We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Pensacola Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent the first part of our week in Fort Walton and the last part of our week at the Holiday Inn Resort in Pensacola. What a breath of fresh air this hotel was. Beautifully decorated, bright, fresh, taken care of, friendly staff. As soon as we arrived, we were quickly regretting not spending our entire week there. Our kids (10 and 7) loved the pool area and while it can get crowded at times, we found it best to eat an early dinner and almost had the pool to ourselves while others ate at normal dinner times. We didn't spend much time on the beach due to such a steep hill down to the water...not very kid friendly...but that's mother nature for you and nothing that can be predicted or fixed for that matter :) Thankfully, the resort had plenty for the kids to do!! The only thing keeping me from giving this resort 5 stars is the restaurant. Food was overpriced and cold. Not all the food arrived at the same time and the waitress was extremely slow and couldn't be found. Several wait staff were casually walking back and forth through the dining area, texting on their cell phones...ignoring any attempt at us trying to get their attention for a refill or a to-go box. The remainder of our stay, we spent dining at other locations which was a bummer considering the restaurant in the hotel was a big selling point for us. The TV in the booth was neat though, the kids loved that! Overall, it was a really neat experience and we couldn't have asked for a nicer room! Even the rooms with no gulf view have a pretty view of the bay. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Resort on beautiful Pensacola Beach.
We are thrilled you had a great time with us and that you noticed a big difference in Pensacola over Ft. Walton hotels. We are family friendly and very proud of it. I apologize that my restaurant did not meet your standards. I will make sure those deficiencies are correct quickly. Please come back soon and stay with us again! Enjoy the rest of your summer.

Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,607)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,106 - 1,112 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a family resort. I definitely wouldn't stay here if I didn't have my kids with me though. The food was okay...pricey and really not that good, but we received it quickly. There are other restaurants a short walk away, as are shops, so that was great. It was busy at the hotel with families and definitely the 4pm check in seems to be enforced. The staff was very friendly and the hotel was very clean. My room didn't have a blowdryer, which was a minor inconvenience since I didn't bring one. Overall, my kids had fun. Great for younger kids 12 and under...not sure where the older kids go since the game room is minimal.

Room Tip: Loved the gulf view room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellmer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Resort on beautiful Pensacola Beach. We appreciate you staying with us when you had other choices. We are family friendly but for kids of all ages even us older adults. The view we offer from one of the nicest Tiki Bar’s on the beach is as good as it gets. Our activities include live entertainment every Saturday and Sunday plus there are bands on the beach concerts every Tuesday evening. The boardwalk just across the street has many shops and restaurants plus some form of live entertainment nightly. I think that the sugar white sand on our beach is as beautiful you will find anywhere and the beach chair service is fantastic. Come back and relax with us soon.

Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I am long overdue in writing a review for this property. We stayed for spring break, 2013, using my husband's priority club points. How about awesome? A free room for a week? Great. A super clean, brand new room with a fantastic view of the Gulf? Priceless.

What was even better was the staff. One our first night, our eight year old son must have ended up with food poisoning. We were all asleep when he woke up at about 2 AM, said: "Mom, I don't feel good." He rolled over, and vomited on the floor. Poor kid! I didn't know quite what to do. My husband grabbed towels, and we did our best to try to clean up. I felt just awful for him, and for the mess. So, I called down to the front desk to ask for some cleaning supplies. The lady who took the call was so sweet. She immediately asked if he was ok, if he needed anything that she could get for him, and if she could call a physician for us. He wasn't that sick, so I declined. Then about 30 seconds later, a very kind lady from housekeeping appeared, like an angel. She and I cleaned the carpet. Then she asked if he needed blankets, towels, medicine. She had already brought an extra blanket, all new towels, bottled water and a damp wash cloth for him. Let me tell you, that was amazing service in the middle of the night. We felt so helpless to help him, and to clean up. But, the staff really rose to the occasion. Then when we saw her in the hallway the next day, it was like we were her family. She asked how he was feeling, and if we needed anything. Now mind you, we often stay at InterContinentals, and this is some of the best service we have received.

Later that week, we all ended up sunburned, and again the staff really showed their personal skills. One of the front desk ladies asked if we needed anything, if we had used any home remedies, and just genuinely seemed concerned for our comfort and well being. There are always so many factors to consider when traveling, especially with children. What a lovely lesson of service to others that our son was able to witness.

The property is pretty much brand new, and the staff was working really hard to maintain the super cleanliness of the public areas even as they seemed to be sold out. Although there were TONS of guests, I didn't see any trash, crumbs, sand, etc anywhere. It was a little too cool for the lazy river, but our son gave it a try anyway, and loved it. The outdoor bar staff was very nice, and attentive. Try the bloody Mary's! Delicious! We ate a couple of meals in the restaurant, and those were fine as well.

If there were more upscale restaurants nearby, we would be back in a heartbeat. But, we've been trying different Gulf locations. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: GULF front!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeysMom_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Resort on Beautiful Pensacola Beach. You are completely awesome for writing this wonderful review about us and we appreciate you so much.
The employees at the resort are some of the best in the business and certainly you experienced some of them during your stay. Hey thanks for not forgetting to write about us after a few months away.

Come back very soon!

Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

They had some nice activities for the kids, but there was a lot of kids.
The restaurant food was nice but service was very slow.
Meal did not come all at once and they tried over charging for another meal.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Resort on Beautiful Pensacola Beach. We are a family friendly resort and very proud of it. The resort is full of activities, as you mentioned, for kids of all ages throughout the day. I'm disappointed you felt we are overpriced. Thank you for choosing us and we hope you will return again.

Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Lots of stuff for kids to do. Beaches are clean and not packed. Water is alittle nasty but no worse than Destin. Over staff was friendly. The hotel resturant staff is alittle slow and the food was just average. But I would definatly stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sth73444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Resort on Beautiful Pensacola Beach. I have shared your comments with my team to ensure improvements are made in the restaurant. Thank you for mentioning the friendly staff because they appreciate hearing that. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will be back. There has been more than normal bad weather this July keeping the waters stirred up. Most of the time the ocean is so beautiful, aqua colored, and clean.

Come back soon.

Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have 3 children aged 8,10,and 15. We all had a blast at this resort for our vacation. The staff puts together a daily schedule for the kids activities and the service staff was great also. We arrived early but we were able to go to the beach and swim while we waited for our room. the beach was wonderful white soft sand and right on hotel grounds. When the kids were tired of the ocean there was a great pool with a lazy river and plenty of seating. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrisA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your awesome comments about the Holiday Inn Resort on Beautiful Pensacola Beach. Entertainment is what we do here. Knowing your entire family had a great time is very pleasing to us. When you have a beautiful beach and a terrific lazy river pool it is extremely likely you are going to have tons of fun!

Come back soon.

Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here in June for 5 nights. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of the Pensacola boardwalk, where all of the action is. The pool is not as big as it looks in the wide lens picture, and it can be hard to find a lounger on the busy times. The access to the beach is great, you can go back and forth from beach to pool as you like. I would recommend to bring your own umbrellas, some more remote beaches don't have rentals. The riptides restaurant in the hotel was awesome, the burgers are very yummy, although they take quite a long time to make it to your table, but each booth has its own tv. The lobby is very busy, as its the pool so not for couples seeking peace and quiet. There's plenty of parking. We didn't splash out on a gulf view room, instead we were facing the parking lot with the 'sound side' of the gulf view, so we could see the para sailers going by, so not bad at all. Clean rooms, good housekeeping, I would recommend.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank monitx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Resort on Beautiful Pensacola Beach. Your review is everything we work for and we appreciate it so much. I feel I have the best staff a GM could ask for and reading a guest’s review about them is very pleasing. I love to share these reviews with them.

Please come back soon and tell everyone you know where we are and how much fun you can have.

Ron Wilson, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pensacola Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Pensacola Beach
Hilton Pensacola Beach
#7 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
2,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
Hampton Inn Pensacola Beach
#6 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,671 reviews
0.7 mi away
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
Margaritaville Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Beach
Holiday Inn Express Pensacola Be...
#1 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
940 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pensacola Beach
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Pe...
#3 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
720 reviews
3.4 mi away
Portofino Island Resort
Portofino Island Resort
#5 of 10 in Pensacola Beach
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach

Address: 14 Via De Luna Drive, Pensacola Beach, FL 32561-2004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Pensacola Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Pensacola Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Pensacola Beach
Price Range: $123 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort on Pensacola Beach, Florida, will make you feel happy from the moment you set your flip-flopped foot inside our door. We’re here for you, offering the amenities you need to plan the perfect vacation – or host the best business meeting. From your private balcony or the terrace of our ample 10,000 square foot event space, take in dazzling views of the sparkling waters and shimmering sands of Pensacola Beach – recently named No. 5 of all U.S. beaches by TripAdvisor. Its natural beauty is offset by our bright, modern lobby and stylish, comfortable guest rooms – including colorful Kids’ Suites designed with your family in mind. We’re all about fun here at the Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach hotel, and you’ll feel it from the front desk to the pool deck. Our pool is the best on the beach, with cascading waterfalls and a 250-foot seasonally heated Lazy River. There’s no reason to leave the resort, with Riptides Sports Grill and Beachfront Tiki Bar serving up delicious dining and crafty cocktails seven days a week. If you do decide to get out, we’re within walking distance of the beach’s best restaurants, nightlife and activities including charter fishing, paddle boarding, sailing, kayaking and biking. We’re also a quick drive to regional attractions such as the National Naval Aviation Museum, Fort Pickens, Gulf Islands National Seashore, Historic Downtown Pensacola, Pensacola Lighthouse, Blue Wahoos Baseball Stadium, Veterans Memorial Park and the Saenger Theatre. No matter what you like to do, we can point you in the right direction. When you start your day with a smile on your face, there’s no telling where it might take you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Pensacola Beach Gulf Front Hotel Pensacola Beach
Beachside Resort Pensacola
Beachside Hotel Pensacola

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing