We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Kota Tinggi
Post
Inbox
Search

“Very Good Food”

Sengat Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Kota Tinggi
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have tries several seafood restaurants in Johor Bahru, but this place provides really authentic tastes. One drawback is that this place is not easy to access as it's location is near fishermen's town. However, in my opinion, it is worthwhile to get there to enjoy real nice seafood dishes. I strongly recommend this place if you are in the area.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ksyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2018 via mobile

Haven’t been here for quite sometime and thought what better occasion to visit than Mrs Bunny’s birthday?
We decided to pop over to Amani Resort (former Bob Homestay) for some fishing and then to have our catches for dinner at Sengat Seafood restaurant.
As you can see from the photos, we didn’t do very badly in 2 hours of fishing. Caught a small mangrove jack, a mud crab and an eel (which we released back to grow bigger)
We brought it over to the restaurant and had a great meal.
The chef cooked the fish perfectly. Although I must say the crab wasn’t Palm Beach standard (see our recent review of Palm Beach) but it was the fruit of our own fishing session so it was great.
Price for an additional sea bass along with our mangrove jack was only RM35 and they charged RM20 for cooking the crab.
Their Sambal Kang Kong is still one of the best we’ve tasted. (We had to order a second plate as the dish was too small)
All in all, it was a great meal. Will try to remember to order their fried rice on our next visit. (Their fried rice is heavenly - if you had read our previous review)
Really glad their taste remained good as before. Only piff was that the Kang Kong dish was too small.
We will be back again!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank sgbunnies2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017

Went to this place after a visit to the crocodile farm. The flower crabs were fresh, so was the nyonya steam fish. The Zhao Pai Main (signature noodle) was surprisingly flavourful. I don't think their prices are the cheapest. :) For the food quality was reasonably good.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank JuneFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Came on 29/7/2017. Ordered few dishes for lunch.The clayport taofu and the salted egg crabs is gooood!!!!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank path3tic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

the last visit to Telok Sengat in Jan1 2017.Scenic and a lot of sea food by the beach.prices are reasonable compare to JB.I heard from locals that one of the Floating Kelong was torched and damaged.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lcbtech8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sengat Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Kampung Sungai Rengit, Kota Tinggi District
Kota Tinggi, Kota Tinggi District
 
Pengerang, Johor Bahru District
Bandar Penawar, Kota Tinggi District
 
Kota Tinggi, Kota Tinggi District
Pengerang, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Sengat Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing