We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place”
Review of Venus Escapes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Escapes
Ranked #1 of 1 Venus Bay B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

As a last minute getaway i booked Venus Escape, upon doing this online Karen the owner had emailed me within the hour which was great. I also booked my partner in for a 90 minute massage and facial and head massage,which was an hour after our arrival. According to her it was one of the best she had ever had. Thanks Rebbeca…
This place is tucked away down on beach rd 2 so in a perfect location only a short walk to the beach which is amazing i must add,clean and safe.
The accommodation is quite quaint and beautifully appointed, not to large or small. Karen met us on arrival and greeted us by name which was great, a little more personalised. We were soon welcomed in and shown around the down stairs bar and lounge and breakfast area, then we where taken to our room and shown in. The accommodation is B&B so shared facilities except for the bedrooms. Nothing is to much to ask for by Ted and Karen they will go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Thanks Guys…. The order of business for breakfast is the night before you simply fill out a form of what you would like and then just drop it at reception, this is to enable any requirements to be catered for. On arrival to the breakfast table which is nicely set Ted will greet you and check on what you ordered is still ok to have, he will then fire up the expresso machine and make you a yummy coffee of your choice. There is also herbal tea's and alike available for those in need of it.
Breakfast is served most promptly to you, as most have commented on it is fresh and very tasty, the OJ looked and tasted like fresh squeezed but i did not confirm this.
As a frequent traveller i can highly recommend this place for a get away for a few days, in which i think is enough as there is not a great deal to do in the Venus Bay town, lots to do only a short drive away although…
Ted and Karen have the place for sale so hopefully when a new owner comes in they are as passionate as they are. Good luck guy's in your next adventure and thank you for a wonderful stay in you beautiful home/B&B….

Mick & Tanya

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
43
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Really really relaxing, awsome service and amazing cafe style breakfast served to our rooms.
Happy to lounge all day in our room whilst weather was horrible and just chill!
Highly reccomend for a secluded short couple getaway

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

An enjoyable well equipped establishment with convivial hosts. Rooms very pleasantly decorated, beds comfortable, ambience relaxed. Breakfast was well prepared and very good. Great coffee Ted.
Large grounds to roam around if you wish, DVDs, books, games all freely available to keep yourself entertained. Short drive to Venus bay shops.
This would be a great place for a group of friends to have a weekend of relaxation, spa treatments food and wine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabquokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I can honestly say that I left the Venus Escapes feeling as if I had made new friends. Karen and Ted are lovely. They go out of their way to make you feel at home. They also are happy to sit down with you and have a long chat over a wine or beer. We felt so at home with them we all went to the local restaurant and had dinner together which led to dancing and many conversations.
I read the terrible review under trip advisor and would say to ignore those people. You are not in a place that charges an arm and a leg so I am not sure what kind of treatment room they were expecting but I found that it was what most treatment rooms look like. Some may be darker and have less in them but this felt homely yet professional. A hard feeling to capture. Karen was ultra friendly and completely honest and has a unique approach to her spiritual side which some people might find quite different - but if your open minded then you will be in good company!

Anyway let me break it down
Service - 5 star. Karen and Ted checked if everything was fine and only too happy to help if you wanted something.
Value-GREAT value. It doesn't cost an arm and a leg for a quaint homely spa experience away from home right near a beautiful beach.
Sleep Quality-no problems here. Bed was comfy, pillows fine.
Cleanliness-everything was clean and mess free
Location-right near the venus beach. Beautiful shots of the beach at night for the photography enthusiasts.
Rooms - decent size rooms, yes the bathroom is small but how much time do you need in the bathroom and do you really need a big sized one? No.
Swimming pool - we didn't try this out.
Fitness centre -can't remember if there was one but we wouldn't have tried it anyway.

All in all if your friendly people who love meeting new people whilst staying in a lovely place with relaxing spa treatments this is the place for you!

Even if you preferred to be left alone- Karen and Ted wouldn't bother you. They work to what you like!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emily o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I took my partner for a sweet weekend get away to simply get stressful things off our mind. Venus Escapes is the best location for relaxation and easy stroll along the beach. Ted and Karen are very accommodating to the guest, in which we feel very homely. The served breakfast are delicious, and dinner is also available on request. The room was spacious, clean, well equipped with cutlery, organic spa products, ipod dock, Wi-fi and more! We went down for a walk to Cavity for our dinner which was recommended by the host and had a sumptuous meal. Highly recommended for couple to visit Venus Escapes. Thanks! Matt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My partner and I had a lovely short break at Venus Escapes. The hosts were so lovely and the breakfasts delicious. The room we were in was spacious and well equipped with ipod dock, T2 teas, WiFi and organic toiletries. I had a facial which was so relaxing I fell asleep. For dinner we went to Vela 9 in Inverloch, which is about 20 minutes drive and the food was delicious. We will definitely be back to Venus Escapes and next time I will be trying a body treatment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porkypigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reservoir
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2012

As soon as your drive up the driveway, you note the seclusion and attention to detail at the entrance as your eye follows the wooden pathway and pretty fauna to the front door. Karen and Ted warmly greet you, and you know it's going to be a great stay. Clean, neat and warm the accommodation is lovely. The room is spacious and comfortable, with free T2 products ready to consume and a library of dvd's and books to choose from. The infrared sauna is a superb start to unwinding, before a full body massage and organic facial....which was so relaxing it lulls you into a state of bliss (actually I fell asleep!). Dinner that night was at Cavity (in Venus Bay township), as recommended by our hosts. Clean and fresh food, with a beer to match. An early night allows us to go for a long walk/run along the beach for a good hour (5 minutes from the place) and we return to a home cooked breakfast. Highly recommend Venus Escapes. Cheers, Tania.

Room Tip: King size room was very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venus Bay
21.6 mi away
Prom Country Lodge
Prom Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Foster
224 reviews
7.4 mi away
RACV Inverloch Resort
RACV Inverloch Resort
#1 of 2 in Inverloch
459 reviews
6.3 mi away
Eugenie's
Eugenie's
#2 of 2 in Inverloch
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Motel on A'Beckett
Motel on A'Beckett
#1 of 4 in Inverloch
101 reviews
16.0 mi away
Prom Coast Holiday Lodge
Prom Coast Holiday Lodge
#1 of 1 in Waratah North
17 reviews
14.6 mi away
Fish Creek Hotel
Fish Creek Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fish Creek
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Escapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Escapes

Property: Venus Escapes
Address: 128 Inlet View Rd, Venus Bay, Victoria 3956, Australia (Formerly Venus Bay Getaways)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Venus Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Venus Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Venus Escapes 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 2 hours from Melbourne in a remarkable location, only 300 metres from a luscious stretch of stunning South Gippsland beach, Venus Bay Getaways invites you to indulge in an extraordinary experience to spoil your senses, reconnect with your soul and leave the world of stress behind. The town is central to the many wonders of the South Gippsland area, including Wilsons Promontory National Park, which is only 40 minutes away, as well as Phillip Island and its famous penguins, and much more. We offer 4 tastefully decorated rooms - Each featuring a small private en-suite with separate shower, toilet, vanity basin, Sukin Organics(C) amenities, towels and hairdryer, reverse cycle air conditioning, LCD/DVD TV, complimentary DVD movies and wireless internet - cooked breakfast, licensed bar,packages and gift vouchers. Alongside our deluxe accommodation we also offer our guests and the general public an exotic range of Day Spa & Holistic therapies. Our aim is to guide you to balance in body, mind and soul. Through a range of indulgent experiences we offer physical and metaphysical rejuvenation and healing. From massage, OrganicSpa(C) facials, salt scrubs, body wraps, infrared sauna and hot spa, to kinetic energy work, psychic balancing and emotional healing, we can provide you with specific options to overcome the difficulties of a stressful life and awaken the magical you that has perhaps been forgotten. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Venus Escapes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Bay Getaways Hotel Venus Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing