We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Hotel for stay for offbeat travellers”
Review of Tourist Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rewalsar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tourist Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Rewalsar B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Only Hotel for stay for offbeat travellers”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We reach Rewalsar by chance, it was suggested by the bus driver we were travelling from Delhi to Mandi...this time we thought to travel Himachal through public transport system and not by our car or taxi. We do not wanted to go Mandi directly, so we opt for Rewalsar first, then Mandi, and then sundernagar. We reach Rewalsar in a mini bus travelling through narrow roads, and some deep curves of the interior. First, and only thing which amazed me is the Padmasambhava 12m statue which is visible from far away...it seems as entire town is situated around the statue..it is build on the hillside above the rewalsar lake. We were there in the morning, later on we went to Naina Devi temple.......as there was no bus available at that time....we walk through more than half way.....and then we got a ride in a bus...if you wanted to go to the temple...then do check with the local bus service timings otherwise there could be a chance to get stuck somewhere in middle. Overall its a nice place to go for one night break if you are travelling in and around mandi, manalli, or sundernagar...and prefer it wont be a high season or any pilgrims gathering. As I said in the title only hotel to stay, so I believe what ever provided is good to go...rooms are ok....food is good...

Room Tip: only genuine hotel around if you want to stay in Rewalsar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank happyj0urney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed there only for one night and found it value for money. Rewalsar is a very tranquil place (at least when we visited). Hotel staff told us there are peak tourist crowds also during winters - please check before you move. The hotel itself is neat and clean. Bathrooms had geysers for hot water. Service is OK and staff is polite. They have a small restaurant. The location is good, overlooking the lake. From your rooms facing the lake you can see the statue of Lord Padamsambhava - which dominates the entire town. Apart from the monsatery the town also has a temple and a gurudwara. The one night stay we had was a very refereshing stop on our way to Manali from Delhi.

Room Tip: you can ask for a room with windows facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SkumarM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This summer (june2012) we had been to Kullu-Manali (from Delhi) and enroute we planned a night stay at Rewalsar due to the tourist value it had initself. Although reaching this small little town was a bit trecherous, lots of snaky curly one vehicle wide road turns made almost all of us nauseatic in our cars but upon reaching the destination to ourselves we found this place little better than what we had in our minds. At first the location itself is nice place to be in terms of tourist attaction value, this is a very small town but had a very good Monastery and a Gurudwara (religious place for Sikhs). And in the heart of it has a small lake with lot of fish in it, rather full of fish.
The hotel, which is HPDTC owned and maintained guest house is surprisingly decent enough to be at such a secluded place. (specially when you compare their properties at other known places like Manali etc.) The rooms are decent with clean linen & toilets. (we stayed in DBR Economy rooms) The food served within the guest house is also decent and moderately priced (not very costly).
I would definately recommend this stay if one plans to visit Rewalsar and stay there for not more than 2 nights. You can even book online at http://hptdc.nic.in/custsw/viewuser8.asp

Room Tip: best is to ask for front facing rooms on 1st floor in the new block. It offer better view of the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajeev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stopped at Rewalsar on way to Gushaini & since this was the only option available booked the Deluxe room online & what a great decision it turned out to be. This appears to be the only family hotel at Rewalsar with the other being mostly budget acco. It gets filled up real fast & advance booking is recommended atleast in the season time.
Rewalsar is a quaint place with lots of character & lies to the left of Mandi & Sundernagar. The roads are comfortable & the place is a lovely night halt in case you dont prefer the long haul to Manali.
The super deluxe rooms are situated in a seperate building & have a lovely view. As the hotel is located on a small hillock it has a complete view of the town. It has a dedicated parking which is a big plus point. The room is large & has a comfortable bed & has a seperate seating arrangement. It is neat & clean & is very well maintained. The bathroom too was fairly large & convinient. Service & food was typical of Himachal Tourism, neither excellent nor bad. Had a comfortable stay at a wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vinayMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This is one of the best hotels in Himachal Pradesh, a really majestic stay for a meager price. This place is not very often on the list of a casual traveler, but this is a great place to visit. It has the quintessential serene ambiance, refreshing air, and scenic beauty...a great place for couples who crave for some peaceful moments of solitude for themselves. The Padmasambhaba statue and the lake in-front of it from the main attractions...there is also atemple and a gurdawara. The lake contains numerous large fishes that are fed by the Buddhist monks on a regular basis...its a real treat to watch so many large fish coming to the surface of the water to nibble at the food. The rooms are large, have excellent view of the statue and the lake from balcony, bathrooms are large and very well maintained. The bed and linen quality are excellent. The resturant is great with fresh food at a very reasonable cost. This is the place for those who have already visited Shimla for many previous occasions and thus wants a new refreshing place for a short tour. This is the best hotel around at a very low price.....

Room Tip: the rooms of the second small building are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1samrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Rewalsar Lake is a relatively unknown place in Himachal Pradesh, not on the usual tourist circuit. But it's a very nice, serene location with a lake, and a massive statue of Padmasambhava looking down upon it from a Tibetan monastery. The hotel itself is of ok quality. It's run by HPTDC, so a good standard of service is assured. The rooms weren't of great quality, but were quite acceptable for a family stay. We stayed only one night. There were plenty of monkeys around, including on our room's balcony, which made it unusable for us!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neeran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Not many visit this place. It is simple,pristine and enchanting. If you travel to manali by your own vehicle, Rewalsar takes an hour of extra travel and these roads are also more beautiful. The hotel like the place is also simple, clean and almost all the rooms offer a great view of Padmasambhava statue and the lake. This place is cheap and is a better alternative to break the long journey to manali. The rooms are also cheaper than Mandi (the routine place where people break their journey). However, the food is simple and average. The service is decent, but not round the clock. This hotel is the best available at this place. The best moment of our stay was when in the morning there was a dense cover of fog all around. The lake and the big statue were not seen. They slowly reappeared, and then a bright sunshine on the statue made a simply outstanding viewing.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor of new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramakgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rewalsar
7.6 mi away
Munish Resorts
Munish Resorts
#4 of 7 in Mandi
94 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Regent Palms Hotel
8.5 mi away
Himgiri Resort
Himgiri Resort
#3 of 15 in Mandi
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
CG Home Stay
CG Home Stay
#1 of 3 in Rewalsar
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Inn

Property: Tourist Inn
Address: Rewalsar 175001, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Mandi District > Rewalsar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Rewalsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing