We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkerai
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Room 7 was very clean.2 adults and 2 teenagers. The café served lovely food. Our teens had a great time on a rubber tyre in the river. We played pool and indoor tennis. Walked around and admired the river the green mountains. The friendly kookaburras and countless butterflies. The fresh mountain air. Helpful and friendly staff .Great place to relax. Beautiful and Quiet!

Room Tip: room 7 Queen Boutique. Queen bed for mum and dad. Bunks for the teens. Very clean and comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BronwynSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
There are newer reviews for Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 206 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had two nights at Riverwood Downs. Its a great location for a casual outside wedding - beautiful green surroundings under a massive gum tree next to an picturesque river. The staff were extremely friendly and tried to accommodate our every needs. We had 25 people and 9 dogs - all had a great time. The River Cottage with the big verandah and fire pit was perfect for a late night get together where we wouldn't bother anyone else. Great venue.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I just camped here with a friend and my dog for 1 night....I wish we could have stayed longer! The valley is so scenic and green and the river is really pretty. It was the first time taking my dog camping and she loved it. It was great to be able to let my dog off leash to run about and go swimming and canoeing in the river. All the campsites are along the river and the bathrooms were spotlessly clean and quite modern looking. The prices at the kiosk were very reasonable. I will definitely be coming back here!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheatles101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I just went here for the anniversary of our relationship. We had a fantastic time! It really is a beautiful setting.

Staff were very friendly, the rooms were immaculate and we found that there was plenty to do. Horse riding was a plus!

We used a Scoopon which gave us excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BentleyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We booked our easter long weekend away here, and while the scenery was beautiful it is much better suited to families. The accommodation was dated but comfortable, however a little expensive. If you're looking for a romantic getaway, this is not really the place. But for families with bored kids, there's always stuff to do - swimming in the river, horseriding, table tennis, etc. The staff were great however, and the chefs did not have any problems catering to our vegetarian diet and adding dishes just for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Well our experience was not the best.
If you don't have a dog - maybe not the best place to stay.
The Cabin was dirty as well as the linen the kitchen and the bathtub.
The furniture was old and out dated and the Air condition very noisy.
The Restaurant where the dogs where allowed was extremely plain and sort of filthy and dirty.
We waited more than an hour for an absolutely overpriced steak and a pork chop.
Fish and chips where nicely presented but again - the price was too high.
The check out was the worst thing i ever experienced.
We had to pay a Deposit on arrival - and on check out somebody needed to check the cabin first before we could get our deposit back. ( there was nothing in the room which was worth the deposit )
Can I recommend Riverwood Downs - NO
Will I come back - NO
The question is - how did they get 4* ????

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank just1customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

riverwood downs, please take on board the reviews particularly the parts mostly commented on i agree the problem with outdated rooms needs to be addressed the grounds are great the atmosphere great i found the staff pretty good not fantastic. noisy air cons yes sort this out you can hardly swing a cat in the rooms and the shower you can hardly turn around was dissapointed. also dining room outdated needs new furniture.weather was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rae c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkerai
21.3 mi away
Barrington Hideaway
Barrington Hideaway
#2 of 7 in Gloucester
46 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bluegums Cabins
Bluegums Cabins
#1 of 5 in Dungog
57 reviews
18.0 mi away
Gloucester Country Lodge Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Barrington Wilderness Cottages
Barrington Wilderness Cottages
#912 of 1,984 in New South Wales
30 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort

Address: 311 Upper Monkerai Rd, Monkerai, New South Wales 2415, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Monkerai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkerai
Price Range: $146 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverwood Downs Mountain Valley Hotel Monkerai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing