night. A choice of 13 types. Ours were great.
A Pinot Noir each night topped off the evening.
Service was good and friendly but because of how busy they were we ordered at the bar.
A very pleasant and enjoyable experience.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Foodexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cavity also viewed

Tarwin Lower, Gippsland
 
Venus Bay, Gippsland
 
Inverloch, Gippsland
Inverloch, Gippsland
 

Been to The Cavity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing